Found this snippet on Englands formation

• Found this snippet on Englands formation

But, of McClaren's four immediate predecessors, the two who were more tactically astute - Glenn Hoddle and Terry Venables - both recognised the importance of a five-man midfield in a match where possession is paramount. <DIV class=phinline>
    <DIV style="WIDTH: 275px"><DIV class=photocred2>NealSimpson/Empics</DIV><DIV class=photosubtext>Peter Crouch (right) was again England's most dangerous customer but failed to produce</DIV></DIV></DIV>

In contrast, a rigid adherence to 4-4-2, underpinned by an innate conservatism that borders on complacency, has often left England outnumbered in midfield. Indeed, a feature of the World Cup was the number of sides with a fifth man in midfield, either a consequence of tactics or individual players' interpretation of their duties.

( Itook the above from An ESPN Soccernet article discussing the recent game between Macedonia and England.)

If the article talks about getting outnumbered with a 4 man midfield then what would be the indictment of the 3 man midfield some here are still rooting for?

I personally don't get why so manypeople in Jamaican football circles,aswell as some on here, wouldwant to go back to 5-3-2 where we were always woefully outmanned in midfield and although some (eh em... Jawge) claim we played 'Jogo Bonito' under Simoes I beg to differ.

That three man midfield that included Peter Cargill (who was basically another sweeperroaming in front of the defense) was always disjointed because of the lack of passing options. On the other side of the ball our 3central defenders became stars because they had so muchchasing and clearing to do -with four or five men in midfield you can better stifle the opposition way beforethey get into your defensive third - keeping your defenders anonymous and your fans happy.
    SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

RE: Found this snippet on Englands formation

Siya 5-3-2 does not mean you have 3 in midfield or thats the way it would look on paper but really the 2 outside wingback gives you five as they push forward. Formation is less important to the system of play. Whats the difference between a 5-3-2 and a 3-5-2 ?

That's why I have always said that formations are overrated. In a 5-3-2 formation, the wingbacks had better be playing as true wingers!

England is overrated and needs to start playing 5-3-2 with cole and king overlapping Cole is being stiffled in defense.

England just have to realise that they are that good.

respect

they hardly ever end up playing as wingers. You start out with a three man midfield hoping to bring the wingbacks more and more into the game as wingers but more often than not when the three man midfield starts giving way to the opposition the wingbacks are going to stay putin defense.

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>Simoes 5-3-2 that took us to a world cup was a straight 5 man back-line and that is what I amranting about. Lazaroni's 5-3-2 that inspired Simoesbrought the wingbacks into midfield to help pressure the man (force mistakes high up) or pressure the ball (chase and recover quickly). Simoes though, pressured the man (opposing forwards) with his stoppers,and, with two defenders concerned with the opposing forwards the wingbacksended up staying home more.

Clovis tried a more fluid 5-3-2 with over lapping wingbacks (he said he would) but it looked the same as simoes static version of the formation because he also dedicated two stoppers to full-time man marking. None ofhis wingbacks Bibi, Tyrone, Jamie, Fabian Davis Michael Johnson were ever adventurous enough or encouraged to stray too far from the back line. End Result? THREE MAN MIDFIELD

I say the formation on paper really matters. Know why? Thetwo wingbacks you usein a 5-3-2 will be different skill-set and mind-set from the two players you add toyour midfield in your 3-5-2. End result - of the very few coaches that have played a 5-3-2 I have yet to see one have wingbacks add much punch/presence to the midfield.</SPAN>

- Posted in response to OJ. It seems I cant attach it directly to your post.

anything other than the 4-4-2 they call continental and they don't touch anything continental surely not any wild 'new' formations. Nuh pressure dem they only changed from the 4-2-4 less than a century ago - it will take a while and a very brave foreigner to change again.

in a 5-3-2 the back cover the entire channell. If you are having trouble moving from paper to actual thing of gregory messam, bibi Gardner, Zadie and Garfield Reid. In the 5 -3--2 the wingback provides the width in the team, thats fact. fomations are overated, it what you do with them. Thats is why you mah hear some say 5-3-2 is the same application as 3-5-2..

Siya (10/10/2006)<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>Simoes 5-3-2 that took us to a world cup was a straight 5 man back-line and that is what I amranting about. Lazaroni's 5-3-2 that inspired Simoesbrought the wingbacks into midfield to help pressure the man (force mistakes high up) or pressure the ball (chase and recover quickly). Simoes though, pressured the man (opposing forwards) with his stoppers,and, with two defenders concerned with the opposing forwards the wingbacksended up staying home more.

Clovis tried a more fluid 5-3-2 with over lapping wingbacks (he said he would) but it looked the same as simoes static version of the formation because he also dedicated two stoppers to full-time man marking. None ofhis wingbacks Bibi, Tyrone, Jamie, Fabian Davis Michael Johnson were ever adventurous enough or encouraged to stray too far from the back line. End Result? THREE MAN MIDFIELD

I say the formation on paper really matters. Know why? Thetwo wingbacks you usein a 5-3-2 will be different skill-set and mind-set from the two players you add toyour midfield in your 3-5-2. End result - of the very few coaches that have played a 5-3-2 I have yet to see one have wingbacks add much punch/presence to the midfield.</SPAN>

- Posted in response to OJ. It seems I cant attach it directly to your post.
                  Formations? Blaaaahhhhhh!

The idea is to have on the field X outplayers that can at any given moment do each and every job the dymanicsof the game require...score, support in attack and defense, defend! You are also aiming to havethat X1th player competent...nah an expert at control - both highest technical skill on the ball and with the ball plus a superb tactician - at out-playing in and around hispenalty-area.Additionalyou want each and every player to be strong, tireless, fast across groundwith magnificent reaction timeat thinking and acting!

Formations?Blah!!!!What the dymanics of the game demands,the player MUST SUPPLY!!! Great football athletes and great thinkersare the requirements.

The thinking with the ability to do the required action tellseachplayer as the game moves along when, where and what! Knowing the answers to those whens, wheres and whats...begets TEAM...good TEAM shapes,good coordinated TEAM actions, just good TEAM! That will most often translate into WINS! Good football athletes...with 'good brains' beget goodTEAMS that provide WINS!

We want WINS!