Jawge, I am not arguing about Tappa's other good qualities. Let's not start another Hue vs Tappa thread. All I am saying is Karl is being very disingenuous when he talks as if Tappa was a one-touch, two-touch balla. Of course he must have played a one-touch and a two-touch in his football career, but Tappa was also a dribbler, a good one, and not one to release the ball quickly. In other words, Tappa did his fair share of "dwelling on the ball", something Karl loathes with his ballas. Or does he?!
Dwelling on the ball also has something to do with inactivity and confusion! ...hesitating and being late on making up mind what to do and actually attempting to do!
Was that Tappa?!
Take off your blinkers...please...Mosiah!
What is it about Tappa that brings out so much envy to cause you to lose judgement? Could it be you are past it and wished you were as good as Tappa?
Cho, man! Fi yuh time laaag paaas!
If you have a lot of running (moving into support space) the one playing the creative midfield role - Tappa, Fabregas, Hue will have a little more time on the ball.
...and just for your info...apparently you missed it in all those Tappa international games you saw - Tappa did not dwell on the ball very often when there was little time to act. He got rid of the ball quickly. In fact, I can remember you among others questing his 'back passes, lateral passes and very many short (-range) passes... You all could not see that it made us keep possession...deny the opponents possession - SAFELY! - and thus made it more likely we could win and adversely the opposition had less chances at winning!
The beauty of Tappa was he made those quick releases look simple...easy...as if in slow motion...all the while carrying out his functions smoothly, efficiently, beautifully and efficiently! ...but then such is genius!
e..g. When the Australians Lille and "Terrible" Thompson came in to bowl the lessor mortals were into hurried jerky movements and stabs at the ball...Lawrance Rowe made it seem as if he was on a morning stroll and eased into his shots! Lille and Thompson were...in fact still bowling as fast as they could and often trying harder to unsettle Rowe than the lessor mortals! Genius makes it look...it isn't...but it looks...slower! ...and even at times makes it appear that 'time stood still for them'!
Karl yuh full of horse doo-doo (according to the Guiness commercial). Tappa was one of the slowest player Jamaica has ever had. Aside from his two goals (which we can never forget because of you and Maudib), I don't think that he was very effective playing for us in the midfield. He was so slow that the reporters coined a new phrase to describe his play -"mercurial". To this day i still think that Hector Wright was a more effective midfielder for us than Tappa. Hector had more versatility.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Jangle, quick question: Would you
call Zidane a fast or quick player? How effective was Zidane for his team?
Thanks.
Please don't compare Tappa with Zidanne. As far as I am concerned, there is/was no comparission. Tappa was just a little above average player in MY opinion. Outside of a few matches, he did nothing to win games for us. I'll admit that his movements were silky smooth and languid, but in my recollection, he did more lateral and back passes that did not amount to much for us. Since you have the audacity to compare him with the great (high-achieving) Zidanne, why was he sought by any top teams?
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Please don't compare Tappa with Zidanne. As far as I am concerned, there is/was no comparission. Tappa was just a little above average player in MY opinion. Outside of a few matches, he did nothing to win games for us. I'll admit that his movements were silky smooth and languid, but in my recollection, he did more lateral and back passes that did not amount to much for us. Since you have the audacity to compare him with the great (high-achieving) Zidanne, why was he sought by any top teams?
Jangle, stop the joking. Although Tappa is certainly not a Zidanne, he did not just win us a few games. Whitmore was a part of many vital goals for Jamaica. In the 98 World Cup buildup, the World Cup itself and what was the Shell Cup.
I can't remember one (single) game, outside of the historical win in 98, when he singlehandedly won a game for us. I remember him having a few good games, but nothing to earn him that God-like status that people like Karl, Jawg and Maudib give him. Exceptional talent is reserved for Blacka Boyd for me. Nandi also deserves special mention for at times carrying the team on his back. Tappa's accolades fall right in with the rest of the TEAM for their achievements. He was a very good midfielder, but he was not great.
95 Shell Cup - versus TandT and Haiti
96 First round Qualifying - Surinam, Barbados (Him and Boyd), the tour of Brazil, African All stars
98 - World Cup, Shell Cup - was the most dominant player along with Stern John, QPR
And there are many other games where he has scored vital goals or created opportunities for his teammates.
Any man who can play at the standard he did against Chelsea and Brazil is a special player.
I will ask you this simple question:
where did zidane start out? How many top teams go after players outside
of Europe (with the excpetion of Brasil & Arg) for midfielders?
Based on what I see all the football greats; were first extolled by their OWN country. To this day we Jakans fail to see Tappa as a football genius. Ja just don't have the pro football infrastructre to properly market someone as Tappa. Can you imagine if Seba pre 98 was playing a Mexican or US club on Fox sports? Think what would be said of Tappa.
BTW doesn't Zidane make lateral and back passes? Watch Brasil vs JA then go w3atch Brasil USA and note the if any player gets the respect that Tappa gets. Boss anyman whey casue Brasil fi approach wid caution; stand at attention and salute. Hear mi?
Quick question: Do you know who was Ja's leading goalscorer pre and post 98?
Bet say if the Queen tell yuh
say Tappa is a genius, yuh wouldah haff suppen different fi say.
Yuh really tink dem two WC goal easy fi score. Go ask Magician Latas bout dat. Those two goals were the work of a genius and I was the Mayor Mobay Tappa's statue would be right wher old hospital once was.
I can't remember one (single) game, outside of the historical win in 98, when he singlehandedly won a game for us. I remember him having a few good games, but nothing to earn him that God-like status that people like Karl, Jawg and Maudib give him. Exceptional talent is reserved for Blacka Boyd for me. Nandi also deserves special mention for at times carrying the team on his back. Tappa's accolades fall right in with the rest of the TEAM for their achievements. He was a very good midfielder, but he was not great.
Take Tappa off the field in RFK and we would not have had the game we had!
...Japan in the World Cup!
You forgot there were qualifying matches where he won the games!
He was head and shoulders above any other player on our teams when it came to being creative! ...and he was head and should above any other player on our Teams when it came to technical ability!
...and you saw nothing? .
Great pity you missed the matches he played in!