laughing stock of England..LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• laughing stock of England..LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last Updated: Saturday, 16 February 2008, 16:56 GMT
    E-mail this to a friend Printable version
    Liverpool 1-2 Barnsley

By Chris Bevan

Barnsley's Brian Howard celebrates his winner against Liverpool

Barnsley sent Liverpool crashing out of the FA Cup thanks to Brian Howard's dramatic injury-time winner at Anfield.

Ryan Babel set up Dirk Kuyt to put the Reds ahead and only some super saves by Luke Steele kept Barnsley in the game.
    The Tykes levelled when Stephen Foster headed home Martin Devaney's cross and, although Liverpool poured forward, they could not beat Steele on his debut.
    Harry Kewell hit the bar for the home side before Howard's low shot into the bottom corner won it for Barnsley.

Interview: Barnsley striker Brian Howard
    Liverpool had already been held by Luton Town of League One in the Cup this season and also had to come from behind twice against non-league Havant & Waterlooville in the previous round.
    But the way Rafa Benitez's men started this game did not suggest they would suffer any sort of shock result against Simon Davey's side, who are in the bottom half of the Championship.
    The home side had all the early possession and Peter Crouch forced an early save out of Steele after Yossi Benayoun had teed him up in the area.
    Steele, only signed on an emergency loan from West Brom on Thursday because Barnsley's other keepers were injured or ineligible, was fast becoming a thorn in Liverpool's side on his debut.
    606: DEBATE
    Are you watching Liverpool?, are you watching Yorkshire?, are you watching England?, are you watching THE WORLD?

nardiello'sonionbag

He made two more stops in quick succession, saving acrobatically from Xabi Alonso and collecting Babel's low shot.
    The former Manchester United goalkeeper was finally beaten on 32 minutes when Babel pulled the ball back for Kuyt, who took a touch before burying his shot into the back of the net.
    But Steele also did brilliantly to keep out a Crouch header on the stroke of half-time and Barnsley capitalised when they equalised out of nowhere after the interval.
    Devaney produced the cross of his life from out wide on the right and Foster rose highest to nod the ball past the flailing figure of Charles Itandje, who could only help it into the net.
    The Barnsley defence was soon back under pressure with Bobby Hassell and Foster clearing a Benayoun shot off the line before Howard's block kept out Crouch's follow-up.
    And Liverpool threw everything at the visitors, forcing Steele into another smart stop from Benayoun before he tipped a Lucas header on to the bar.
    There was drama at the other end too when Itandje somehow escaped without being penalised after colliding with Kayode Odejayi as he chased down a long ball on the edge of the Liverpool penalty area.
    But Liverpool were still looking like the only winners and the visitors were defending desperately when Kewell saw his rasping shot hit the bar late on.
    There was still time for one last Barnsley attack, however, and Howard made it count.
    The Tykes captain felt he should have had a penalty after being caught by Sami Hypia but picked himself up to collect the ball on the edge of the area before firing into the bottom corner to clinch a famous victory.

Liverpool: Itandje, Finnan, Carragher, Hyypia, Riise, Benayoun, Lucas (Gerrard 75), Alonso, Babel (Kewell 69), Kuyt, Crouch.
    Subs Not Used: Martin, Pennant, Arbeloa.

Booked: Alonso, Carragher.
    Goals: Kuyt 32.
    Barnsley: Steele, Hassell, Souza, Foster, Kozluk (Van Homoet 60), Devaney, De Silva, Howard, Leon (Campbell-Ryce 71), Ferenczi, Nardiello (Odejayi 55).
    Subs Not Used: Coulson, Togwell.
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

laffing stock? please, yuttie. biggest underachivers? yes! laffing stock is those who would laff at such a successful club. even if has not one the league in a while, it has always been up in the top half, while winning FA cups and Champions league titles.

laffing stock? warped sense of humour!

tek yo spin elsewhere, Liverpool has become the official laughing stock of the EPL....a team that has bought over 40 players over the past 3 years, 3 fricking years without a stable line up, a team that has disclosed publicly that they launched a bid to recruit a new manager while the current manager was assured of his security, a team that had to scale back on ambitious plans to build a new stadium, a team that admits that they are fighting for 4th, a team that gets butt ****************ed by Barnsly in the FA Cup, a tem that can't afford to purchase an integral player, a team that is strugggling to refinance a debt, a team...yo know what..<kissteeth>
      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Well all mi know is it mek front page on ESPN website suh Yuttie might have a point.

Mosiah inna denial like di breddah whe jump inna di river and se di people dem a wait fi him drown.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

no mention of pool?...hehe..irrelevant...me says yes...last time pool was dominant Aston Villa was a English giant...LOL!!!!!!!!!!

Wayne Rooney says he’ll be delighted if United draw Chelsea in the FA Cup quarter final.

The England international got the scoring underway at Old Trafford on Saturday afternoon as the Reds romped to a 4-0 victory against top-of-the-league Arsenal.

Minnows Barnsley and Bristol City remain in the competition, but Rooney would prefer a tussle with Avram Grant’s Chelsea.

“I hope we get Chelsea,” Rooney told MUTV. “Personally, I’d like to play them at home and try to knock them out. After that we’ll be through to the semi final and I’m sure we can take things from there.”

Rooney has twice been on the losing side in an FA Cup final and is determined to add a winners medal to his collection this season.

“The FA Cup means a lot to me. I’ve been excited by the competition from a very young age and hopefully we can now go all the way.”

United swept Arsenal aside on Saturday afternoon even though the Reds began the match missing experienced players.

“Last season we had to play all the players in every game,” Rooney said. “Today we had Paul Scholes on the bench and Ryan Giggs got a rest all together. That keeps them fresh and could be key come the end of the season.

“We were very disappointed after last week’s performance against Manchester City. Training was difficult this week and we spent a lot of time talking about the tactics and how we were going to approach the game against Arsenal. I think we got it spon on.”

The FA Cup quarter final draw takes place on Monday 18 February at 13:30 GMT.