Navion Boyd of Tivoli FC

• Navion Boyd of Tivoli FC

He was featured recently on this forum and someone asked me about him. At the time, I could only remember a game against Harbour View when he must have been offside about 10 times in the first half, and did little else for the rest of the match. Indeed, some of us in the stands placed platonic bets on him scoring that day. He never came close.

Fast forward to the End of Second Round Final against Waterhouse last Sunday. Boyd, of the Navion variety, came out with a vengeance. Everything he touched had class written all over it. He could do no wrong. His passes were exquisite, of Maestro-like quality, drawing gasps from the large crowd. He demonstrated good ball-handling skills and better vision. The Brasilian delegation must have said, "Sim, we've found our next Walter!"

But alas, after about 20 minutes of The Navion Boyd Show, somebody pulled the plug. He quickly descended into mediocrity and failed to impress both crowd and opposing team. It was a big let down because every league, every match, needs that star player who makes it worth your while to attend. Not sure if Waterhouse had shut him down or if he had done that all by himself.

sigh

He was featured recently on this forum and someone asked me about him. At the time, I could only remember a game against Harbour View when he must have been offside about 10 times in the first half, and did little else for the rest of the match. Indeed, some of us in the stands placed platonic bets on him scoring that day. He never came close.

Fast forward to the End of Second Round Final against Waterhouse last Sunday. Boyd, of the Navion variety, came out with a vengeance. Everything he touched had class written all over it. He could do no wrong. His passes were exquisite, of Maestro-like quality, drawing gasps from the large crowd. He demonstrated good ball-handling skills and better vision. The Brasilian delegation must have said, "Sim, we've found our next Walter!"

But alas, after about 20 minutes of The Navion Boyd Show, somebody pulled the plug. He quickly descended into mediocrity and failed to impress both crowd and opposing team. It was a big let down because every league, every match, needs that star player who makes it worth your while to attend. Not sure if Waterhouse had shut him down or if he had done that all by himself.

sigh
    I meant to tell that you were on my mind for almost all of that Jamaica vs Costa Rica game because if there ever was a case where Jerry Hue should have been in a game it was that one.

We desperatly needed a game changing player for that game and it had Jerry Hue wriiten all over it. It was reminded me so much of the USA/JA game in Ohio when Hue came on and changed the game.

Simoes should have inserted him into that game, I don't care, even using his right leg alone would have made a diffence.
    It should never have gotten to the point where we had to hurry up and equalize.

well mo what we need to do is how to get him to play like that for the next 25 and then the next 45. I see that with talented players all the time. Once he has the tools we just need to motivate him to play at that level.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
        Once he has the tools we just need to motivate him to play at that level.
        Motivate? Select him and you will see motivation. Nuh worry about "playing at that level." That's the least.

Dem fi know bredren. I just hope if we ever find ourselves in that position again, our coaches don't draw for him in order to save the day. He should tell them what they can do with their mothers!

the level I speak of is not national or npl but at a high level as which you describe his first 20.

Oh, scratch what I said. Sorry.

Yes, how do you get him to play a full game like that. Well, in talking to a bredren at work who was at the game, it seems as if Waterhouse started to put on some big licks on him. He spent most of the rest of the game picking himself off the ground. The refs always do a terrible job in penalising those who have to fling their arms in every tackle. Or those who commit small fouls every 5 minutes. Prendy used to count them off and players risked getting a red card for what seemed to be inconsequential events.

That's exactly how teams like Waterhouse, Tivoli and Arnett used to get out people like Maestro, and then yuh hear nonsense how him doan turn up in big matches.

Yes so they play him physical so we have to teach him to compete and to understand that is what they are going to do to him. The question is will he make them win or will he learn to initiate the contact first use his own space and expect the physical stuff. The referee dont protect those palyers and gives the pretrators a false sense because when they play in good settings a tackle like that the ref run them. If you member haggler who nuff man rate and I dont think he would last 90 minutes in a good league because all he did was kick up people .

In an international match, people will never get away with those fouls. Maybe that's why Luton found int'l matches easier.