H. View vs DC...Unnu bias eeh!

• H. View vs DC...Unnu bias eeh!

Rasta know, I can't believe the level of bias I'm seeing as many of you attempt to analyze the game last night. This is either coming from many of you trying to justify your previous arguments regarding Hue etc. or it is coming from a straight inferior complex that many Jamaicans have that give credit to nothing home grown, unless it go foreign to be refined or we hear big ups from people beyond our shores. People bottom line, Harbour view was the better team last night, even the commentators said it and the HV players were also better individually. The players showed confidence and flair on the ball only for you guys to be dismissing it as gallery ball...however, if Brazillian players did the same things, everyone would be raving about their skills. Jerry was clearly the best on show for both teams and I really liked what I saw from Edwards. Furthermore, the fact that Zeppo, TK and HL no show up yet with their usual negatives is clear testament of how good H/V was. With all things considered, nobody should be making any excuses about pre-season or field condition, because everyone involved knew in advance about the game and its importance and they are professionals with huge salaries. In addition, people running their mouths about Hue's fitness should just shut it because I'm willing to bet that they know not the player's condition as they're just running with past sentiments echoed by others.

Well said. Some guy fi tek dem argument to Madden cause dem reasoning dead. What is being missed or conspicuously not mentioned is that this so-called no good harbourview team is FIFTH in the inferior Jamaican league yet they outplayed a top team from a superior(so we are told) league and in truth should have won easily.

Seems like unu too sensitive.

If Brazilian players did what samethings? Hue showed moments of skill and individual brilliance. I don't think anybody has said otherwise. Was it not clear
      that:

Edwards passing was bad although his defense was excellent
      Wolfe had one or two skillfull plays and did circus things on a couple occasions.
      Fowly Stewart could not keep up with the pace
      Thomas showed good energy, but poor technique and decision making
      Scarlett had a play in defense where he almost gave a break away on goal because he held the ball too long
      Waugh almost gave away a goal by passing straight unto an attackers foot.
      Hue had a few plays of watching ball game
      KK didn't look up to the speed.

Did DC United look good? Not really. Did the H. View players do a good job of closing down? yes Did DCU players seem to make decisions quickly and better with simple things? yes

If I was a scout would I be impressed by players that I saw? Maybe the one or two who have already had professional contracts, otherwise no.

Since it is these simple things that we are not doing, I am confident that we can beat this side just by playing smarter. With the confidence they have gained from the draw hopefully they improve in the away leg and cut out the mental lapses.

Originally posted by Me View Post
        Seems like unu too sensitive.

If Brazilian players did what samethings? Hue showed moments of skill and individual brilliance. I don't think anybody has said otherwise. Was it not clear
        that:

Edwards passing was bad although his defense was excellent
        Wolfe had one or two skillfull plays and did circus things on a couple occasions.
        Fowly Stewart could not keep up with the pace
        Thomas showed good energy, but poor technique and decision making
        Scarlett had a play in defense where he almost gave a break away on goal because he held the ball too long
        Waugh almost gave away a goal by passing straight unto an attackers foot.
        Hue had a few plays of watching ball game
        KK didn't look up to the speed.

Did DC United look good? Not really. Did the H. View players do a good job of closing down? yes Did DCU players seem to make decisions quickly and better with simple things? yes

If I was a scout would I be impressed by players that I saw? Maybe the one or two who have already had professional contracts, otherwise no.

Since it is these simple things that we are not doing, I am confident that we can beat this side just by playing smarter. With the confidence they have gained from the draw hopefully they improve in the away leg and cut out the mental lapses.
        I am not one to belittle our faults. Last night after the game, I again cussed Maestro about his shots, and asked him if he had received an elbow to his head why he gave up that last kick to Scarlett who totally muffed it. I do this to any and all the players with whom I am familiar. But I think what is happening on the site is a bit of nit-picking. You pointed out quite a few problems you had with the match. Do you think we could develop a similar list for our last game against Costa Rica? Yes, some are chronic problems, like Fowly's inability to keep pace, while some are simple mistakes that happen from time to time with everybody.

Why is it that the posts that are largely positive have to struggle so much with the negative ones? If we had lost it would not have been a fair result. How much better overall do we have to play for us to hear some more positives about HVFC? Well, let me tell y'all, they are not going to give you much more, so if DC has more in the bag, then wi salt, but I believe HV has shown several teams, not just those in the CFU, but several around CONCACAF, that Jamaica's football is not all rubbish.

Last night's game also proved to me that there are many individuals in the CPPL that could play in the MLS. I really didn't need that proof, but unlike you who believes that scouts would not be impressed, I beg to differ.

I am not one to belittle our faults. Last night after the game, I again cussed Maestro about his shots, and asked him if he had received an elbow to his head why he gave up that last kick to Scarlett who totally muffed it. I do this to any and all the players with whom I am familiar. But I think what is happening on the site is a bit of nit-picking. You pointed out quite a few problems you had with the match. Do you think we could develop a similar list for our last game against Costa Rica? Yes, some are chronic problems, like Fowly's inability to keep pace, while some are simple mistakes that happen from time to time with everybody.

Why is it that the posts that are largely positive have to struggle so much with the negative ones? If we had lost it would not have been a fair result. How much better overall do we have to play for us to hear some more positives about HVFC? Well, let me tell y'all, they are not going to give you much more, so if DC has more in the bag, then wi salt, but I believe HV has shown several teams, not just those in the CFU, but several around CONCACAF, that Jamaica's football is not all rubbish.

Last night's game also proved to me that there are many individuals in the CPPL that could play in the MLS. I really didn't need that proof, but unlike you who believes that scouts would not be impressed, I beg to differ.
          There are many many many Jamaicans that could play in the MLS. I think everyone knows that Scarlett, Hue and a couple others could compete in the MLS. The difference between the leagues is not so much the star players, but the average role players. The technique and tactical awareness of those players is way ahead of our role players.

As far as H. View showing our football is not rubbish, I think they did that to some extent. They showed that we have some players who are talented and some players that are not so talented.

I believe H. View can play better. They showed it on a few plays and I think if they make those plays of quick interchange more frequent they can beat this United side. I am expecting a huge game from Hue.

Yet with the foot speed they showed and the individual technical ability put on display - H/V should, if they had played up to the TEAM level that that foot speed and technical ability showed, have played DC out of 'compound'!

So what do you do with, if you were a teacher and had the class of good potential in front of you?

Challenge them to use that which they have! ...you do not tell them they are brilliant...you tell that with that which they have they must work to be brilliant because they can be brilliant!

As I said, in my mind H/V played on a ranking scale of 1-10...played a 4! ...and I am addressing H/V...to hell with DC...H/V has much more to show but will they use what they have and put on show in DC what they really can do?

What's with the being satisfied with mediocrity and lauding under-achievers to high heaven? Is the aim to get them to tun puppa-lick and remain at this lousy level...or to get them to fulfill potential...potential that is there for all to see...and move towards TOP OF THE WORLD?
            Last edited by Karl; March 13, 2008, 08:52 PM.

Karl, please clarify for me. Is "foot speed" and "speed across ground" one and the same? You come up with these terms on the fly all the time that I have to make sure I am still with you in what you are saying.

Thanks in advance.
              Tilla
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Okay, Karl. You are the only one who wants to see improvement. The rest of us are telling the HVFC players that they are the best in the world and should be at the Bernabeu.

Thanks for keeping it real while the rest of us wallow in mediocrity.

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                  The players showed confidence and flair on the ball only for you guys to be dismissing it as gallery ball
                  Listen man. It's all good to shift up man in the middle of the field however the aim is to score goals and whenever we got the ball near their goal we did absolute foolishness. Mi see a man mek a bloobaat round di world and beat two man den try a behind di back pass and gi whe di ball. Dat kinda foolishness is what everyone was talking bout. Gallery ball is great but if you give whe di ball afta what was the point?

What if the behind the back pass worked? The only way to find out is to try it...right!?

Karl, please clarify for me. Is "foot speed" and "speed across ground" one and the same? You come up with these terms on the fly all the time that I have to make sure I am still with you in what you are saying.

Thanks in advance.
                      Tilla
                      One and the same!

Everyone here owe Mosiah apologies and big ups because a long time him a tell unnu seh the yard side them can compete with MLS teams and may be better than some, but nuff a unnu always ridicule the idea. See it deh now! nuff a unnu all a seh HVFC can actually win beat DC. Anyway, that's a victory in itself just to get people here to admit seh a local side made up of local players can beat foreign side...from the USA!

Okay, Karl. You are the only one who wants to see improvement. The rest of us are telling the HVFC players that they are the best in the world and should be at the Bernabeu.

Thanks for keeping it real while the rest of us wallow in mediocrity.
                          Sorry, Mosiah!
                          H/V played a great game! They were TOP OF THE WORLD! I missed the part where they buzszed the ball around DC and scored an excellent goal!

Sorry! I am blind! Tremendous H/V game! No TEAM could have performed better!

Wonderful! Fantastic! Out of this World! Great! Superb!
                          Now they shall go on and win the World culb Championships! What a wonderful game! The best club game ever played!

Karl mi respect the I but right now yuh talking crap still. HVFC's performance last night was far from being mediocre, and a rating of only 4? yuh kidding or yuh scale bruck dung and cyaan go much higher? I don't seh dem fi get a ten but a six would be fair. Furthermore, when since was it a bad thing to show skills and flair in a football game? What's the sense in only shifting man outa dem clothes only in training if yuh naa plan fi use it in a match? Football is also entertainment bredrin and that's why I am so mad when players getting on Ronaldo of ManU saying he has no class fi wrong dem outa dem clothes and embarass the hell outa dem. Some of them even want fi hurt the youth. Talent must be used, not saved...because it won't grow any interest.

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                              Everyone here owe Mosiah apologies and big ups because a long time him a tell unnu seh the yard side them can compete with MLS teams and may be better than some, but nuff a unnu always ridicule the idea. See it deh now! nuff a unnu all a seh HVFC can actually win beat DC. Anyway, that's a victory in itself just to get people here to admit seh a local side made up of local players can beat foreign side...from the USA!
                              You really a get too excited. You want people to apologize because they almost beat a side that is in preseason.
                              It is a fact that the MLS is superior to the CPPL. Will some sides be able to beat an MLS team when they play well? probably
                              Will the typical NPL team be able to compete well in CPPL? No

There is no conspiracy against local players. I am sure most people on the forum realize the quality of many of the H. View players who have earned quite a few Jamaica caps. You do realize tha Miller, Taylor, Waugh, Palmer, Bryan, Hue, Scarlett, Stewart, Harvey all have International caps.