Tell H.V guh wid dem lawyer.

• Tell H.V guh wid dem lawyer.

Harbour View to tackle visa issue - Club meets with US gov't officials today
    published: Monday | March 17, 2008

Gordon Williams, Contributor

Harbour View's Clyde Jureidini
    Members of Harbour View Football Club (HVFC) contingent, in the United States for tomorrow's CONCACAF Champions Cup return-leg game against DC United, will meet with U.S. government officials today in America's capital.

And, according to officials, the Jamaica and Caribbean champions are hoping to further highlight a nagging issue which caused four from the club's membership to miss the trip to Washington DC after they were refused US visas in Kingston.

"We've been invited to a meeting as their guests," explained HVFC's General Manager, Clyde Jureidini, yesterday. "We will again explore about creating a policy and agreement that Jamaican national teams and club teams representing Jamaica will be allowed visas without being subjected to interviews that could lead to them being denied access to the US, "he explained.

Players Kemeel Wolfe and Rafiek Thomas, plus Equipment Manager Dwayne Blake and chef Dowayne Lawrence were, according to Jureidini, refused visas following interviews at the US embassy in late February. And although the four were invited to apply again in the future, they will be missing from the contingent for tomorrow's game.

Both striker Thomas and midfielder Wolfe played key roles in Harbour View's 1-1 first leg quarter-final draw with DC United on Wednesday. Their absence has adversely affected the team's preparations for the return leg, Harbour View officials said.

"That has hurt us very badly," said coach Lenworth Hyde yesterday.
    Jureidini said that the US embassy in Kingston denied Wolfe, Thomas, Blake and Lawrence even after strong lobbying efforts from the region's governing body for football.

"We requested CONCACAF to assist us," said Jureidini. "They tried their best."
    It wasn't enough.

"The embassy outlined clear and valid reasons why they were turned down," he added, although declining to specify the reasons the visas were denied.

Now Harbour View are advocating for Jamaica's government to iron out a policy with its US counterpart that will alleviate the situation in the future.

"We're appealing to the Jamaican government to appeal to US government to agree on standard policy for all sporting teams coming out of Jamaica and by extension the Caribbean," said Jureidini.

"We know there is a problem, but let's find a solution. Explore diplomatic means to have national players and club players (avoid a similar situation)."

Jureidini believes Caribbean countries or a club like Harbour View are not subjected to the same rules as clubs or national teams from the US coming to the region. The players from DC United, he cited as an example, had no visa requirements entering Jamaica for the first leg. Therefore, he added, the playing field is not level for all participants in similar sporting competitions.

"We always travel at a disadvantage," Jureidini said.
    "US teams are not subjected to visa requirements or interviews," he added.

Harbour View's problems may be magnified further this year. If the team gets by DC United and with participation in the new CONCACAF Champions League, which begins in August, the club could need access to the US for its members on several more occasions.

"Within the next year we could be coming through the US anywhere from three to eight times," Jureidini said. "It could be more."

An urgent resolution is needed, the general manager added.
    "You should find a way," Jureidini said.

Gordon Williams is a Jamaican journalist based in the United States.
    Last edited by Karl; March 17, 2008, 09:51 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"We requested CONCACAF to assist us," said Jureidini. "They tried their best."
    It wasn't enough."

It wasn't their best!
    There seems to be some concessions being made that they indeed have valid reasons to deny..but I suspect it is all artificial.
    Why not make the claim that the US Embassy is working in collusion with DC to undermine HV so DC can have an unfair advantage.It is to DC's advantage.
    Hue mussi did have fi hym already.

Blessed

I doubt very much that the embassy care anything about DC United. We have to see the "valid reasons" first but I hope them can work it out.

It could be and that is all that matters. We need something that will appeal to their better judgment, and it is likely a common problem faced by other countries.

Blessed

true. Nah cast nuh stone still but some a we player them too need fi behave themselves as well.

If a man get a drug conviction or something else them nah go let him enter.

What needs to happen is sporting organisations like FIFA, IAAF and the rest of them need to pull competitions from the USA until they fall in line with the rest of the world and give legitimate athletes access to their soil. Only the USA kip up dis friggery!

If the USA does not want to grant visas to HV players, then they should be prepared to play the DC United leg in Jamaica or some neutral country, so long as it is agreed to by HVFC. That's what needs to happen!

No Mo a nuh the US alone. It happen in Europe, certain players can't travel although it normally the fact that they have no European citizenship.

Mo you have no idea what grounds they are refused on or maybe you do.
              As you say "legitimate ahtlete" as long as them a nuh part-timer inna anything else.

No Mo a nuh the US alone. It happen in Europe, certain players can't travel although it normally the fact that they have no European citizenship.
                I'm absolutely unaware of this! Which European country has denied one or two players of a team a visa to take part in whatever competition?

I don't think u can pass judgement until we know those "valid reasons". It is very interesting that them get rejected because me see some of the worst man from the NPL get to go farin in the summer to play bush league.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                    I don't think u can pass judgement until we know those "valid reasons". It is very interesting that them get rejected because me see some of the worst man from the NPL get to go farin in the summer to play bush league.
                    Straight up gunmen!

We need not isolate this HV case. This has been happening for a while and only the naive would dare claim that when the USA turns you down it must be for a valid reason. Please!

Wish H/V success in getting those visas!

Well, it won't happen in time for tomorrow's match! Let's just hope that after this meeting US Embassies around the world would be a little more understanding when it comes to sports teams. A lot is at stake in many of these competitions, too much for the US people dem fi just willy-nilly mess up!

And the sports organisations need to also take a stance and help put an end to this nonsense!

Well, it won't happen in time for tomorrow's match! Let's just hope that after this meeting US Embassies around the world would be a little more understanding when it comes to sports teams. A lot is at stake in many of these competitions, too much for the US people dem fi just willy-nilly mess up!

And the sports organisations need to also take a stance and help put an end to this nonsense!
                          As I under it most often these players receive single entry visas? Those who can apply for and gain multiple entry visas on there own accord should do so....maybe the problems would be/can be minimised?

Well, I guess the JFF can use this incidence as precedence for future competitions. As a body, they can do a premptive move by asking FIFA to look into it for the upcoming WCQ. All home matches for the USA (especially against Jamaica) to be played in a nuetral country, cause a pure "badman" mek up the Jamaican teams.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

...a pure "badman" mek up the Jamaican teams.
                              I would not make this joke?
                              ...and certainly not here?