so where was this pool when we
    beat mexico to top the group? (those days the Prof had all amatuers on his team) Where was that talent pool when Ja marched into RFK?

There is a certain science to this game and many are lost on it. You think if I didn't see something I would be calling for Mexico? Big tings ah go happen boss, juss come tek a seat on di train, an forward to zion.

Linval thompson pon death in i arena: "train to zion is coming, don't want to miss it.....)
    You are aware that Mexico today has more players in Europe with big teams than 12 years ago right? You also know that when we faced them back then the core of their players played in Mexico.

My point this is a different time than back then. It would be even more difficult for us now to top them in WCQ. It doesn't mean we should be intimidated but we have to understand that they've progressed tremendously while we've regressed if you catch my drift.

all understood....while we have not progressed we have not exactly stagnated either...we too have more players playing professionally than we did back then.

no doubt we would be huge underdogs....it's all about the fight in the dog!

Boss did you remember when the
        Trinis would boast and say Yoke is the best striker in the world how are we going to hold him? How held him? A D3 balla called pepe.

Continue to feel the Mexico can beat us before playing, I just hope to God none of our ballas feel that way. If so they should never ever be called back to Rboyz.

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
          You are aware that Mexico today has more players in Europe with big teams than 12 years ago right? You also know that when we faced them back then the core of their players played in Mexico.

My point this is a different time than back then. It would be even more difficult for us now to top them in WCQ. It doesn't mean we should be intimidated but we have to understand that they've progressed tremendously while we've regressed if you catch my drift.
          The ball is round and we have enough talent to be competitive with anyone. We have to adapt out tatics to the team we are playing. The following starting line up would give them a run for their money.

------------------Ricketts-------------

Marshall------Stewpeas-----Noseworthy-------Gardner

JJ/Dane Richards-------Francis-------Austin------Phillips

------------------Fuller---------King-----------

Bench
          Shavar
          Hue
          Shelton
          JCR
          Daley
          Fraser
          Lisbie or Byfield
          Laing
          Wolfe
          etc

I would tell Fuller to go all out in the first half and bring on Shelton in the second to run them ragged when them tired. I would use Hue in the last to 30 minutes so him can perform some magic and go full steam without buss. Bring on Mexico, yes!

Jamaica has always had the same or better players as Mexico or the USA. Where we have always fallen short is the quality of organization and administration. For international games, and specifically WCQs the teams whose back office is best organized wins the game, especially the away games. So while our players are definitely ready to play the Mexicans or the USAns, the JFF is not quite there yet.

We should play more home games to get the finances up, against other CONCACAF teams (except USA and Mexico)

all understood....while we have not progressed we have not exactly stagnated either...we too have more players playing professionally than we did back then.

no doubt we would be huge underdogs....it's all about the fight in the dog!

You're right. We didn't stagnate because Boxhill and co. took us way below that point. Remember we couldn't qualify for the final round of Digicel Cup and didn't go to the Gold Cup got battered out in the Far East.

Need I go on.

Boss did you remember when the
                Trinis would boast and say Yoke is the best striker in the world how are we going to hold him? How held him? A D3 balla called pepe.
                Comparing Trinidad to Mexico? hmnnn. Yorke in his prime was one of the best strikers in the world no doubt but the rest of the team with the exception of Latapy was average.

Mexico is a whole different story. Who do we have that can match Giovanni dos Santos in Midfield? Who do we have that can match Carlos Vela, Marquez and Carlos Salcido?

These people play Champions League football in Europe against the best strikers midfielders and defenders. How many of our players have that type of experience and play gainst that type of quality on a regular basis?

Continue to feel the Mexico can beat us before playing, I just hope to God none of our ballas feel that way. If so they should never ever be called back to Rboyz
                Nothing is impossible but you cannot realistically think that with several quality players in their squad and the depth they have you can just beat them that easily. That's a fool paradise.

You are delusional. You would put Fuller in your starting lineup and not select Teafore Bennett in the squad. And to add insult to injury you'd put Ricketts in goal.

Hmnnnn. You just lost credibility. If Simoes uses a squad like that gainst mexico, you wouldn't want to know what the final scoreline will read.

Originally posted by DweetSweet View Post
                    Jamaica has always had the same or better players as Mexico or the USA. Where we have always fallen short is the quality of organization and administration. For international games, and specifically WCQs the teams whose back office is best organized wins the game, especially the away games. So while our players are definitely ready to play the Mexicans or the USAns, the JFF is not quite there yet.

We should play more home games to get the finances up, against other CONCACAF teams (except USA and Mexico)
                    so let me get this straight our back office plays our WCQ for us? They defend us against the opposition?

Don't you love this kind of logic?

It's like when England beat Jamaica 6-0 before the last World Cup, and nobody wanted to give any of the blame to the players -- it all went to Boxhill instead. As if he had been marking Peter Crouch when he scored his hat trick!

And Jamaica always has players equal to or better than those of the USA and Mexico. But they never manage to beat them. Because of the guys in the back office. Yeah, ok.

i didn't forget but at the same time look at the squad we have! more players playing pro than at any time our history......

we are not where e should be far, as an administration the boxhill regime let us down, HOWEVER we continued to be able to get some young players in pro set up overseas...

the only thing we really don't agree on is whether we should take on mexico now...and on that we can agree to disagree....seen?

yes Bring on Hingland, Mexico or Austrialia. A little grudge match is good for the soul and developement.

Cork di stadium, nuff nuff tune and put down some ball pon the rathid.

You are delusional. You would put Fuller in your starting lineup and not select Teafore Bennett in the squad. And to add insult to injury you'd put Ricketts in goal.

Hmnnnn. You just lost credibility. If Simoes uses a squad like that gainst mexico, you wouldn't want to know what the final scoreline will read.
                            The more I read of your comments is the more I realize what a football dunce you are. Currently, our first tier fowards are King, Shelton, and Fuller. A combination of 2 of those three are our prefered starters. All of our other fowards are a class below. In time some may step up and claim a top spot and or our first tier might lose fitness or form. I like Bennett, but he is not yet in that first tier.

Please humor me with your team that you thing would be competitive with Mexico.

Originally posted by DweetSweet View Post

I agree with much of what you said, but I still think we should take a shot at a really tough opposition like Mexico or the US. In one game with Simoes at the helm I've seen enough positives to suspect that he would prepare our team to competitive under tough circumstances.

[quote=Warlord;82807]

I agree that time is limited, but we do not need to panic either. If we can somehow get decent friendlies we'll be ok by the time our first qualifiers roll around. Its not like were facing USA or Mexico in our first game.

I think you're underestimating teams like Switzerland and Turkey. England struggled to beat them( Swiss) a few days ago. They'd be perfect game for us right now.

Don't you think alot of south American squads play fast paced game? The game is global today. Those teams no longer play that slow build up type. Its more one touch and faster ball movement on the park.
                                You misunderstoood the post. It was all about how you bring the TEAM on as fast as possible.

Look at the FIFA Rankings and you shall see, for example, that many S. Americans teams are stronger than those in the CAF. Styles make matches. Let us choose wisely as we step up the quality TEAM we face. Hey, you forgot that my mantra...one of...is to the TOP OF THE WORLD. You must play the best to be considered the best. We'll have to work our way FORWARDS and UPWARDS!