• Chris Martin dissed Jamaica?

<DIV class=KonaBody>

Fabian Ledgister, Staff Reporter

Martin

The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) is so angered by Christopher Martin's 'destruction' of the national anthem at Sunday's football game at the National Stadium that they have decided never to use a live performer for another rendition.

The winner of last year's Digicel Rising Stars performed the anthem minutes before the Digicel Caribbean Cup match-up between the Jamaica and Haiti national teams. After executing a commendable first verse, Martin began to have severe difficulties in his rendition of the rest of the anthem.

Press officer for the JFF, Garth Williams, says the federation was highly disappointed by Martin and have now decided to return to the standard recording of the national anthem for future matches.

"I was about 10 feet away from Chris when he was making a mockery of the national anthem ... He must have only planned for the first verse which he did fine, but when he finished it he paused, turned around and looked at me, and I motioned him to continue," said Williams.

He said that from there, Chris not only seemed to forget the words of the second verse that most primary students could flawlessly execute, but tried to make up his own words

"It was as if he was speaking another language. It became obvious that he did not know the words to the second verse, and tried to ad lib ... All I heard was gibberish," charged Williams.

SECOND-VERSE DISASTER

Since Sunday, many of the persons who were spectators at the match have been lashing out at the former Rising Stars winner. Several of these persons say the actions of Martin are an insult to the nation.

"How a big star like him can sing over people song an get rich, an nuh memba anthem whe dem teach yuh a primary school? A dis di man dis Jamaica," said the spectator.

All this, however, was strongly refuted by Martin, when The STAR contacted him yesterday while he was touring overseas.

"What happened was the 'miking' system was messing me up ... I got alot of feedback, and there was a delay in hearing myself, and it was confusing me ... Even when I was performing before the anthem, the mic was giving trouble," said Martin.

Martin says that he does in fact know the National Anthem, and has performed it before many football matches, including two stints for the Rivoli Football Club at the Prison Oval in his home town, Spanish Town.

Although he maintains that the incident was no fault of his, the humble and soft spoken Rising Stars winner wanted to apologise to the nation for the mishap.

"I know the anthem by heart, but I still want to apologise to the entire country for what happened. It was not intentional," said Martin.

The JFF in the meantime maintains that they will stick to playing the original recording of the anthem to prevent any other incidents.

"The only way we will consider using anyone else, is if we know them personally. Other than that, it's strictly CDs," said Williams.</DIV>

RE: Chris Martin dissed Jamaica?

CDs? HA!!!! Hope dem nuh repeat the Barbados messup!

This really a tun inna dandy shandy ting now. Di man dem really have strength fi di yute cause he had difficulty wit the anthem?

Wha bout having a rehearsal, so the singer can practice beforehand....

If dem a go back to playing a recording....Boxfoot a go mess up - again

De man drop it ina dancehall style, wha' wrong with dat ?

Tekulife (10/8/2006)De man drop it ina dancehall style, wha' wrong with dat ?
            Obviously the man lost it. Incomprehensible that he did not know the second verse of the anthem and after finishing the first verse he never just walked off? After singing what he knew a simple...clap-clap...and moving away was his only option. He lost it!

Rehearsal for the anthem???? Why??? We have been singing this anthem sing we can talk from Sunday school, primary all the way through and at so many special occasions.

See how unnu miss the boat again.

Chriss mess up..I have seen him performa live on a few ocaisons and it is obviouis he is a trypical Jamaican rip-off-song artiste who dont know the words of songs and make them up as they go along.

This Boxhill crew really nuh have nutten bout them. the yute mess up and them have strength fi go the papers with it and talk bout how them going to go to CD. How about simply finding one of the people in Jamaica who are known for singing the Anthem.

This press officer is really a joke.

How you know it is not the press that went to the JFF press officer, what was the singer's responsibility when he accepted the job to sing the anthem?

How many times have we seen big named people mess up the American Anthem, remember Carl Lewis at the NBA game, or the you g girl who was so nervous Mo Cheesk the 76ers coach had to go help her finish the anthem.

Chris is a professional and he has obligations to ensure he does a good job every time.

Last night I was watching LaCadco and the sound system was messing up, did they stop once? No they continued dancing in synch until the sound system came back up...now that is being profesional, some people would walk off stage and make a big fuss.

But then I suspect attaining and maintain high standards is not your forte.

The first half of the story has his quotes ripping the yute to pieces. Matters whether or not he was appraoched by the reporter.

Nuff yute struggle with that anthem because quite frankly half of the country don;t know the words and the notes are not easy to sing. I am sure there are other people who are good who they could have found to sing the anthem, making their "return to recorded format" statement unnecessary.

Them so bold and confident on the issue of this yute who panic, yet everything else they take 200 years to make a definitive statement.

Sickko (10/8/2006)How you know it is not the press that went to the JFF press officer, what was the singer's responsibility when he accepted the job to sing the anthem?

How many times have we seen big named people mess up the American Anthem, remember Carl Lewis at the NBA game, or the you g girl who was so nervous Mo Cheesk the 76ers coach had to go help her finish the anthem.

Chris is a professional and he has obligations to ensure he does a good job every time.

Last night I was watching LaCadco and the sound system was messing up, did they stop once? No they continued dancing in synch until the sound system came back up...now that is being profesional, some people would walk off stage and make a big fuss.

But then I suspect attaining and maintain high standards is not your forte.
                      Let's face it, siccko - The yute lost it...and, Garth and the JFF has also lost it by claiming and or implying nomore live performers.

If we stop singing both verses of the national anthem at football games we would have less of these problems. In fact, it is considered bad manners to sing two verses of your anthem when only one of the opposition's is being played or sung. There is absolutely nothing wong with playing only the first verse!

And have you ever noticed - the longer the anthem, the poorer the quality of the football?

I stand corrected on this but I think protocol dictates that once the words are being sung, BOTH verses must be sung. If however it is an instrumental version, then just one verse is neccessary.

Saying that however how come we never hear Chris having problems singing three or four verses of some pop song???

Well, stand corrected. Protocol dictates no such thing! What protocol dictates is being gracious to the other country. God Save the Queen, the unofficial national anthem of the United Kingdom, has more than one verse, but I can bet you have never heard even the second one.

Having said that, if you do play two verses of your visitor's anthem, you may play two verses of your own. But clearly, most country's don't mind playing only the first verse. Why we, Jamaicans, insist on the whole she-bang...

Do you know the Star-Spangled Banner has a second verse? Some country has 300 verses in its national anthem! I wouldn't want to stand through that!

The Star-Spangled Banner: verse two

O thus be it ever, when freemen shall stand

Between their loved homes and the war's desolation!

Blest with vict'ry and peace, may the heaven-rescued land

Praise the Power that hath made and preserved us a nation!

Then conquer we must,

When our cause it is just,

And this be our motto, "In God is our trust."

And the Star-Spangled Banner in triumph shall wave

O'er the land of the free and the home of the brave!

(Francis Scott Key, 1779-1843)

Thanks for the lesson! I got something today!

One is always learning!

The last thing one learns during life...is the dying!