• Man Utd 3-0 Liverpool

Man Utd 3-0 Liverpool
    By Chris Bevan

Ronaldo celebrates after scoring United's second goal
    Manchester United outclassed 10-man Liverpool to move six points clear at the top of the Premier League table.

Wes Brown put United ahead from Wayne Rooney's cross before Liverpool's hopes were hit when Javier Mascherano was sent off for dissent before the break.

Some great saves by Pepe Reina kept the visitors in the game but he was at fault when Cristiano Ronaldo headed home United's second from a corner.

Nani's fine finish into the top corner completed an emphatic win for United.

Make your Premier League predictions
    The win strengthens United's position as leaders ahead of Arsenal's visit to Chelsea later on Sunday, but the talking point after this match will be Mascherano's dismissal.

The Argentine midfielder, who had been booked early on for a wild challenge on Paul Scholes, foolishly chose to continue an argument that his team-mate Fernando Torres had started with referee Steve Bennett over a series of challenges by United's defenders.

606: DEBATE
    Mascherano should not have been sent off...he was just talking calmly to the ref

etherington87

Torres had already been booked for dissent when Mascherano got involved so, if Bennett was to be consistent, he had no choice but to produce another yellow card.

The decision further infuriated Mascherano, who had to be escorted off the pitch, and his manager Rafa Benitez was also left angry.

It also virtually ended his side's hopes of getting anything from the game, as United had dominated even when Liverpool had 11 men on the pitch.

Sir Alex Ferguson's men had created all the best chances in the opening period and only some superb saves by Reina kept the home side at bay.

United could have had a penalty when Jamie Carragher clipped Rooney in the area but the striker stayed on his feet and his eventual shot was saved by the Spaniard.

Reina came to the rescue again when Paul Scholes' free-kick caught the Liverpool defence napping, collecting the ball after Rooney failed to control it.

The Reds' best spell of the game followed when they at last threatened Edwin van der Sar's goal.

Fabiano Aurelio sliced his shot wide when well placed inside the area, while Steven Gerrard had a rasping effort deflected over soon after.

But United were still threatening themselves and Ronaldo hit the post from a Ryan Giggs free-kick, only to be wrongly ruled offside, before Reina almost fumbled Giggs' cross into his own net.

Brown met Rooney's cross to score past Reina

The Liverpool defence was struggling with any high balls played into the area and it was no great surprise when United took the lead through that route.

Martin Skrtel did not attempt to reach Rooney's cross and Brown beat Reina to the ball, which looped into the net off his back.

Mascherano's red card meant Liverpool had it all to do after the break and, if not for their goalkeeper, they would have been dead and buried.

Scholes' clever lob sent Ronaldo clear but Reina came out to block and, after watching Ronaldo's free-kick fly narrowly wide, he saved his side again with an instinctive stop from Rooney.

Reina made another instinctive save to deny United substitute Carlos Tevez after Alvaro Arbeloa had inadvertently steered the ball into the striker's path.

He also did brilliantly to push away Ronaldo's shot but will not enjoy watching a replay of the ensuing corner, from which the Portuguese star rose above him to head home.

Nani's thumping finish from the edge of the area underlined United's superiority and heaps the pressure on Chelsea and Arsenal ahead of their meeting at Stamford Bridge.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BBC Sport Player Rater man of the match: Wayne Rooney 7.53 (on 90 minutes).

Please note that you can still give the players marks out of 10 on BBC Sport's Player Rater after the match has finished.
    Player Rater
    "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Wasn't Manu 1st goal a thiefing goal by the referee

How comes MANU always get the benefit of the doubt from the referees. Just like when dem goalkeeper (carrol) clearly take ball from over the line and the whole a the stadium notice but the official nu see..

Manu get more help from referees than other english teams since I have been watching manu.

Originally posted by No Mercy View Post
      How comes MANU always get the benefit of the doubt from the referees. Just like when dem goalkeeper (carrol) clearly take ball from over the line and the whole a the stadium notice but the official nu see..

Manu get more help from referees than other english teams since I have been watching manu.
      .. and since when and how often have you been watching the Empire? ?Mi nuh get it ... the Empire scored 3 ... Pepe made some amazing saves and you a talk bout help from ref?

Obviously you have no mercy when it come to your credibility? That incident with Carrol was bout 4 seasons ago and you still hung up about it?

By the way .. how did the ref help the Empire with the first goal? You're aware that Wes Brown is different from Steve Bennett?

dis breddah is a friggin idiot... reminds me of a combination of Karl and JB

why bother entertain him... but then again evry man have a voice pan dis ya site so mek him do him thing...
        Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
        Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

All mi haffi say is "OUCH!!"... this is a painful loss to pool fans. My sympathies go out to the Gunners as well, since I was hoping they would help bring the ManUre heap to a manageable size by beating Chel$ki.

Mi notice seh plenty pool fans and Gunners fans back at the base licking their wounds...mine healing areddi. We have other things to concentrate on now...CL here we come!

pr

What is worse than a heap of ********************?...I say even more ********************.
            Unnuh betta pray sey our path to CL glory isn't through an English team.

Blessed

It ongle seems that way, we were clearly the better team up to the point the already frustrated midfielder was "ejected".
              Mission accomplished, the next task is dominating away games against the top three so-called challengers.

Blessed