Lampard issues title warning

• Lampard issues title warning

Frank Lampard feels that the Premier League title race is far from over following Grand Slam Sunday.

The Chelsea midfielder was part of a Blues side which recovered from a goal down to grind out a 2-1 win at home to Arsenal and move into second place in the table.

Avram Grant's side are still five points adrift of leaders Manchester United, but with the Red Devils having to visit Stamford Bridge on 26th April Lampard remains confident that Chelsea can claim their third title in four years.

Spirit

"United have to come here so basically we have to try to win all our games and if we can beat United and they drop points then we have got a chance, it is as simple as that," said the England international.

"It is far from over. Manchester United know that and we know that but it is important that we try to win our games in the meantime before we play them.

"The win was very important. We were 1-0 down and had we lost we would have been virtually out of the race. We knew that.

"That is why we dug in so hard and pulled it round. The spirit of the lads, especially at 1-0 down, was fantastic."

Threat

Didier Drogba proved to be the hero for Chelsea on Sunday and Lampard feels that the Ivorian striker was back to his unstoppable best against the Gunners.

"It was Didier at his best," said Lampard.

"He had two of the best centre-halves in the Premier League (William Gallas & Kolo Toure), if not the world, against him and he gave them a horrible afternoon.

"When Didier is like that, he has got the lot and he got his reward towards the end.

"We always know that when you have Didier in your team he is going to be a big threat.

"Even if it is not him scoring winning goals like he did, he is always a big threat and a powerhouse and that was him at his best today."

Emotional

Lampard also dismissed the detrimental calls of the club's supporters aimed towards Grant when the side were 1-0 down as spur of the moment frustration, and insisted that none of the players are letting the speculation surrounding the manager's future affect their performance on the pitch.

"The fans are emotional and they call it as they see it," he said.

"But at the end of the day we are there trying to get results and I think this is a side issue. The issue that matters was that the players turned it round.

"The subs who came on did very well and we turned the game around so it is not worth dwelling on things like that.

"You hear it but I don't think you take it in because it doesn't matter. What matters is what you do on the pitch.

"So, if you started thinking and dwelling on it you would not be doing your job, the players just responded on the pitch."

Ev'rybody a talk bout when the Empire guh a Stamford Bridge .... pity dem nuh know that on that day ... stamford bridge will be fallin down. Tilla .. pass on the message to the Insurgents of Stamford Bridge.

Yuh bad eeennnh?
      ...do you have a game against the GUNNERS coming up?

Sunday, 13 April 2008
      BoyU vs GUNNERS

April 13? mmmm?
      BoyU bad-lucky day!

Yuh bad eeennnh?
        ...do you have a game against the GUNNERS coming up?

Sunday, 13 April 2008
        BoyU vs GUNNERS

April 13? mmmm?
        BoyU bad-lucky day!
        Just pencil in another 4-0 KArl.

Hey LAZIE, HOW YUH A GWAAN SUH? TEK IT EASY WID US NUH..WE IS HURTING BADLY !! IT not easy when yuh big gun, go off and yuh get shat inna yuh owna foot !!!!

Originally posted by Twan View Post
            Hey LAZIE, HOW YUH A GWAAN SUH? TEK IT EASY WID US NUH..WE IS HURTING BADLY !! IT not easy when yuh big gun, go off and yuh get shat inna yuh owna foot !!!!

I think I'm being kind. Remember, its Arsenal fans round here that keep referring to the Empire as Boyu. Its Arsenal fans that keep thinking that they're the only team that plays attractive football.

Anyway, I hope y'all were taking notes on Sunday ... remember unuh have 3 games against Liverpool.