<DIV class=KonaBody>
Fabian Ledgister, Staff Reporter
Martin
The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) is so angered by Christopher Martin's 'destruction' of the national anthem at Sunday's football game at the National Stadium that they have decided never to use a live performer for another rendition.
The winner of last year's Digicel Rising Stars performed the anthem minutes before the Digicel Caribbean Cup match-up between the Jamaica and Haiti national teams. After executing a commendable first verse, Martin began to have severe difficulties in his rendition of the rest of the anthem.
Press officer for the JFF, Garth Williams, says the federation was highly disappointed by Martin and have now decided to return to the standard recording of the national anthem for future matches.
"I was about 10 feet away from Chris when he was making a mockery of the national anthem ... He must have only planned for the first verse which he did fine, but when he finished it he paused, turned around and looked at me, and I motioned him to continue," said Williams.
He said that from there, Chris not only seemed to forget the words of the second verse that most primary students could flawlessly execute, but tried to make up his own words
"It was as if he was speaking another language. It became obvious that he did not know the words to the second verse, and tried to ad lib ... All I heard was gibberish," charged Williams.
SECOND-VERSE DISASTER
Since Sunday, many of the persons who were spectators at the match have been lashing out at the former Rising Stars winner. Several of these persons say the actions of Martin are an insult to the nation.
"How a big star like him can sing over people song an get rich, an nuh memba anthem whe dem teach yuh a primary school? A dis di man dis Jamaica," said the spectator.
All this, however, was strongly refuted by Martin, when The STAR contacted him yesterday while he was touring overseas.
"What happened was the 'miking' system was messing me up ... I got alot of feedback, and there was a delay in hearing myself, and it was confusing me ... Even when I was performing before the anthem, the mic was giving trouble," said Martin.
Martin says that he does in fact know the National Anthem, and has performed it before many football matches, including two stints for the Rivoli Football Club at the Prison Oval in his home town, Spanish Town.
Although he maintains that the incident was no fault of his, the humble and soft spoken Rising Stars winner wanted to apologise to the nation for the mishap.
"I know the anthem by heart, but I still want to apologise to the entire country for what happened. It was not intentional," said Martin.
The JFF in the meantime maintains that they will stick to playing the original recording of the anthem to prevent any other incidents.
"The only way we will consider using anyone else, is if we know them personally. Other than that, it's strictly CDs," said Williams.</DIV>
Fabian Ledgister, Staff Reporter
Martin
The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) is so angered by Christopher Martin's 'destruction' of the national anthem at Sunday's football game at the National Stadium that they have decided never to use a live performer for another rendition.
The winner of last year's Digicel Rising Stars performed the anthem minutes before the Digicel Caribbean Cup match-up between the Jamaica and Haiti national teams. After executing a commendable first verse, Martin began to have severe difficulties in his rendition of the rest of the anthem.
Press officer for the JFF, Garth Williams, says the federation was highly disappointed by Martin and have now decided to return to the standard recording of the national anthem for future matches.
"I was about 10 feet away from Chris when he was making a mockery of the national anthem ... He must have only planned for the first verse which he did fine, but when he finished it he paused, turned around and looked at me, and I motioned him to continue," said Williams.
He said that from there, Chris not only seemed to forget the words of the second verse that most primary students could flawlessly execute, but tried to make up his own words
"It was as if he was speaking another language. It became obvious that he did not know the words to the second verse, and tried to ad lib ... All I heard was gibberish," charged Williams.
SECOND-VERSE DISASTER
Since Sunday, many of the persons who were spectators at the match have been lashing out at the former Rising Stars winner. Several of these persons say the actions of Martin are an insult to the nation.
"How a big star like him can sing over people song an get rich, an nuh memba anthem whe dem teach yuh a primary school? A dis di man dis Jamaica," said the spectator.
All this, however, was strongly refuted by Martin, when The STAR contacted him yesterday while he was touring overseas.
"What happened was the 'miking' system was messing me up ... I got alot of feedback, and there was a delay in hearing myself, and it was confusing me ... Even when I was performing before the anthem, the mic was giving trouble," said Martin.
Martin says that he does in fact know the National Anthem, and has performed it before many football matches, including two stints for the Rivoli Football Club at the Prison Oval in his home town, Spanish Town.
Although he maintains that the incident was no fault of his, the humble and soft spoken Rising Stars winner wanted to apologise to the nation for the mishap.
"I know the anthem by heart, but I still want to apologise to the entire country for what happened. It was not intentional," said Martin.
The JFF in the meantime maintains that they will stick to playing the original recording of the anthem to prevent any other incidents.
"The only way we will consider using anyone else, is if we know them personally. Other than that, it's strictly CDs," said Williams.</DIV>