• D.C. United blitz Harbour View, move on

United blitz Harbour View, move on

A three-goal blitz within five minutes in the second half -- one from Devon McTavish and two from Luciano Emilio -- sent D.C. United on their way to a 5-0 victory in the second leg of their CONCACAF Champions' Cup quarterfinal against Jamaican side Harbour View FC and a 6-1 victory on aggregate.

McTavish, who scored United's goal in the 1-1 draw in Kingston a week ago, rose up to put United into the lead before the break, then doubled his personal tally in between strikes from Emilio, last year's MLS Golden Boot winner whose season began with a rich run of form in the Champions' Cup. Brazilian Fred finished off the tie with a late goal.

(continue)

Post-game quotes from Harbour View FC Head Coach Lenworth Hyde:

On the game:
    "They outclassed us today."

On the second half:
    "There is a big gap between our soccer and the MLS. United was more professional than us. We need to work harder and take a page out of their book. We need to go back home and work hard."

On the first half:
    "We were coming up and giving [D.C. United] the freedom to try to counter. We didn't create enough chances."
    http://www.mlsnet.com//news/team_new....jsp&team=t103

Emilio, McTavish Enjoy the View by Scoring Two Goals Each

That Luciano Emilio provided two goals during D.C. United's 5-0 demolition of Jamaican club Harbour View last night came as no surprise. He was, after all, the leading scorer and most valuable player in MLS last season.

The fact that his Brazilian countryman, Fred, set up a goal with a breathtaking pass and scored on a breakaway was not totally unexpected, given his flashes of brilliance a year ago.

(continue)

"There is a big gap between our soccer and the MLS"

Slowly but surely people will have to admit the obvious.

The football intelligentsia are usually in denial.

mi preach, mi bawl, mi talk
                boot di high school ball. When will we see that high school football is not
                pro ball. it makes our technique woeful. Pay attention to HV in Dc's final defensive third.

We need to open academy that deals with the mechanics of shooting and what do in and around the 18. Yuh know what I won't hit a man when he's down, so let it rest.

mi preach, mi bawl, mi talk
                  boot di high school ball. When will we see that high school football is not
                  pro ball. it makes our technique woeful. Pay attention to HV in Dc's final defensive third.

We need to open academy that deals with the mechanics of shooting and what do in and around the 18. Yuh know what I won't hit a man when he's down, so let it rest.
                  As Senator Davis would say .. Sheeeeeet!!!! When you and I agree on anything mi affi wonder. At least once in a while yuh right.

Mi post already that we need fi get rid of the schoolboy thing and man start talk bout tradition.

Mi say the entire football leagues need revamping and man start talk tuh mi bout corner league.