• Wenger: We Won't Be Out To Kill Kaka!

02/03/2008 10:25
    Wenger: We Won't Be Out To Kill Kaka!

While commenting extensively on the hotly anticipated return-leg at the San Siro between Arsenal and AC Milan on Tuesday, Arsene Wenger has insisted that his team will not resort to he same type of henchmen tactics that so many Serie A teams have adopted to try to deal with the threat of Kaka - especially after seeing one of his own players literally almost lose his foot as the result of that type of 'take no prisoners' defending.

The Brazilian World Player of the Year has become an obvious target for defenders, man-markers, and hardmen of the game, and there are growing fears that he could pay the ultimate price by way of an early retirement if something isn't done to protect him.

Despite the fact that Kaka could kill Wenger's best laid plans for Champions League glory with a solitary stroke of genius, the French tactician shudders at the thought of resorting to violence to counter his brilliance.

Wenger said: "In Italy, what do the teams do who play against Milan? They take Kaka, get him out of the game.

"We will play zonal and will not mark him man to man. We will be faithful to what we do usually.

"We will try to get him out of the game by cutting the connections with him.

"If you kick the great players out of the game, why should people go to watch football?

"Great players make football a bit special, they make it art. If you are there to kill them, it is not acceptable."

The tie is on a knife's edge as a result of the scoreless stalemate at the Emirates Stadium, but Wenger knows that Milan can be a different kind of monster at home.

"We have to be tight defensively, because they tore Man United apart in the first 20 minutes of the second leg at the San Siro last season," he added.

"It is important for us to start strongly in defence, but also not to hide.

"What is good from the first result is we know every time we get the ball we are incited to go for a goal.

"I do not like to go away from home thinking your team just has to defend. With a 0-0 result, we know that we have to attack as well.

"From the first game, we have the belief we can beat them because we dominated the game - that always has an impact on the second game.

"We will need patience against them, but our pace can be a good asset.

"Milan have shown in Europe that they can deal with all sorts of opposition, they can slow the game down," Wenger reflected.

"What Milan do well is put you to their pace, and when Kaka gets the ball they can have sudden acceleration which can kill you.

"We will have to adapt to that because we like to play always at a high pace."

Derek Wanner, Goal.com

Milan do not scare us - Fabregas

Fabregas says Kaka has proved himself the best player in the world

AC Milan v Arsenal (1st leg 0-0)
    Venue: San Siro
    Date: Tues 4 Mar
    Round: Last 16
    Kick-off: 1945 GMT
    BBC coverage: BBC Radio 5 Live
    TV coverage: Live on ITV4

Cesc Fabregas insists Arsenal will show no fear when they face Champions League holders AC Milan in the San Siro on Tuesday for a place in the last eight.

The Gunners drew the first leg 0-0 at the Emirates two weeks ago and Fabregas insists they will stay true to their vibrant attacking style in Italy.

"We are young, but we are not scared and we will play our game," he said.

"You have always seen if we are winning or losing, we will never go to defend. We will always want to attack."

News conference: Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger

Milan have never lost to English opposition in the San Siro and, with Fifa world player of the year Kaka in their ranks, Arsenal face a daunting task.

But, despite a recent dip in form, Fabregas says the Premier League leaders can spring a shock if they rediscover the enjoyment in their play.

"You take the risk that sometimes you will draw or lose, of course, but we enjoy it - and any football fans should be proud there are teams like Arsenal who want to play football always, not to defend," he said.

"We are playing against Milan, a big team with a lot of medals in their pockets.

"It will be interesting to see how we respond to that.

"We will play at the San Siro for the first time, and think we can do well if we play per cent and maybe we can cause a surprise."

Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor failed to convert a close-range header at the Emirates Stadium in stoppage-time of the first leg, leaving the game goalless.

But manager Wenger insists his team has a chance to can recover from that missed chance and progress.

"Ideally, of course, we should have scored the goal against Milan in the first leg, but I feel we delivered the game we wanted to deliver and there is no limit for us," he said.

"When I spoke to Marcel Desailly after the game, he said, in their dressing room, they were absolutely amazed by our quality.

"But they think we should have taken advantage of our superiority, That can happen.

"We are conscious they will raise their level for the game, because that is the quality of this Milan team. "If you ask me, can we overcome this hurdle? Then I say yes. Let's go into the game with that mindset."

AC Milan v Arsenal (agg 0-0)

Venue: San Siro
      Date: Tues 4 Mar
      Round: Last 16
      Kick-off: 1945 GMT
      BBC coverage: BBC Radio 5 Live TV coverage: Live on ITV4

Arsenal are boosted by the return of striker Robin van Persie as they travel to Milan for the second leg of their goalless Champions League tie.

But central defender Kolo Toure has not recovered in time from his calf injury so Philippe Senderos and William Gallas should again start at the back.

Influential midfielder Clarence Seedorf is a major doubt for AC Milan.

Midfielder Emerson is also set to miss out, although manager Carlo Ancelotti expects Brazilian Kaka to be available.

News conference: Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger

Arsenal (from): Lehmann, Diaby, Sagna, Fabregas, Senderos, Gallas, Van Persie, Hleb, Denilson, Flamini, Gilberto, Clichy, Almunia, Adebayor, Bendtner, Eboue, Hoyte, Walcott.

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger:
      "Robin is not in contention to start. He has not played properly for five months. "But he can come in and play a part in the game. Robin can produce, even on set-pieces if needed, or the pace drops in the game.

"I don't think now there is any risk, but maybe to start at a high pace and go above your limits, it could be a risk. Basically his problem at the start it was a thigh problem and a recurrence of it.

"Maybe we were a bit too optimistic with it and we pushed him back too early, because, at the start, you think 'okay, it's a three week job'."

BIG MATCH STATS

Head-to-heads Prior to the 0-0 draw in the first leg of this fixture, the only European encounters between Arsenal and AC Milan came in the two legs of the Uefa Super Cup 13 years ago.

They drew 0-0 at Highbury on 1 February 1995 and Milan won the return leg 2-0 at the San Siro a week later.

European history AC Milan have won the Champions Cup four times and the Champions League three times. They are currently the defending champions, and have successfully negotiated this stage of the competition in all four seasons since it was introduced in 2003.

Arsenal's best European performances are their Fairs Cup win in 1970 and Cup Winners' Cup win in 1994. Their best performance in the Champions League was finishing as runners-up to Barcelona in 2006. The Gunners have lost at this knockout stage on two of their four appearances; Bayern Munich eliminated them in 2004-05 and PSV did the same last season.

Current European form AC Milan have won their last four home matches in the Champions League, and are unbeaten in six at home.

Both these clubs won four, drew one and lost one of their group phase matches, but while the Gunners finishing second in Group H behind Sevilla, AC Milan won Group D.

Player and disciplinary info Emmanuel Adebayor and Denilson (Arsenal) and Gennaro Gattuso (AC Milan) will be suspended for a quarter-final match on receiving another yellow card, which ever team qualifies.

Kaka and Gattuso have played every minute in the Champions League so far. Andrea Pirlo, Clarence Seedorf and Daniele Bonera are the other Milan players to have appeared in every CL match this season.

Other miscellaneous facts AC Milan drew 1-1 with Lazio on Saturday, and are unbeaten in nine Serie A matches, winning five of them. They have only conceded three goals in the nine games, and are fifth in the table.

An injury time equaliser from Nicklas Bendtner gave Arsenal a 1-1 home draw with Aston Villa on Saturday, and kept the Londoners one point ahead of Manchester United at the summit of the Premier League.

Definitions of terms used:- Champions League (CL) - only group phase matches and beyond of this competition which began in 1992-93.

Champions Cup/Champions League - all matches played since it began in 1955-56 including qualification matches.

European matches - all matches played in the major European tournaments (Fairs Cup, Uefa Cup, Cup Winners' Cup, Champions Cup, Champions League).

Uefa Super Cups, Intertoto Cups and the old Intercontinental Cup competition are excluded.

We will play zonal and will not mark him man to man. We will be faithful to what we do usually.

When benitez says this its a problem why ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"If you kick the great players out of the game, why should people go to watch football?"

Now tell mi a wha duh Wenger!

Wenger is absolutely correct when he said Milan murdah wi in the second leg.
          I am convinced Milan wanted only to survive the first game(save face), using that opportunity to study and later disect ManU. The second leg will be miraculously a totally different team(even with the same players) Arsenal will be facing, and Wenger has to be prepared.
          I actually want Arsenal to win. Yeah I fear Milan more(b4 yuh start Lazie, this is the CL). Though pay back is in order and we are good enough.

Blessed

"If you kick the great players out of the game, why should people go to watch football?"

Now tell mi a wha duh Wenger!

Wenger is absolutely correct when he said Milan murdah wi in the second leg.
            I am convinced Milan wanted only to survive the first game(save face), using that opportunity to study and later disect ManU. The second leg will be miraculously a totally different team(even with the same players) Arsenal will be facing, and Wenger has to be prepared.
            I actually want Arsenal to win. Yeah I fear Milan more(b4 yuh start Lazie, this is the CL). Though pay back is in order and we are good enough.

Blessed
            You'll see a different Arsenal. Surprisingly the Young GUNNERS are more at home in this superior technical quality league than they are when meeting the Villas and such in the EPL.

You may have noticed that the Young GUNNERS (forget that Cup match when the entire 1st set of players were not all on the pitch from the beginning of...or at any time in...the match) produce their best displays against Chelsea, Liverpool and BoyU...the best technically in the EPL!

Harder running! Greater interplay (more TEAM)! Greater assurance in actions! Greater toughness! Greater committment! Sweeter play (no doubt drawn out by the quality of the opposition)!

I do not share your optimism, but then there is always luck!
              Karl, just pray for Arsenal.

Blessed

I do not share your optimism, but then there is always luck!
                Karl, just pray for Arsenal.

Blessed
                We'll be watching!

Cool mi bredrin! )

Blessed