• How to make use of the white elephant

1) Make the great house a legal ganja smoke house
    or
    2) Make the enite project a boarding school

(Do not do both 1 and 2 !!!!!!!!!)

$248M WASTE
    Chinese unhappy that Sligoville sports complex lying idleBY INGRID BROWN Sunday Observer staff reporter browni@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, March 09, 2008

Nine months after the Chinese Government handed over a multi-purpose sports complex in Sligoville, St Catherine to the St Catherine East-Central constituency of former minister of foreign affairs and foreign trade, K D Knight, the company that built the facility has drawn the conclusion that Beijing has squandered the $248-million (US$3-million) it poured into the project.
    "We don't see anybody using it, and so we feel like it has been a waste of money," said Ming He of the Shanxi Construction Engineering (Group) Corp.
    The multi-purpose sports complex in Sligoville, St Catherine.
    Ming He said the centre has been completed since June last year and the company has been paying for his team to stay in Jamaica for the one-year warranty on the project.
    However, to date he has seen only a handful of Jamaicans use the complex instead of the large numbers projected.
    He lamented the fact that his time to leave Jamaica could come to an end without him seeing the facility being fully utilised.
    The massive structure, way up in the hilly terrain of Sligoville, consists of a 600-seat basketball and netball court with lighting facilities and fences. It also has a 1,200-seat cricket oval, a 1,500-seat football field and a six-lane 400-metre track circling the football field. A police station and a post office were also built as part of that project.
    When the Sunday Observer visited the deserted complex last week, the football and cricket pitches were badly in need of landscaping. Rain water had also collected in small puddles on some of the seats in the stands.
    Ming He said he was not sure who was to maintain the grounds, as that was not part of his responsibility.
    "Someone used to cut it (grass) but they said they not getting paid and so I don't see anyone come back," he said.
    In early 2003, Knight, in his capacity as a Government minister, had approached the Chinese Government with the idea of building the sports complex using a Chinese grant.
    Three years ago, the Opposition Leader Bruce Golding brought a motion to Parliament to have the project transferred from the Estimates of Expenditure of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade to the Office of the Prime Minister, which had responsibility for sports.
    He questioned then whether the project had anything to do with the constituency.
    "If you could, tell us what business does the Ministry of Foreign Affairs have with sports facilities," said Golding. "All multi-national lateral corporations come through the Ministry of Finance, but they do not end up in their head of estimates. But if that is so, that is a corruption of the budget process."
    On Friday, Knight admitted to the Sunday Observer that the complex has not been used as was intended, but said this was expected to change now that a new board has been appointed to take over its maintenance, security and use.
    "It would have been wonderful if we had been able to utilise it totally before, but that was not possible," he said. "Now we will have some great plans for it."
    Asked to respond to the suggestion that the facility had become a white elephant, Knight said, "I have already dealt with that. You can't move it. It is there, and that milk is spilt if you think so."
    He said that although the complex was not used as it should, it was not costing taxpayers any money. "We will not allow it to be in need of any money from the budget and we don't want any budget money to run it, maintain it, and use it to the fullest capacity," he said.
    Some residents of Sligoville believe the money used to build such a massive complex could have been better spent to help them.
    "If Mr Knight wanted his name on a landmark, then it is better if he had built it in Bog Walk or so where neighbouring communities would have been able to come and use it at a cost when they want to," said one resident who gave his name only as 'Jack'.
    "Right now, it better him did use it to open up a skills training area or so if him really wanted to build something in this area. But we have this massive stadium and nothing nah gwaan fi the area," said 'Robert', another resident.
    At the ground-breaking ceremony for the facility in March 2006, Knight told guests that a number of benefits would follow, once the complex was established.
    "There will be the improvement of the water supply system in Sligoville and its environs, because we have earmarked $21 million to help in that improvement," he said, adding that $78,000 would be spent for supplying water to the complex.
    The new water system would involve the erection of a water storage tank, and a piping system for irrigation around the football field and cricket oval.
    Knight also spoke of plans for the renovation of the Sligoville Great House, the construction of a retirement village and the development of sports and eco-tourism in Sligoville.
    On Friday, Ming He told the Sunday Observer that he was not sure what was happening with the Great House renovation project.
    The renovation of a great house on lands adjoining the complex, which was negotiated as a second project to be completed by the Chinese has also stalled.
    Ming He explained that a group of Chinese architects came in January to look at the structure. However, they left after being unable to get the technical plans for what was required.
    "They had plans for a one storey building but the Jamaican Government said it must be done as a Georgian style building, but they have not provided the Chinese with the technical information so they left," he said.
    The fate of the four pump stations, which were to be renovated as part of the Great House project, is also not known.

Termites in dem brain.

Jawge, Karl and Mosiah et al smoking some of di highest because clearly dem seeing some drug induced PNP hallucination far from the ugly reality.

I wonder how these peopld decide to build these stadium in these places?

A parish like St.Catherine that have so many commercial centers and high population and them choose a remote location?

So now not only the Trelawny Stadium but this one too? Do these people even know about research rather than gut feelings and politics?

1000 years from now an Archaeologist will discover the site try to figure out why it was built and why is was never used

$248m Waste

$248M WASTE

Chinese unhappy that Sligoville sports complex lying idleBY INGRID BROWN Sunday Observer staff reporter
          browni@jamaicaobserver.com
          Sunday, March 09, 2008

Nine months after the Chinese Government handed over a multi-purpose sports complex in Sligoville, St Catherine to the St Catherine East-Central constituency of former minister of foreign affairs and foreign trade, K D Knight, the company that built the facility has drawn the conclusion that Beijing has squandered the $248-million (US$3-million) it poured into the project.

"We don't see anybody using it, and so we feel like it has been a waste of money," said Ming He of the Shanxi Construction Engineering (Group) Corp.

The multi-purpose sports complex in Sligoville, St Catherine.

Ming He said the centre has been completed since June last year and the company has been paying for his team to stay in Jamaica for the one-year warranty on the project.

However, to date he has seen only a handful of Jamaicans use the complex instead of the large numbers projected.

He lamented the fact that his time to leave Jamaica could come to an end without him seeing the facility being fully utilised.

The massive structure, way up in the hilly terrain of Sligoville, consists of a 600-seat basketball and netball court with lighting facilities and fences. It also has a 1,200-seat cricket oval, a 1,500-seat football field and a six-lane 400-metre track circling the football field. A police station and a post office were also built as part of that project.

When the Sunday Observer visited the deserted complex last week, the football and cricket pitches were badly in need of landscaping. Rain water had also collected in small puddles on some of the seats in the stands.

Ming He said he was not sure who was to maintain the grounds, as that was not part of his responsibility.

"Someone used to cut it (grass) but they said they not getting paid and so I don't see anyone come back," he said.

In early 2003, Knight, in his capacity as a Government minister, had approached the Chinese Government with the idea of building the sports complex using a Chinese grant.

Three years ago, the Opposition Leader Bruce Golding brought a motion to Parliament to have the project transferred from the Estimates of Expenditure of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade to the Office of the Prime Minister, which had responsibility for sports.

He questioned then whether the project had anything to do with the constituency.

"If you could, tell us what business does the Ministry of Foreign Affairs have with sports facilities," said Golding. "All multi-national lateral corporations come through the Ministry of Finance, but they do not end up in their head of estimates. But if that is so, that is a corruption of the budget process."

On Friday, Knight admitted to the Sunday Observer that the complex has not been used as was intended, but said this was expected to change now that a new board has been appointed to take over its maintenance, security and use.

"It would have been wonderful if we had been able to utilise it totally before, but that was not possible," he said. "Now we will have some great plans for it."

Asked to respond to the suggestion that the facility had become a white elephant, Knight said, "I have already dealt with that. You can't move it. It is there, and that milk is spilt if you think so."

He said that although the complex was not used as it should, it was not costing taxpayers any money. "We will not allow it to be in need of any money from the budget and we don't want any budget money to run it, maintain it, and use it to the fullest capacity," he said.

Some residents of Sligoville believe the money used to build such a massive complex could have been better spent to help them.

"If Mr Knight wanted his name on a landmark, then it is better if he had built it in Bog Walk or so where neighbouring communities would have been able to come and use it at a cost when they want to," said one resident who gave his name only as 'Jack'.

"Right now, it better him did use it to open up a skills training area or so if him really wanted to build something in this area. But we have this massive stadium and nothing nah gwaan fi the area," said 'Robert', another resident.

At the ground-breaking ceremony for the facility in March 2006, Knight told guests that a number of benefits would follow, once the complex was established.

"There will be the improvement of the water supply system in Sligoville and its environs, because we have earmarked $21 million to help in that improvement," he said, adding that $78,000 would be spent for supplying water to the complex.

The new water system would involve the erection of a water storage tank, and a piping system for irrigation around the football field and cricket oval.

Knight also spoke of plans for the renovation of the Sligoville Great House, the construction of a retirement village and the development of sports and eco-tourism in Sligoville.

On Friday, Ming He told the Sunday Observer that he was not sure what was happening with the Great House renovation project.

The renovation of a great house on lands adjoining the complex, which was negotiated as a second project to be completed by the Chinese has also stalled.

Ming He explained that a group of Chinese architects came in January to look at the structure. However, they left after being unable to get the technical plans for what was required.

"They had plans for a one storey building but the Jamaican Government said it must be done as a Georgian style building, but they have not provided the Chinese with the technical information so they left," he said.
          The fate of the four pump stations, which were to be renovated as part of the Great House project, is also not known.

surprising, we need many of these facilities but was that the right location. In any event they need to make use of it.

The Trelawny stadium is a good idea. The issue is utilizing it.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                surprising, we need many of these facilities but was that the right location. In any event they need to make use of it.
                Yuh dun kno why I put it up for discussion? Rite?

...where is the JFF in all this...on the encouraging use and using as training facility for NPL clubs and coaches? ....administrators and refs!

It is a good idea but not where it is. A stadium should be built where people have access to it.

If them did build it outside Falmouth I could understand but you can't build in nowhere. If you notice that the Nets basketball team and the Devils hockey teams are moving from Giants stadium for the sole reason that there is no public transportation system to take you there and they are losing out on many fans. The Nets is relocating to Brooklyn, The Devils to Jersey City and the Jets tried Manhattan but it wasn't approved.

They should have taken that in consideration and build it closer to a town center. Ochi and Mobay dying for a proper stadium.

Karl in a parish like St.Catherine that is very populated, why put a stadium in the remote area?

Which NPL team you think a go play deh so? Remember Portmore moved from Clarendon.

I wonder how these peopld decide to build these stadium in these places?

A parish like St.Catherine that have so many commercial centers and high population and them choose a remote location?

So now not only the Trelawny Stadium but this one too? Do these people even know about research rather than gut feelings and politics?
                      What is wrong with the Trelawny Stadium?
                      We need such a facility!

It is a good idea but not where it is. A stadium should be built where people have access to it.

If them did build it outside Falmouth I could understand but you can't build in nowhere. If you notice that the Nets basketball team and the Devils hockey teams are moving from Giants stadium for the sole reason that there is no public transportation system to take you there and they are losing out on many fans. The Nets is relocating to Brooklyn, The Devils to Jersey City and the Jets tried Manhattan but it wasn't approved.

They should have taken that in consideration and build it closer to a town center. Ochi and Mobay dying for a proper stadium.
                        What are you taking about?
                        Where is Giant Stadium?
                        Where do the vast crowds they get there come from?
                        Is it too far from people?
                        How far in minutes do people have to travel to be there?

Karl them build these things in
                          bushes. You shouldn't have to go outa your way fi go a stadium. Stadium must be be build in places where you already have a big population. I bet if that stadium was build in Mobay or Ochi there would have been major useage for it already.

Dont know where closer to falmouth you could have built it. I think the issue of use is administrative more than proximity.

If you don't know the issue with Giant Stadium then I don't know what to say.

A huge section of NY who would go and watch a basketball game or hockey game do not drive. There is no mass transit to Giants stadium. Look even when the Nets wining they can't even full their seats, same with the devils but even when the Knicks is losing and the the rangers stadium ram cause it is just a train ride away for half of the supporter.