• Low ranking, big problems for Jamaica's Reggae Boyz

Low ranking, big problems for Jamaica's Reggae Boyz
    published: Tuesday | February 12, 2008

Ainsley Walters, Freelance Reporter
    HOME-GROWN Reggae Boyz in England are playing on thin ice as they will all become ineligible for work permits if Jamaica does not improve its FIFA ranking of 98 before their existing contracts expire.
    The scenario is even more precarious for young players back home, aspiring to ply their trade in England. [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]Jamaica's[/COLOR][/COLOR] lowly ranking has ruled all new players out of consideration by the Home Office, which issues work permits to play in the United Kingdom.
    In addition, no Jamaican-born player can move to another club in the United Kingdom until Jamaica improves to at least 70 in the FIFA table.
    The reality came crashing home recently when goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts, who has played for League Two side [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]Bradford [COLOR=orange ! important]City[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] since July 2004, recently tried to move to Championship side Queen's Park Rangers. The deal fell through after Ricketts was denied a work permit for, apart from not playing in 75 per cent of Jamaica's 'A' games for the past two years, he was also turned back by the Home Office due to Jamaica's ranking.
    Inheritance
    Captain Horace Burrell, president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), on Sunday lamented the rankings, which he inherited from Crenston Boxhill last November, after guiding the Boyz to a high of 27 on the FIFA list following qualification for the 1998 World Cup.
    "In order for foreign footballers to [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]secure[/COLOR][/COLOR] a contract in the United Kingdom, certain criteria must be satisfied. The most important and basic of which is that countries from which players originate should not fall below 70 in the FIFA rankings over a two-year period.
    "Unfortunately, Jamaica has fallen below 70 over the past two years and this has caused all our Jamaican players to become ineligible for a work permit to play football in England," explained Burrell, who was voted out of [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]office[/COLOR][/COLOR] in November 2003.
    Saddened
    "I am deeply saddened by this recent occurrence, which is bound to become a stumbling block in the way of our talented players, who, until recently, were able to play professionally in the United Kingdom, which is considered to have the best leagues in the world," the JFF president added.
    As a result of Jamaica's standings, the likes of Ricketts, Demar Phillipps, Ian Goodison, Ricardo Gardner, Claude Davis, Ricardo Fuller, Damion Stewart, Omar Daley, Luton Shelton and Jermaine Johnson are all in jeopardy of being denied work permits should their contracts end before Jamaica improves its rankings.
    Burrell did not mince his words in blaming the Boxhill administration for the body blow to players, clubs and the national team, which struggled to attract friendly internationals under the previous president due to poor rankings.
    "The blame for this unfortunate situation must be placed squarely at the feet of our administrators who failed to pilot our football development in the correct direction, causing Jamaica to fall below 70 over the two-year span."

No wonder sicko run gone hide.
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Is England the only place with professional leagues?

It nuh matter. Why should we deny these oppurtunities?

Especially when they get paid higher than anywhere else in the world.

We are trying to blame the wrong people here Lazie.

It nuh matter. Why should we deny these oppurtunities?

Especially when they get paid higher than anywhere else in the world.

We are trying to blame the wrong people here Lazie.
          Damn ... where you see me blaming anybody? If the low ranking is preventing players from getting into England simply look elsewhere. Why unuh all act as if England is the only place to play football.

Same way one man gave up the chance to play UEFA Cup to play in a relegation battle and people round here was hoping for him to make that move.

It is not and you acting as if our players don't play anywhere else.

We have players in Canada, USA, Sweden, Africa, Beligum,Trinidad and a few other places but the yes the bulk is in England because they speak English and some even have relatives over there.

Don't just think all our players are in England but why stop the ones who want to go there? Our administrators mash up the thing man.

Is that a question for the players or the JFF, or the player's agents? The fact of the matter Lazie is that thats where our players has had greatest success playing, and for some reason, its where they feel more comfortable earning their living. Would you take up yourself and family to find a job in Russia or would you rather stick to a place where your language is spoken, and the food is familiar? Having said that, quiete a few of our pleayers have looked outside of England. Fuller once played in Scotland, so did Whitmore. Scarlette and Ralph played in russia. We had players playing in germany, players in finland and Israel...Angola, Belgium..Sweden, Norway, France. Even Mexico...and Triniman will tell you...trinidad too. Not to mention USA, Canda. I believe its only a matter of time before we start seeing our boyz in The Australian leagues as well.
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Damn RF .. yuh head nuh that tuff! At one point man used to rub two sticks together to get fire ...this isn't about who played where ...the low ranking is preventing local based players from getting work permits in England ... dem simply need fi look elsewhere.

no worry Lazie can't answer.

The fact is we had a decent English agent who got good deals for some players and clubs from Ja.

Bibi 1mill
                  JJ 1 Mill
                  Shelton 2.5 mill
                  Claude Davis for 4 mill
                  Fuller went for a 1 mill

and that a pound. Where else our players going to get that sort a money fi them service?

no worry Lazie can't answer.

The fact is we had a decent English agent who got good deals for some players and clubs from Ja.

Bibi 1mill
                    JJ 1 Mill
                    Shelton 2.5 mill
                    Claude Davis for 4 mill
                    Fuller went for a 1 mill

and that a pound. Where else our players going to get that sort a money fi them service?
                    Huh? Thats not the player's money. Preston got 4 mil for Claude. His salary and personal term is different. Unless unuh ago point out that I got it wrong all along.

Damn ... where you see me blaming anybody? If the low ranking is preventing players from getting into England simply look elsewhere. Why unuh all act as if England is the only place to play football.

Same way one man gave up the chance to play UEFA Cup to play in a relegation battle and people round here was hoping for him to make that move.
                      Where did anyone say players should not be looking to other markets? Massa deal with the reality of the England market that is what the post is about?

Jus seh - Yes, Boxhill and his administration screwed up...let's move on! Burrell must rapidly get us back above FIFA Ranking #70 and keep our teams (...and thus players active). Players currently seeking contracts must vigorously explore other markets. End of story!

Lazie, name me on player that has turned down an opportunity to play in europe or elsewhere outside the UK. The fact hat we have alot of players in the UK doesnt mean its the only place they want to play...it means thats the place where they have had greatest success earning a contract. In many cases, the option is between playing in our NPL, or playing in the lower English divisions...in which case, its a no-brainer.

Like I said, the likes Tegat etc played in Israel and such places long before we even started getting the attention of the English D3 clubs. damani left the comforts of the MLS and went all the way to Russia to make a living....I believe thats a acrifice any of our players today would gladly make to earn a living

Where did anyone say players should not be looking to other markets? Massa deal with the reality of the England market that is what the post is about?

Jus seh - Yes, Boxhill and his administration screwed up...let's move on! Burrell must rapidly get us back above FIFA Ranking #70 and keep our teams (...and thus players active). Players currently seeking contracts must vigorously explore other markets. End of story!
                          Yuh drinking liquor too early ... Yuh start out claiming I must deal with reality, only to say the same thing I've been saying in your last sentence.

Too many gladis deh pon this forum ... unuh lucky mi deh yah fi keep it real. Two two it become a poppyshow forum.

If a club is willing to pay a club 4Mills to secure your service, Iam SURE they will be more than willing to offer you decent wages to make yuo want to play with them. Remeber that contracts are not negotiated solely between clubs...there is also negotiation between playe and club.

Yuh drinking liquor too early ... Yuh start out claiming I must deal with reality, only to say the same thing I've been saying in your last sentence.

Too many gladis deh pon this forum ... unuh lucky mi deh yah fi keep it real. Two two it become a poppyshow forum.
                              You conveniently left out that your stance 'supports limiting our markets'. Surely at the very least you infered that it should be 'forget England'...a very large and lucritive market?!

Massa yuh caan duck but yuh cyan hide!