• Observer EDITORIAL: Mr Simoes' comments make sense

Mr Simoes' comments make sense

Saturday, February 09, 2008

Any doubts out there regarding the strong feeling Jamaicans have for football and their national team, the Reggae Boyz, would have been dispelled on Ash Wednesday when an estimated 26,000 people packed into the National Stadium to watch the 1-1 draw with Costa Rica in the year's first International Friendly.

Mr Tyrone Marshall's goal in added time, which saved Jamaica from what - on the run-of-play - would surely have been an undeserved defeat, provided the ideal tonic as the national team looks ahead to the start of the 'Back to Africa' 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign on June 14.

Crucially, Mr Marshall's goal eased the pressure for Technical Director Mr Rene Simoes, who would not have enjoyed losing his opening game on what is his second stint in charge of Jamaica's football.

Of course, Mr Simoes can accurately point out that back in 1994 when he began his first coaching stint in Jamaica, he started with a loss against the United States at the National Stadium. Yet, in the years that followed he was able to hone his squad of mostly amateurs and semi-professionals into a tough, winning combination that eventually made history by qualifying for the 1998 World Cup Finals in France.

For the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, Jamaica are now seeking one of three-and-a-half spots allocated to the CONCACAF region. Conventional wisdom and the experience of recent times suggest that the first two spots will be secured by regional giants Mexico and USA. That would leave teams such as Jamaica, Costa Rica, Canada, Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago, El Salvador, Guatemala, Cuba, Haiti in a huge battle for the third spot.

The fourth-placed team will end up in a play-off with South America's fifth-placed team. Readers will recall that Trinidad and Tobago earned a spot in the 2006 World Cup in Germany after overcoming the challenge of Asia's Bahrain in a play-off.

The good news for Mr Simoes is that based on what was on display on Wednesday, he has the resources for a real shot at a spot in South Africa. The Jamaica team of mostly overseas-based professionals showed talent, character and hunger.

And as Mr Simoes himself pointed out, it wasn't just the overseas-based professionals who impressed. Mr Simoes identified the "quality" of two local-based players - Mr Rudolph Austin, who played the entire game, and Mr Wolry Wolfe - for special mention.

Indeed, Mr Simoes was moved in a post-match interview to emphasise that local-based players could not be ignored and needed overseas exposure as part of the drive to make the national team stronger. Clearly, with the World Cup campaign just around the corner, his mixing of local-based players with overseas professionals will represent a very careful balancing act.

However, it was an interesting intervention from Mr Simoes, given the criticism that his predecessor, Mr Bora Milutinovic, had to undergo for losing a number of games while attempting to provide the much-needed exposure for locals.

Mr Simoes' comments should serve as a reminder to all, not least to Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Captain Horace Burrell and his administration, that while immediate wins are important, development aimed at sustaining success over the long term is even more so.

Why must Simoes' words be taken to mean that national senior teams comprised solely of locals be the way to give locals exposure?

What about exposure...regular continuous exposure at the lower age levels? ...and, finding the talents for those levels that would demand infusion with our established seniors? Is that not the way Brazil, Germany, Italy, Spain, England, Argentina...even nearer home Mexico and the USA bring their youngsters along?

What does Simoes know that those who guide the above nations do not?

Well them nuh say a same thing CB, and Bora dem did a do?

A strategy forced on them by poor leadership.

Yes, we need to give the local players international exposure, but it has to be done in a controlled fashion. You can't send a local only team to face a full strength Brasil team. We have to use a measured approach. As the strength of opposition or competition increases so should the strength of our team. When we start the qualification process we need to use our strongest team available as their is no room for failure.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
            Yes, we need to give the local players international exposure, but it has to be done in a controlled fashion. You can't send a local only team to face a full strength Brasil team. We have to use a measured approach. As the strength of opposition or competition increases so should the strength of our team. When we start the qualification process we need to use our strongest team available as their is no room for failure.
            We were discussing this in the context of development. Developing the local players and local leagues to fullest potential. That would dovetail into improved quality of national teams and exploitation of professional leagues to the benefit of individuals (players, coaches and others who manage various aspects of the game) and the country.
            Last edited by Karl; February 9, 2008, 05:30 PM.

The exposure for local players definitely fell off when Simoes left. When he was here previously, many local players were able to make the journey to Brazil to play against various club teams over there.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                The exposure for local players definitely fell off when Simoes left. When he was here previously, many local players were able to make the journey to Brazil to play against various club teams over there.
                Yet even those visits were merely a stop-gap measure rather than a well thought out approach. An inadequate state of affairs. Needed was the vision that would have us the funds to build national team structures (actual teams and back-office support structures) and have the clubs and various national teams engaged in regularly playing matches at home and outside of the island, coaches and administrators visiting at and learning what holds at TOP OF THE WORLD academies, clubs, and national team organisations.
                Last edited by Karl; February 9, 2008, 05:58 PM.

Who would believe that it has been so long that we have been suggesting sustained development and a big NO to "start-stop-start-stop..." fooling around with our players, coaches, team...indeed our football?!

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/editoria...?val=the&id=12

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=45

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=105

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=161
                  Last edited by Karl; February 9, 2008, 07:12 PM.

well lets hope you can generate the corporate support for perpetual renewal model.

Them a have the caribbean cup or Digicel cup this year? anybody know? It would be interesting to see the team we play.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                        well lets hope you can generate the corporate support for perpetual renewal model.
                        Yup!
                        Money...or rather lack of money is the big obstacle. ...a big headache for the Football leaders!

He had no choice. There were no farin players, really!

I am not only speaking about Senior players. He took many young players over there also.

We were discussing this in the context of development. Developing the local players and local leagues to fullest potential. That would dovetail into improved quality of national teams and exploitation of professional leagues to the benefit of individuals (players, coaches and others who manage various aspects of the game) and the country.
                              I concur.