Might not be for this Forum

• Might not be for this Forum

but since the Chris Martin fiasco is posted here, might as well.....Westman I am sure you are familiar with Count Hector from Falmouth who sing at every free concert in Water Square from bout 1940.

Now forumites this man cannot sing and dont care to even understand the words of the songs but does that stop him from demanding the mike at every function???

But even in church you have people who can cary a tune but for whatever reason make no effort to learn the words of the songs and end up at times humming or saying foolishness-

Here are but two of his more famous renditions....'Worm inna melon, change up you lifestyle"

Translation- One in a million, chance of a life time.- Larry Graham

One other one- The Dog and the girl is mine"

Translation-The Doggan girl is mine- Michale Jacksopn and Paul McCarthney

RE: Might not be for this Forum

"'Worm inna melon, change up you lifestyle"

Talk bout improvising! Wick'd!

I am sure Westman havea few more

Sickko, I think that if they are going to ask omeone to sing the national anthem, they should either ensure hat they know the words, or have some sort of tele-prompter that is displaying the words as you go along. I think that now that the satdium has a big screen TV, this should not be such of a problem. Maybe the young man just got a stage fright and could not deliver beyond the first verse.

Those improvisations sweet me fi true though.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla I am sure any primary school child can sing the anthem without even rolling out of bed and we need to stop the foolishness and making excuses for Chris Martin and his disrespect for the national symbol.

I was embarrassed when Shinehead made a mockery of the anthem before the game against Sweden I think it was or was it one of the South American teams?

Sickko (10/8/2006)Tilla I am sure any primary school child can sing the anthem without even rolling out of bed and we need to stop the foolishness and making excuses for Chris Martin and his disrespect for the national symbol.

I was embarrassed when Shinehead made a mockery of the anthem before the game against Sweden I think it was or was it one of the South American teams?
            siccko: It was never excuses for the young man...he messed up!...it has been about this JFF's management failure.

a) Failure to ensure theperson chosen could, in fact, sing the anthem.

b) ...and, failure to have contingency plan(s) if anything went wrong.

Typical JFF!

Garth, who I know has been the best...our JFF's best PR Officer (Burrell to present) also messed up by suggesting the JFF will never use a live rendition of the anthem again. I'll forgiveGarth the latter error...but, if he was in on the former, then he must alsotake a hit.

Oh Lord Karl get a grip, you sound so childish it is unbelievable, was it under Boxhill's watch that Shinehead- an international star at thetime, messed up at the stadium too??

What is wrong with you Karl.

I guess if one of our clubs lose a NPL match it is Boxhill's fault too, right??

I never said he was the best ever, matter of fact I am on record to say he needs to go but you are getting down right silly now to ascribe every little thing to Boxhill.

Karl (10/8/2006)

a) Failure to ensure theperson chosen could, in fact, sing the anthem.

b) ...and, failure to have contingency plan(s) if anything went wrong.

This is hilarious! Chris has sung the national anthem on numerous oter occasions. Why would you expect something to go wrong?

Contingency plans? Like have him lip-synch? HAHA! Karl, let's move on. Trafigura is much more important than this tempest.

Sickko (10/8/2006)Tilla I am sure any primary school child can sing the anthem without even rolling out of bed and we need to stop the foolishness and making excuses for Chris Martin and his disrespect for the national symbol.

Sickko, any primary school child should be able to sing the national anthem. The young man may not necessarily not know the national anthem beyond the first verse, but may have just been overcome by the occasion.

Fi gi yuh a joke Sickko, I remember my days as a student at CAST (that is what it was called then). I had an exam in applied mechanics, and I sat down and wrote my name on the paper. I was blank for the remaining three hours as although I saw problems I know I was supposed to know how to work, I just could not recall anything. It was a kind of joke as you cannot leave the exam room for the first hour of the exam, so the invigilator recommended I go to the back of the room and stretch and do some deep breathing exercises etc. All of that did not help. Anyway, I returned to normal once I was outside of the exam and could demonstrate to my fellow classmates how to solve each problem. Suffice it to say, I had to do a resit on that exam.

Yes, sometimes the brain can just "lock up" and you cannot do anything about it. . .
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran