• Liverpool 2-0 Inter Milan

Liverpool 2-0 Inter Milan

By Sam Lyon

Gerrard celebrates his potentially crucial second goal at Anfield

Liverpool left it late to take control of their Champions League tie against 10-man Inter Milan and ease the pressure on manager Rafael Benitez.

Marco Materazzi harshly saw red on the half hour for two clumsy challenges on Fernando Torres, but Inter held firm.

Torres forced a superb save from Julio Cesar, while Patrick Vieira was lucky not to concede a penalty for handball.

But Dirk Kuyt eased home nerves with a deflected shot on 85 minutes and Steven Gerrard's firm drive sealed a fine win.
    It was a frantic finale for Liverpool, who had looked like being frustrated by a stoic Inter defensive display that had been led by the awesome Ivan Cordoba.

Instead Benitez, who has been feeling the heat all season from American owners Tom Hicks and George Gillett, was able to put his off-the-field problems and Saturday's FA Cup exit to Barnsley behind him.

And while the Spaniard might not be the mastermind Liverpool crave at domestic level, his record in the Champions League is far more impressive and the Anfield faithful left no-one in any doubt where their loyalties lay with a rousing reception.

Similarly, Benitez's players started with an enthusiasm that suggested they were desperate to do their bit for the boss and Inter were rocked onto the back foot from the off.

Jamie Carragher had an early shout for a penalty denied when his shot struck Cordoba on the arm and Sami Hyypia then forced keeper Julio Cesar to tip over with a firm header.

But, despite the hosts' endeavour, chances were few and far between and the game was pretty balanced when Materazzi was controversially sent off.

Having already been booked for clipping Torres's heels, the Italian received a second yellow card for another clumsy tackle on the Spaniard - but it looked a harsh decision.

If the Anfield faithful were expecting a rousing end to the half, though, they were to be disappointed and when Gerrard got behind the defence late in the half only to see his cross cleared with not one Liverpool player in the box, it highlighted their lack of first-half ambition.

Benitez clearly had the away goal ruling in mind but Inter rarely looked like troubling that as they had their very first shot on goal - wide - on 49 minutes, before they reverted to a more defensive 4-4-1 formation on 55 minutes.

Materazzi reacts with disbelief after he is handed his marching orders

It did not have the desired effect for Inter and Torres had a great chance when he ran through on goal, only for keeper Julio Cesar to brilliantly finger-tip his shot wide.

All of a sudden Liverpool had the required urgency and minutes after Hyypia had headed over from six yards, Vieira was very fortunate to get away with a blatant handball on Gerrard's cross.

Peter Crouch was introduced as Benitez pressed for a winner and the frontman lashed a half-volley wide before forcing a great block from Maxwell.

It looked like turning into another frustrating match at Anfield - where Liverpool have been held or beaten nine times this season - but it turned on its head right at the end.

Kuyt finally broke the deadlock when he collected Jermaine Pennant's cross and lashed into the roof of the net via a deflection.

And as if that was not enough, Gerrard drove forward and drove into the far corner with an excellent shot from 25 yards to send the home masses into frenzy.

It was the first defeat in exactly five months for Inter and Liverpool will now be firm favourites to reach the quarter-finals when they defend a two-goal lead at the San Siro.

Liverpool: Reina, Finnan, Carragher, Hyypia, Aurelio, Gerrard, Mascherano, Lucas (Crouch 64), Babel (Pennant 72), Kuyt, Torres.
    Subs Not Used: Itandje, Riise, Benayoun, Alonso, Arbeloa.

Goals: Kuyt 85, Gerrard 90.
    Inter Milan: Julio Cesar, Maicon, Cordoba (Burdisso 75), Materazzi, Chivu, Zanetti, Stankovic, Cambiasso, Maxwell, Cruz (Vieira 55), Ibrahimovic.
    Subs Not Used: Toldo, Figo, Crespo, Maniche, Suazo.

Sent Off: Materazzi (30).

Booked: Chivu, Materazzi.

Att: 41,999

Ref: Frank De Bleeckere (Belgium). BBC Sport Player Rater man of the match: Liverpool's Javier Mascherano 7.27 (on 90 minutes).

That result was unfortunately blemised by Materazzi's unjust sending off on two yellows that were absolutely garbage. As a Liverpool fan, I can say that this was truly unfortunate as we would have preferred to beat them with all their guns loaded.

Watched it last night.
      Liverpool played well but had a hell of a time finding the back of the net. Say it again Liverpool is no where near as poor as the current EPL record suggests. On her day she can whip any of Arsenal, BoyU and Chelsea.

Aside: Chelsea also is better than her record suggests! In my mind playing at their best Arsenal, BoyU, Chelsea and Liverpool are just about "dead eaks"...excepting in the area of scoring goals where Arsenal and BoyU stand at the head of the pack.

Now who is more stingy at the back?

...and what would Chelsea be like if Drogba decides to end his petulance and return to the goalscoring machine, distributor and defender that he is...i.e. stop playing at less than half-output and turn the trottle back up to the max?

Liverpool played well but had a hell of a time finding the back of the net.
        Story of Liverpool's season. And the funny thing is, now they have a world class striker in Torres!

Karl, unfortunately, what Liverpool DOES NOT have that manure and chelsea have is depth. We have an equal first 11, but our bench strength is not what it needs to be to compete in 4 competitions.

You can clearly see this difference between Manure and Liverpool when our biggest defensive acquisition of all time was Martin Skrtel for £6.5 compared to manure's acquisition of Rio for £30M.

Until the new stadium is built and we have the kind of cashflow that manure and arsenal have, it will be hard to compete in 4 competitions. If I were Rafa, I would go to the owners and get them to agree that the team will focus on THE PREM ONLY in the next few seasons (i.e. - do what Wenger is doing) and virtually ignore the rest of the competitions playing second stringers the whole way - that will give them experience. One could argue that this is what Rafa did in the FA Cup, but by that time, he was out of the Prem already, so I think he made a tactical mistake resting too many of his first stringers in that match.

Anyway, a new stadium and increased cash flow is the only way that we can do it short of a deep set of pockets like they have at Stamford Bridge. Unfortunate, but that is our sad reality. No matter, we are still the standard for all England to try to reach.

Paul, you are aware that the only sin for which there is no forgiveness is blasphemy? How in the name of anything that is good you going to attempt to compare Sketel with Rio?

Mosiah - it is no use having a world class striker when you don't give them the service. We desperately need to fix some major problems:

1. We need a REAL left back with pace and crossing ability
              2. We need a REAL left winger (with pace and crossing ability)
              3. We need another "world class" striker to play with Torres up front (Crouch is good, but he is not the threat that Torres is)
              4. We need deeper GOAL SCORING bench in ALL positions - other than Torres and Gerrard, no one is scoring goals; Kuyt's little blip ain't going to last (I hope I am wrong); Xabi, Babel, Yosi, Pennant, Masch, Lucas - none of them are goal scorers and
              5. We need a better backup goal keeper. If something happened to Pepe, Itandje can't fill the slot adequately.

Just my opinion.

Mosiah - it is no use having a world class striker when you don't give them the service. We desperately need to fix some major problems:

1. We need a REAL left back with pace and crossing ability
                2. We need a REAL left winger (with pace and crossing ability)
                3. We need another "world class" striker to play with Torres up front (Crouch is good, but he is not the threat that Torres is)
                4. We need deeper GOAL SCORING bench in ALL positions - other than Torres and Gerrard, no one is scoring goals; Kuyt's little blip ain't going to last (I hope I am wrong); Xabi, Babel, Yosi, Pennant, Masch, Lucas - none of them are goal scorers and
                5. We need a better backup goal keeper. If something happened to Pepe, Itandje can't fill the slot adequately.

Just my opinion.

That's my point my little friend. I am not comparing them other than the amount of money that one club spent for one versus the other. Do you even know what a "sketel" is? Ask one of your trini bredrin dem. The man's name is Skrtel.

Sometimes I really wonder about Lazie.

That's my point my little friend. I am not comparing them other than the amount of money that one club spent for one versus the other. Do you even know what a "sketel" is? Ask one of your trini bredrin dem. The man's name is Skrtel.
                      You're comparing apples and oranges. Rio had already proven himself as skipper of Leeds, and on top of that the price of english players especially int'l is already high.

Why come compare him to Vidic?

Sometimes I really wonder about Lazie.
                        Obviously yuh have too much time pon yuh hands.

Are you for real?

Lazie - you DUFUS...I am comparing the AMOUNT OF MONEY Liverpool spent VERSUS the amount of MONEY manure spent on each club's record signings...not the players. Bwoy...where you went to school...America?

Paul, he's a lost case. Forget him.