• St Elizabeth FA president passes away

Sunday, March 09, 2008

St Elizabeth FA president passes away

Brown

THE LOCAL football fraternity is once again in mourning following the death of football administrator Courtney Brown yesterday morning.

Thirty-nine-year-old Brown, the president of the St Elizabeth Football Association, collapsed and died from what was believed to be a massive heart attack in Santa Cruz, St Elizabeth.

According to former FIFA referee Victor Stewart, Brown, himself a former referee, was addressing the annual general meeting of the St Elizabeth referees group when he fell to the ground, grabbed his chest and started breathing heavily.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...263&category=1

RIP Courtney. Walk good.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

40 is way too young to die, and Jamaica may have similar rates of heart disease & diabetes that you see in blacks in southern US.

Even more troubling.

Blessed

I don't know the rate of obesity for black men in America, but for black women, 80% are overweight and 50% are obese and it is a silent killer.
          Last edited by Hortical; March 10, 2008, 08:32 AM.

Southern US? Not limited to region.

We all need to do what we can to prevent this. How many Forummites know their cholesterol levels? And do not be misled by the fact that you are not overweight and you jog 10 miles every week. Cholesterol is not impressed!

Sorry hear to hear about Courtney, another one at that. He has guided the early careers of many high school footballers in the parish, getting them into clubs and national teams. I understand that his early disdain for the JFF academy in his backyard was replaced by a wish that they would indeed keep it in the parish.

May he rest in peace.

Southern US? Not limited to region.
              Actually, rates of obesity is much higher among blacks in places such as Alabama, Mississippi & Louisiana than in Connecticut & NY & NJ etc. This is a fact!

The important fact is they are all cause for concern! No use showing off on "them" when "we" are really just in first class instead of steerage on the Titanic.

You are missing the point! To bring up class issues here is plain silly!

R.I.P. Courtney Brown, walk good.

It's imperative that man and man get regular check ups at the Doc. Also, as we grow older we must understand that our system changes to the point where we no longer metabolize food intake as we did in younger years. We therefore have to change and watch our intake of foods, especially those laden with trans fat. The proliferation of fast-food restaurants only serve to compound our health risks.
                    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Hahahahahahahahaha!

Class issues!!!

Dis is good! Talking about missing the point. You have completely missed, not just the point but the analogy!

All I am saying (and try and understand this one, please, mi a beg yuh!) is, we are in the same boat. We are not that better off than our Southern brothers. The first class cabin people were going to drown just like those in steerage, were it not for the discrimination in assigning life boat places.

And come to think of it, it does have to do with class! It is class that allows some of us blacks to be able to afford better health care, better nutrition, access to health clubs, etc., so, on second thought, and after a hearty (no pun intended) laugh, it has everything do with class! The lifeboat (class) rescued some from certain death. Great metaphor, I think!

And come to think of it, it does have to do with class! It is class that allows some of us blacks to be able to afford better health care, better nutrition, access to health clubs, etc., so, on second thought, and after a hearty
                        There are obvious issues of class, and there is no debate on that, and looks like you will never get it.

To include laughter into a painful situation for someone who recently died is poor.