On further thoughts, the visas should have been sought by HV from January. Their officials knew about the competition well in advance. Same thing goes for the ballers dem. It should be standard that once you become part of an sport organisation, you should get your travel documents in order.
Tell H.V guh wid dem lawyer.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Jangle View PostOn further thoughts, the visas should have been sought by HV from January. Their officials knew about the competition well in advance. Same thing goes for the ballers dem. It should be standard that once you become part of an sport organisation, you should get your travel documents in order.
suh mi seh tuh.
Spoke with someone in the JFF about that in the CB years and again in the Boxhill years and both times dealing with the cost it was claimed was the problem?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Why do we go over the same things over and over again on this forum? If I took a break for 5 years off this site and came back, I would not have missed a thing!
It makes no sense for any team to select its players 3 months in advance. And the embassy will not just allow any team to submit a large number of prospective players. We don't need to hear the reasons for this, or do we?
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWhy do we go over the same things over and over again on this forum? If I took a break for 5 years off this site and came back, I would not have missed a thing!
It makes no sense for any team to select its players 3 months in advance. And the embassy will not just allow any team to submit a large number of prospective players. We don't need to hear the reasons for this, or do we?Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
DR Congo denied by visa problems
LuaLua has had visa difficulties with French authorities before
DR Congo coach Claude Leroy's plans for Friday's friendly against Tunisia in Paris have been decimated by the refusal of visas to several players.
French immigration authorities have denied visas to various Simbas, including captain Cyrille Mubiala and forward Lomana LuaLua.
"We have had huge difficulties in getting our players here," the French coach said at a news conference in the French capital on Thursday.
"LuaLua could not travel because he was denied a visa.
"The same applies for those of our players based in South Africa as well."
Yet Leroy said that there was no real reason given for the denial of visas to the players.
Captain Mubiala and Tshinyama Tsholola, who both play for Ajax Cape Town, were among the handful of South Africa-based footballers denied a visa.
In Turkey, Istanbulspor forward Kabamba Musasa was also refused entry to France.
No French visas for DRC team
In August, the French Embassy in Kinshasa said it would no longer issue visas to DR Congo players after three different players disappeared on training camps in the European nation.
Yet the Embassy changed its mind earlier this month when granting 14 DR Congo-based footballers entry visas to France.
Nonetheless, Leroy has been angered by these latest visa denials, especially since he was keen to link up LuaLua with striker Shabani Nonda, who has missed many internationals over the past few years through injury.
This is not the first time LuaLua has encountered problems with the French immigration system.
DR Congo 3-1 Guinea
When DR Congo defeated Guinea 3-1 in a friendly in August in Paris, he was initially denied entrance to the country. French officials kept the youngster in questioning for three hours and only a last-minute dash to the airport by Leroy enabled his entry to the country. In the end though, LuaLua received only a 12-hour visa.
Another
Visa row ends footballers' dream
By Pete Magill
YOUNG Palestinian footballers look set to denied their dream fixture against a Blackburn Rovers XI - because they have been refused visas to enter the UK.
Soccer bosses are furious that a showpiece three-week tour by under 19 players from Gaza and the West Bank, will not now go ahead.
Palestinian officials are blaming the Foreign Office for refusing permission for the squad to travel to Britain.
advertisement
do_dp_ad();</IMG> on error resume nextIf MSDetect = "true" ThenFor i = 2 to 8If Not(IsObject(CreateObject("ShockwaveFlash.Shockwav eFlash." & i))) ThenElseflashinstalled = 2flashversion = iEnd IfNextEnd IfIf flashinstalled = 0 Thenflashinstalled = 1End If
The trip had been arranged by CAPE - Chester and Palestine Exchanges Ltd, a project aimed at introducing Palestinians to the British people in a positive way - and was set to feature fixtures against Chester City and Tranmere Rovers before the Blackburn game on September 8 at Ewood Park.
Rod Cox, of CAPE, said: "Although they will not provide reasons in writing, they say the decision was taken because the economic situation in Gaza, where the majority of the team are based, is so bad that they do not believe that the Palestinians will return home again.
"They deny taking the decision for any politically-motivated reason, although they did say at one point that it was because the Israelis would not allow them to return - and so would create a refugee issue, but they have since denied this."
Mr Cox is angry that the decision comes as the Israeli team prepares to meet England at Wembley on the same day as the axed Blackburn game.
He added: "This cannot fail to harden opinion against the British Government both in the Occupied Territories and in the UK."
A Foreign Office spokesman said: "We never comment on individual visa cases so we cannot comment on the reasons for the refusalsin this case.
"All applicants are required to demonstrate that they meet a number of requirements, including that they intend to leave the UK at the end of their stay."
3:20pm Thursday 23rd August 2007- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Thanks, Sass!
Okay, so there are more countries in the world that have also chosen to act the fool! Now, I am not saying there could never be a good reason to deny a player a visa, but I have seen too many cases where it appears the USA was just flexing it muscles.
Like I said, if countries choose to go this route, then their teams should bear the consequences and be denied of thier home fixtures in sanctioned competitions.
Jangle, it is not usually a "travel documents" problem. It's not like they show up at the embassy without a passport or birth certificate or whatever. I would like to think that HV would make sure that everything is in place before they get to the embassy, and even coach them as to how to answer possible questions.
I am with you to a point, the only problem I have is I don't know these youths and a few of them come up yah and form di fool sometimes.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWhy do we go over the same things over and over again on this forum? If I took a break for 5 years off this site and came back, I would not have missed a thing!
It makes no sense for any team to select its players 3 months in advance. And the embassy will not just allow any team to submit a large number of prospective players. We don't need to hear the reasons for this, or do we?
If subsequent to having those in hand you need one or two more, would not this early planning be worth it? ...make sense?
...It must be just me...but not getting any visas early...even if only those considered 'sure picks'...makes no sense to me!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Seems like HV did the right thing and gave them a little time to appeal. The problem is if the US nuh waan give them no matter how much time them nah go get it.
can't fault HV, only wonder about the "valid reasons"- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWhat needs to happen is sporting organisations like FIFA, IAAF and the rest of them need to pull competitions from the USA until they fall in line with the rest of the world and give legitimate athletes access to their soil. Only the USA kip up dis friggery!
If the USA does not want to grant visas to HV players, then they should be prepared to play the DC United leg in Jamaica or some neutral country, so long as it is agreed to by HVFC. That's what needs to happen!
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostEven if the players are undesirable? We don't know the reasons for the refusal of visas being issued so maybe we should all just settle down."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."