• Hleb happier without Henry

Saturday 23 Feb 2008

Arsenal midfielder Aleksandr Hleb is adamant that Arsene Wenger has a better squad since Thierry Henry left the club last summer for Barcelona.
    The France international had been the star name in the Gunners' line-up for eight seasons but Wenger's side have soared to the top of the Premier League table in his absence this term.

ALEX HLEB

"I know why we are so good, the explanation is simple," Hleb told The Sun.
    "Until last summer, we had just played for Thierry Henry. He was running the show. Whenever I got the ball, I was looking up, 'where's Henry?'
    "I did not care to go for goal myself! And if once in a while I dared to pass the ball to someone else, he would shout, 'hey, I was free!'

When he was on form, we won everything. When he was off form, we lost. That has all changed. We are not a one-man band any more.
    "Nobody complains when I risk some dribbling. That's the reason for our good performances - we were set free."
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    When unuh done unuh seh Karl nuh know wha 'im ah talk bout.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Saturday 23 Feb 2008

Arsenal midfielder Aleksandr Hleb is adamant that Arsene Wenger has a better squad since Thierry Henry left the club last summer for Barcelona.
    The France international had been the star name in the Gunners' line-up for eight seasons but Wenger's side have soared to the top of the Premier League table in his absence this term.

ALEX HLEB

"I know why we are so good, the explanation is simple," Hleb told The Sun.
    "Until last summer, we had just played for Thierry Henry. He was running the show. Whenever I got the ball, I was looking up, 'where's Henry?'
    "I did not care to go for goal myself! And if once in a while I dared to pass the ball to someone else, he would shout, 'hey, I was free!'

When he was on form, we won everything. When he was off form, we lost. That has all changed. We are not a one-man band any more.
    "Nobody complains when I risk some dribbling. That's the reason for our good performances - we were set free."
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

I wonder what him gonna say when at the end of the season they have no trophies? TH14 is a winner .. they should all be thankful they were in the presence of greatness.

That is more than saying Henry was anti-TEAM. I have always said that when you have a player as brilliant as Henry, his teammates would play for him, always trying to find him when others might be available. It happened at Harbour View.

haha... just membah when yo se yo si di futre and Ronoldhino is the greatest when him story done wrote (not your exact words)...funny I was searching through the archive and saw your post saying he became to big for his own good..haha

It's a toss up between Ronoldo(even when him foot bruk) and Zidane
          Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
          Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
            haha... just membah when yo se yo si di futre and Ronoldhino is the greatest when him story done wrote (not your exact words)...funny I was searching through the archive and saw your post saying he became to big for his own good..haha

It's a toss up between Ronoldo(even when him foot bruk) and Zidane
            .. and I stand by that statement regarding Ronaldinho. At the top of his game ... he is the greatest. Injury has been his problem this season.

That is more than saying Henry was anti-TEAM. I have always said that when you have a player as brilliant as Henry, his teammates would play for him, always trying to find him when others might be available. It happened at Harbour View.
              You are right he was more than ANTI-TEAM! He was holding back progress!

Berating teammates about always letting him have the ball? Indeed?!

.. and I stand by that statement regarding Ronaldinho. At the top of his game ... he is the greatest. Injury has been his problem this season.

So Henry had not fallen into the same hole?

notice the edit.... Whitmore is the greatest at the "top of his game".. is a good thing the Hudson River didvid Jersey from NY...."comical" (watch Lazie accuse mi of plagiarism )
                  Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                  Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Yuh nuh, a joke ting or wha. Him a gwaan like dem win sittn yet.