RBSC SportsData indicates the following for Hue and Edwards:

Originally posted by OJ View Post
    any recommended software or are you using excel for this. Is Hview data mining thats good stuff. I would like to see more range out of Jermaine, more penetrative passes in behind defense sometimes.
    I am using a pencil and a notepad!

I am sure Maestro would tell you that when he plays wide, he is limited as to what he can do, especially when it comes to "penetrative passes in behind defense". However, do not discount those passes to a free teammate just above the semicircle. A lot can happen with those! The fact is he is finding his players in good positions, which means, and someone should explain this to Karl, he is helping the TEAM to keep possession of the ball.

There were two defence splitting passes he made that might have had a different result if it was passed to someone like Shelton. One could say the weight was not correct for Rafeik or Fabian, but who knows, any slower and it might have been intercepted.

And I don't buy this crap about HVFC looking clueless in the final third. They breached the DC defence on several occasions. What was classic was their immediate response to the goal. Pity that didn't score.

Mo good reasoning.. I think wide he is going to have less touches. OK I thought you were using excel to do it or some fancy software.

I think he would do well in a system that took away the defensive responsibilities and have him play free.

And I don't buy this crap about HVFC looking clueless in the final third. They breached the DC defence on several occasions. What was classic was their immediate response to the goal. Pity that didn't score.
          You thought the shots, crosses and final passes in the last third were consistenly of a high quality?
          Last edited by Me; March 14, 2008, 02:17 PM.

Mo, who was de brown breda weh play rb? He was very solid I thought.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Best player on the field.

You are welcome, Mexxx. Yes, I know they break down the info in different ways, including distance and direction. But you can appreciate that such detail takes time and patience. But I think some of us can appreciate what I have provided.

These two players were singled out for different reasons. Hue has been accused of disappearing in the second half or not being effective. Do the numbers prove it? He has also been accused of losing the ball too many times. Do the numbers prove it?

Edwards had a good game, covering the park with speed and tenacity, as he is the steel in the midfield for HVFC. But his passing, especially his forward passing, has been found wanting. It would be interesting to break down his lateral, forward and backward passes to see how they compare. It is interesting that he does not dribble at all! HL and Bricktop should like him!

They would both get my Man of the Match award. Erm, that's Hue and Edwards, not HL and Bricktop!
                How do you measure losing the ball?

As my emphasis is on TEAM...and TEAM goals.

Example - 1: I will include moving slowly to a ball I believe the player should have received and as fact never got to. It is simple, in my mind the player has caused the TEAM to lose the ball...possession has been transfer to the opposition. The player by action has 'joined the opposing TEAM' in that instant time.

Example - 2: I would be marking the player a poor grade if the ball was received and the player held on to the ball yet got off his pass...but that delayed passing of ball resulted in the player receiving being under pressure (possible the receiver losing the ball directly or as result of the pressure had to widely get rid of the ball and or not afforded time to with good control send it on its way...i.e.put TEAM out of sorts e.g.attack breaks down or whatever...)

Example - 3: Poor technical skill causing possession to be lost - poor trap, inaccurate pass, over-hit pass, under-hit pass...

If you look at the above a player could get his touches and 'make' all his passes and played poorly...as it would be possible to not best aid TEAM goals.

A player could also consistently play poorly by chosing poor options consistently even as all the player's passes were accurate and successfully completed.

Example - A player bursts into the opponent's penalty -area four/five times in a match and ends up with a one-on-one with the goalkeeper but on each and every occasion there is a support player who if pass was made had an empty goal tap in...yet that pass for the tap in was never made...and no goals were scored by TEAM or only 1 goal was scored....or goals were scored but fortunately 'bumped there way in'...or goals were scored under other conditions which had nothing to do with direct aid from the player.

Player played poorly!

AS Mosiah said there are times the stats do not give full complete...or totally true story.

...but to return to the Harbour View match - Based on the speed across ground, individual technical skill displayed Harbour View as TEAM did not play up to what I saw as true potential. They played in my opinion, on a scale of 1-10...a level 4!

As I said, earlier it showed me that they have the reserve capacity to raise play 6 notches up!
                Will they do that in the return match? -

Based on their display they will have a hard time doing that as what you practise just does not go out the window...and you 'step up' jus suh!

To put it simply - In the game against DC a) the H/V players would have had to have been having a 'down game' i.e. they usually meet the ball much more quickly and pass more quickly and provide support to the man on the ball in a more timely and efficient fashion...or...b) DC would have to perform at an even lower level than they showed us. This 2nd I think will not happen as DC should be much more comfortable on their home field....and they should adjust to making the ball work even more - greater moving and passing - after a review of the match at "compound".
                Last edited by Karl; March 14, 2008, 03:12 PM.

No they were not! But does that mean one was clueless? I think not! Clueless is not getting the ball into that final third except by some big kick from deep, like a Hail Mary pass as they say in that stupid sport.

The problem wasn't getting there. It was what was done once there. That is where I think people are saying clueless.

Why? Because he is American?

Jangle, his name is Ronnie Amaguana, not Amaguania as the FSC people were saying. He was born in the US of Ecuadorean parents. He has played some A league ball in the States and was with HVFC about 2 years ago. He is a solid player - little flair but does all the basics very well. You can consistently get decent crosses from him. The right back position is his to lose at HVFC. Yuh know how much big balla tink dem have him soft round deh so only to be stopped in their tracks?

I understand his brother is part of the DC United administrative staff.

What ever happened to the young right back that you would speak highly of.
                        Dodd?

No because he was in control at all times. Played the ball down the wing like a good back is supposed to do and he did not lose one single ball or make an errant pass. There were numerous Americans on the pitch as well as Argentinians and Brazilians but I didn't mention them did I? On that day he was the best player on the pitch.

Well, they need to say that. Criticise the crosses and the shots not getting there and that's what clueless in the final third usually means.

Very good question! He did show quite a bit of promise with HV some years ago but I have not glimpsed him of late. Probably migrated? It's easy to miss him though. If him reach 5'-2" him tall!

A lot can happen with those! The fact is he is finding his players in good positions, which means, and someone should explain this to Karl, he is helping the TEAM to keep possession of the ball.
                                Just asking - Those good positions?
                                Do you mean relative to other positions on the field i.e. certain locations?

...or do you mean the players receive the ball with "God only by their sides"?

...or do you mean a combination of both?

There were two defence splitting passes he made that might have had a different result if it was passed to someone like Shelton. One could say the weight was not correct for Rafeik or Fabian, but who knows, any slower and it might have been intercepted.
                                Saw them!
                                The DC goalie came took care of them.
                                So were they really good? ...or just good enough to have the ladies in the ground 'scream'?

They certainly performed poorly in getting off shots in that final third. The mis-sliding attempt at scoring from, I think it was Scarlett's cross came via a good fast passing build-up. Just goes to show what the TEAM Harbour View is capable of...in terms of quickly opening up the opposition and creating great goalscoring opportunities. Saw no reason they could not do that consistently to that DC team...excepting that drawback of their waltzing around - meeting the ball early, passing early, dwelling on the ball too long, not as deliberate in making such passes were good passes.

Incidently their switching of the point of attack was most often good!
                                Last edited by Karl; March 14, 2008, 04:32 PM.