• Capello calls up Robinson

Saturday 22 Mar 2008

England boss Fabio Capello has called Tottenham goalkeeper Paul Robinson into his 23-man squad for Wednesday's friendly international against France.

The former Leeds United shot-stopper had not been included in Capello's 30-man preliminary squad but wins a recall after Scott Carson was forced to withdraw because of injury.

Matthew Upson has also pulled out through injury, but Capello has decided not to include Shaun Wright-Phillips and Jermaine Jenas in his paired-down squad - the two goalscorers in last month's friendly success against Switzerland.

David Beckham retains his place in the squad but David Wheater, Ashley Young, Gabriel Agbonlahor and Jermain Defoe all miss out.

Squad: Goalkeepers: James (Portsmouth), Robinson (Tottenham), Kirkland (Wigan Athletic).

Defenders: Bridge (Chelsea), Brown (Manchester United), A Cole (Chelsea), Ferdinand (Manchester United), Johnson (Portsmouth), Lescott (Everton), Terry (Chelsea), Woodgate (Tottenham Hotspur).

Midfielders: Barry (Aston Villa), Beckham (LA Galaxy), Bentley (Blackburn Rovers), J Cole (Chelsea), Downing (Middlesbrough), Gerrard ( Liverpool), Hargreaves (Manchester United), Lampard (Chelsea).

Forwards: Crouch (Liverpool), Owen (Newcastle United), Rooney (Manchester United), Walcott (Arsenal).
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I would pick manchester captain over Woodgate

To me a better defender than woodgate.

Crouch nu near not even club football plus national team

I would even pick Bent over Crouch and of course Beckham is only there to ensure him get his 100 cap and back to hollywood. Sorry Crouch is a decoy whenever he is playing. The man can hardly buck a ball for his height. How him get pon england squad only Barrick know. England won't reach no where until they pick a good squad.