• Harbour View must do or die in DC

Harbour View must do or die in DC
    published: Tuesday | March 18, 2008

Gordon Williams, Contributor

Harbour View's captain Fabian Taylor (centre) dribbles away from Gonzalo Martinez (right) and midfielder Clyde Simms in last Wednesday night's CONCACAF Champions Cup quarter-final at the Harbour View Mini Stadium. The game ended 1-1. - Ian Allen/Staff Photographer

WASHINGTON DC, United States:
    Harbour View are expected to make a few line-up changes - at least two forced - when they tackle American club DC United in the do-or-die second leg of the CONCACAF Champions Cup 7:30 p.m. (6:30p.m. local time) tonight at the RFK Stadium here.

But the current Jamaica and Caribbean football champions are standing pat with the style that earned them a 1-1 draw last Wednesday in Kingston, claiming that adequate replacements will be available and there is little need to change a successful approach.

"We're in good shape," said coach Lenworth Hyde Snr "We've got a lot of good players to choose from."

With starting midfielder Kemeel Wolfe and striker Rafiek Thomas both absent after being denied visas to enter the United States, Hyde is likely to call on two national representatives, forward Kavin Bryan and midfielder Lovell Palmer, to replace them. Both played as substitutes last week and Palmer scored the late equaliser for Harbour View.

Other contenders
    Forwards Kemar Petrekin and Marcelino Blackburn, whose recent form has pleased the coaches, are in contention for playing time as well. So too midfielder Keith Kelly, who also appeared as a substitute in the first leg.
    In addition, defender Christopher Harvey, another national player, is expected among the starters after completing a suspension earned from his ejection in an earlier round match.

Meanwhile, worry over the condition of Richard Edwards, who was forced to leave the game last week with an upper thigh injury after being stomped on by a DC United player, has eased. The forceful midfielder, a key to Harbour View's successful pressure-oriented approach which unsettled DC United - like Harbour View's entire squad - has been declared ready for tonight's match. That has buoyed the confidence of the Jamaican contingent.

"We expect (Edwards) and everybody to be match fit," said the club's general manager, Clyde Jureidini. "Everybody will have their hands up to play."

Hyde said Harbour View will stick to its 4-4-2 formation that worked well in Kingston. But he warned that his team must improve its ball possession tonight as he is expecting DC United to step up the tempo, especially because the multiple Major League Soccer champions are playing at home.
    "They are a quality team," said Hyde, who acknowledged that DC United were dogged by pre-season rust last week.

"Their condition must improve. We are aware of that. We have to keep ball possession. We have to be aggressive when they have the ball. They'll come with hard running. I don't know how long they can keep it up."

Hyde will stick with attacking through the flanks, with wingbacks Robert Scarlett and Ronny Amaguana hoping to again trouble DC United. He is also banking on influential playmaker Jermaine Hue to turn his creative midfield licence into goal-scoring form.

"My thing is that he (Hue) is a player that has freedom," the coach explained. "I'm telling him that he needs to score goals. I want him to create more spaces to shoot."

SIMILAR IDEAS
    DC United coach Tom Soehn has similar ideas. While Harbour View performed as expected, Soehn described his team's showing in Kingston as disappointing.

"(Harbour View) played as anticipated," he said yesterday. "The only surprise for me is that we weren't very good technically."

DC United have problems of their own. Star striker Jaime Moreno, who left last week's game early with a hamstring strain, "more than likely will be out for tonight's game," Soehn said.

Following a morning practice yesterday, the coach believes his club is in much better physical and technical shape. The RFK Stadium playing surface, which he described as being "one of the best we've seen it," should also suit the American club's passing game better than the Harbour View Mini Stadium. Again, veteran Argentine playmaker Marcelo Gallardo will be the key for DC United.

After being on the road for a long spell during pre-season, DC United are also welcoming a return home where their fans can be relied on to give them a significant boost.

"The atmosphere in our home field is fantastic," Soehn said.
    Yet, despite acknowledging that DC United must do better keeping ball possession than they did last week, the coach was not ready to reveal any tactical adjustments for tonight's match.

"It will be 10 players and goalie," Soehn said when asked about his club's approach.

Since there is no away goal rule, the game will go into extra time and penalty kicks if the scores remain level.
    Gordon Williams is a Jamaican journalist based in the United States.

H/V can do!

Must dwell less on the ball!
    ...and therefore pass more quickly and move more quickly into support space!

...and allow selves to take shots by moving and passing quicker in that crucial attacking 3rd.

Finally was react more quickly to overlapping and or opponent's support players. Yuh dat one-two - either through the middle or on the flanks - that DC used in the last match to get behind the H/V defense! Close down that support player...and snuff threats!!!

H/V players are quick enough across ground and have quick feet (quick feet - e.g. Hue) and have the necessary technical skills!

As mo said the complex a go kill we.

look at the heading. Why couldn't it be something like "Hv ready for challenge" or "HV needs a win" or something that will up the vibes.

Ah bwoy is a a good thing Simoes nuh need nobody fi write fi him cause them woulda kill the vibes.

Must dwell less on the ball!
        ...and therefore pass more quickly...!
        Still am a little uncertain as to what Karl sees/saw in a player like Tappa.

If you have a lot of running (moving into support space) the one playing the creative midfield role - Tappa, Fabregas, Hue will have a little more time on the ball.

...and just for your info...apparently you missed it in all those Tappa international games you saw - Tappa did not dwell on the ball very often when there was little time to act. He got rid of the ball quickly. In fact, I can remember you among others questing his 'back passes, lateral passes and very many short (-range) passes... You all could not see that it made us keep possession...deny the opponents possession - SAFELY! - and thus made it more likely we could win and adversely the opposition had less chances at winning!

The beauty of Tappa was he made those quick releases look simple...easy...as if in slow motion...all the while carrying out his functions smoothly, efficiently, beautifully and efficiently! ...but then such is genius!

e..g. When the Australians Lille and "Terrible" Thompson came in to bowl the lessor mortals were into hurried jerky movements and stabs at the ball...Lawrance Rowe made it seem as if he was on a morning stroll and eased into his shots! Lille and Thompson were...in fact still bowling as fast as they could and often trying harder to unsettle Rowe than the lessor mortals! Genius makes it look...it isn't...but it looks...slower! ...and even at times makes it appear that 'time stood still for them'!

...apparently you missed it in all those Tappa international games you saw - Tappa did not dwell on the ball very often when there was little time to act. He got rid of the ball quickly.
            Really now!? Someting tell me is not just me one miss it.

Never fear you have much company!

I and I envision a H/View victory by the odd goal. That's the most I can give the ites. I'm drained from all this seeing into the future stuff, so leave any follow-up questions until my strenght returns, likely around 2130 hours EST .

Remember... Harbour view by the odd goal.

"Tappa did not dwell on the ball very often when there was little time to act. He got rid of the ball quickly."

Well me miss it too...must be his " speed over ground, why me miss it"

Is there another Tappa other than Whitmore from Jamaica ?

Coz it cant be the Jamaican Tappa , Karl a talk bout !!!

See and this is why we will
                    continue to remain in one mentality. I tell you this: Whilst Hue is quality
                    he is no way near a Tappa, Zidane or Zico. It served him well to just wander about and pop up now and then. If HV tries to run the game through him tonight they will lose. Hue is a player that needs space (look at his game against DC last week) and can play off a good ball artist.

Now that Ja is using a different style (essien/Appiah type mids) I doubt he will fit in the lineup (seeing that he only goes forward). If the Prof. uses pepe and Marshall I know he won't be out there (look for cousins and Austin running Ja's middle then. Matter of fact even if it's just Marshall alone that plays. Just my opinion.

boss Tapp was a problem solver. Give the ball
                      to him and he will find something creative to do. What failed us all was that we (unlike the Prof.) was unable to see Tappa as a football genuis; hence give the ball to him in order to achieve results.

Look at France in 06, if Zidane loses the ball, the rest of team takes delight in recovering it and giving it back to zidane. We had our ball genius but failed to take note.

Jawge, I am not arguing about Tappa's other good qualities. Let's not start another Hue vs Tappa thread. All I am saying is Karl is being very disingenuous when he talks as if Tappa was a one-touch, two-touch balla. Of course he must have played a one-touch and a two-touch in his football career, but Tappa was also a dribbler, a good one, and not one to release the ball quickly. In other words, Tappa did his fair share of "dwelling on the ball", something Karl loathes with his ballas. Or does he?!

He mixes it; I have games (Rboyz) where Tappa quickly one timmes the ball to teammates. Their reaction is as if shocked! yuh gi back to mi jeezsas, boom boots it to nowhere. Tappa is aplayer like Zidane, they map the game ahead and uses players like pieces on chess board. If Tappa is holding up the ball is for a reason that you and I can't see until the final play is done.

Tell dat to someone else Jawge. You and Karl have perfected the art of rationalising everything Tappa did. Mi nuh inna it wid unnu.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                              "Tappa did not dwell on the ball very often when there was little time to act. He got rid of the ball quickly."

Well me miss it too...must be his " speed over ground, why me miss it"

Is there another Tappa other than Whitmore from Jamaica ?

Coz it cant be the Jamaican Tappa , Karl a talk bout !!!
                              Especially after '98!
                              Suddenly all the support players 'ead swell' an dem tink dem a great baller! ...and ruined our chances of qualifying!