Saturday 23 Feb 2008
Arsenal midfielder Aleksandr Hleb is adamant that Arsene Wenger has a better squad since Thierry Henry left the club last summer for Barcelona.
The France international had been the star name in the Gunners' line-up for eight seasons but Wenger's side have soared to the top of the Premier League table in his absence this term.
ALEX HLEB
"I know why we are so good, the explanation is simple," Hleb told The Sun.
"Until last summer, we had just played for Thierry Henry. He was running the show. Whenever I got the ball, I was looking up, 'where's Henry?'
"I did not care to go for goal myself! And if once in a while I dared to pass the ball to someone else, he would shout, 'hey, I was free!'
When he was on form, we won everything. When he was off form, we lost. That has all changed. We are not a one-man band any more.
"Nobody complains when I risk some dribbling. That's the reason for our good performances - we were set free."
--------------------------------------------------------------------
When unuh done unuh seh Karl nuh know wha 'im ah talk bout.
Arsenal midfielder Aleksandr Hleb is adamant that Arsene Wenger has a better squad since Thierry Henry left the club last summer for Barcelona.
The France international had been the star name in the Gunners' line-up for eight seasons but Wenger's side have soared to the top of the Premier League table in his absence this term.
ALEX HLEB
"I know why we are so good, the explanation is simple," Hleb told The Sun.
"Until last summer, we had just played for Thierry Henry. He was running the show. Whenever I got the ball, I was looking up, 'where's Henry?'
"I did not care to go for goal myself! And if once in a while I dared to pass the ball to someone else, he would shout, 'hey, I was free!'
When he was on form, we won everything. When he was off form, we lost. That has all changed. We are not a one-man band any more.
"Nobody complains when I risk some dribbling. That's the reason for our good performances - we were set free."
--------------------------------------------------------------------
When unuh done unuh seh Karl nuh know wha 'im ah talk bout.