Too many -ve's on this Forum..Here are some +ve's

• Too many -ve's on this Forum..Here are some +ve's

Mexx, Reggae-Fan and other fanz who really know ball, Morrison is the real deal and and great find. He had a great game last night, for a player in his position. Nothing flashy, always show open, pass it off again, boringly effective, like a Makalele or Dunga, and so the Jack-Asssss-enal fan Mexx dont feel left out, almost like ex-Goooner Patrick Viera.

He was moving like marathon runner, being in the right place ant the right time, pass and move, give it to the flashy players. Every team needs a player like that, right in the center.

If Simoes recognizes that quality in a player in the holding midfield position, it would seem like Morrison should be the first name on his team sheet,

This is a team that has not played together before, a new team with a new manager, and Simoes had them all together for two training sessions before the game...playing a Costa Rican team that is well into their preparation for WCQ, with 10 games in the last few months, under the same manager...and Jamaica outplayed and dominated Costa Rica. The midfield was all Jamaica, approach play was very technical and mature.

Simoes also has a good eye to find new talent that can play at the international level. When I heard two "lesser lights" Morrison and Austin, would be marshalling our central midfield, I was doubtful but decided to give Simoes the benefit. He was not wrong. Morrison and Austin were effective and efficient.

Simoes also broke the mold by positioning Granny Marshall as a right back, instead of center back or even holding mid where he has played for club and country. Again raised eyebrows for me but it worked, and proved the old coaching handbook that you build your team from the back. And what about the fact that Marshall's approach to score his header was from the left of the penalty area. How did he get over the left from the right without being marked? Brilliant.

And what about His Majesty King Marlon? He is real quality, an unselfish team player for his adopted country, Jamaica. A real pro, under pressure from being a goal down, with 5 minutes to go, found himself with time in the dead unthreatening position on the touch line to right of goal. The path to everyone in the box was blocked by CR defenders, but he didn’t panic or try to blast his way through. A truly sublime chip after having the cool collected vision to see an unmarked Marshall make his run, King Marlon put the ball right on Granny's forehead for a sitter. God save King Marlon, 95 minutes of pure class.

And as my 8-yo daughter shouted when Demar Philips almost scored the FIFA 2008 Goal of the Season, Ohhhhh--Myyyyyyy-Gawwwwd. And what a strike it was! The only thing you can say is, what if it went in? The TV coverage that Philips would have got on the highlight reels of the world's football press (playing in a Jamaica jersey I hasten to add) would have done wonders for his career and Jamaica’s reputation. What makes this strike one of the highest quality was that the cross was coming in a high pace AND swerve, and that he was running forward when the cross was kicked. So turn, twist, jump, swing the leg, all in a split second…..If only.....what a baller!

And I will repeat form a previous post on (according to Mexx, and I agree) Jamaica’s new Peter Cargill #7, Jason Morrison. “Morrison is the real deal and great find. He had a great game last night, for a player in his position. Nothing flashy, always show open, pass it off again, boringly effective, like a Makalele or Dunga, and so the Jack-Asssss-enal fan Mexx don’t feel left out, almost like ex-Goooner Patrick Viera. He was moving like marathon runner, being in the right place at the right time, pass and move, give it to the flashy players. Every team needs a player like that, right in the center. If Simoes recognizes that quality in a player in the holding midfield position, it would seem like Morrison should be the first name on his team sheet.”

Every Jamaican’s first touch and ball control during the game was great, almost perfect given the uneven pitch conditions. A joy to behold. The passing accuracy, possession times, it was all good. Not saying they were no mistakes, including the one that led to CR's goal, but Jamaica's mistakes were few and far between.

Yes DweetSweet, things look very promising indeed.

Listen man, as a fan of Jamaica's football, I enjoyed last nights game thoroughly. I agree with you, two months ago I would be thrown off by the names of Demar Philips, Rudolph Austin and Jason Morrison playing in a Jamaica midfield, but today, its a totally different sitaution. Philips have a long way to go in this program, so too Morrison and Austin. I think they all are reklatively young (yeah, I inow they are not 20, but still)

One other player I liked from the last game was Oniel Thompson...very hard working midfielder.
        President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Originally posted by DweetSweet View Post
          This is a team that has not played together before, a new team with a new manager, and Simoes had them all together for two training sessions before the game...playing a Costa Rican team that is well into their preparation for WCQ, with 10 games in the last few months, under the same manager...and Jamaica outplayed and dominated Costa Rica. The midfield was all Jamaica, approach play was very technical and mature.
          Now for a reality check. How new was this team? Ricketts, Stew Peas, Bibi, Goodison, Marshall. That covers the defence seems like same old same ol to me. Morrison, Austin, Phillips, Ryce - not as "old" as the defence, but not strangers to each other. Fuller and King - nuff said. Let's tone down this talk about this unit not playing together. Rico kept repeating same nonsense last night. They are not that "new"!

Simoes also has a good eye to find new talent that can play at the international level. When I heard two "lesser lights" Morrison and Austin, would be marshalling our central midfield, I was doubtful but decided to give Simoes the benefit. He was not wrong. Morrison and Austin were effective and efficient.

Simoes?!? Was it Simoes who told Tappa to start Austin in the El Salvador and Guatemala games? And I don't believe Morrison was making his debut last night.

Simoes also broke the mold by positioning Granny Marshall as a right back, instead of center back or even holding mid where he has played for club and country. Again raised eyebrows for me but it worked, and proved the old coaching handbook that you build your team from the back. And what about the fact that Marshall's approach to score his header was from the left of the penalty area. How did he get over the left from the right without being marked? Brilliant.

Again, was it Simoes who broke the mold? Have we ever seen Granny at that position before? Sorry, I don't see it as some great coup!

And what about His Majesty King Marlon? He is real quality, an unselfish team player for his adopted country, Jamaica. A real pro, under pressure from being a goal down, with 5 minutes to go, found himself with time in the dead unthreatening position on the touch line to right of goal. The path to everyone in the box was blocked by CR defenders, but he didn’t panic or try to blast his way through. A truly sublime chip after having the cool collected vision to see an unmarked Marshall make his run, King Marlon put the ball right on Granny's forehead for a sitter. God save King Marlon, 95 minutes of pure class.

King Marlon is just a very good player. Once he was available, he was going to start above anyone on the forward line. If only he had a strike partner yesterday.

And as my 8-yo daughter shouted when Demar Philips almost scored the FIFA 2008 Goal of the Season, Ohhhhh--Myyyyyyy-Gawwwwd. And what a strike it was! The only thing you can say is, what if it went in? The TV coverage that Philips would have got on the highlight reels of the world's football press (playing in a Jamaica jersey I hasten to add) would have done wonders for his career and Jamaica’s reputation. What makes this strike one of the highest quality was that the cross was coming in a high pace AND swerve, and that he was running forward when the cross was kicked. So turn, twist, jump, swing the leg, all in a split second…..If only.....what a baller!

Simply fantastic! Just imagine how silly he would have looked had he not pulled it off! That's why I rate the effort, for its impudence!

And I will repeat form a previous post on (according to Mexx, and I agree) Jamaica’s new Peter Cargill #7, Jason Morrison. “Morrison is the real deal and great find. He had a great game last night, for a player in his position. Nothing flashy, always show open, pass it off again, boringly effective, like a Makalele or Dunga, and so the Jack-Asssss-enal fan Mexx don’t feel left out, almost like ex-Goooner Patrick Viera. He was moving like marathon runner, being in the right place at the right time, pass and move, give it to the flashy players. Every team needs a player like that, right in the center. If Simoes recognizes that quality in a player in the holding midfield position, it would seem like Morrison should be the first name on his team sheet.”

Sorry, not sold on him as the next Cargill. Then again, Cargill...which one, the one that played in the World Cup, or the one years before that?

Every Jamaican’s first touch and ball control during the game was great, almost perfect given the uneven pitch conditions. A joy to behold. The passing accuracy, possession times, it was all good. Not saying they were no mistakes, including the one that led to CR's goal, but Jamaica's mistakes were few and far between.
          I found our first touch was quite lacking. We made up for it by running hard and tackling hard. Sorry, but I thought Costa Rica never came out of second gear. Possession for us was there but at times pointless. Now, save the nonsense. Yes, possession can be considered nonsense if you are unable to carry it through on goal.

Sorry Dweet, wi have to remain real.

Would you have liked it that much if we had lost?

considering we didnt win the game, I am compelled to say that marginally I ould have been disappointed.

Something tells me that you would probably be cock-a-hoop today had the boyz lost last night? you have been grumpy all day.
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Mo wi ah go ask the PROF. AN
                Tappa fi mek Hue start di nexx match. Wi cyaan tek di bittahniss
                pon di site.

I have never celebrated a loss by the Boyz, but this euphoria that is presently awashing the site is a bit nauseating. It's simply amazing how one goal in the dying minutes by the Boyz is going to turn around, at least for me, what was an ordinary evening against a team that barely got out of 3rd gear. Indeed, one can argue that the last five minutes was the only time we played good football! Wolry's miss could and should have made it 2-1!

So, yes, there are positives, but had we lost that match, a real possibility, I'm not sure we would be gushing the way we are. Apparently for some, Simoes is already working his miracles.

Why wouldn't people be happy that over the last three games we have been playing good tactical football and dominating opponents.

Stay deh tink it have anyting to do wid Maestro. I don't expect to see him play any time soon. Even I have accepted that Demar brings too much verve on the left, even if he can't quite match other qualities by Maestro. And I said recently on this site that the first person I would have on that field is Austin, quite a departure from my days of saying that I would pick Maestro first and then see who can play with him. So, let's move on.

And by the way, are you still expecting Tappa to get a run? He is still our best player isn't he?

Wait .. is this a forum where people really discuss RGBs football or is it a forum for gladis? In my job, I look for the negatives and improve on them for the next semester... I see nothing wrong with highlighting the negatives of team. If I don't know ball and can see flaws within our play, what about a scout that is preparing to face our team?

Mo, for me the the glass is half full. For you the glass is half empty. Same glass a wata. We could take something from the Yanks and their sports culture. They will ignore the dirty laundry and sing the highest praises for the one clean pair of draws. The hype even without substance gets them everywhere.

I am singing the positives (and there are more positives than negatives) and leaving nattering nabobs of negativism to debate the opposing view. It makes me feel better, looking thought clear clean glasses.

I am in full agreement. Last night's game was hardly as good as we are making it out to be. The day we play well enough for us all to have pom-poms the following day, I'll let y'all know!

Also, this game performance is coming against the backdrop of us fanz being starved of any success stories over the 8 years of the failed Boxhill administration..those days when "the forum vibes dead lacka doornail", because nutten nah gwan...

Look where we are coming from and you will agree that we can be euphoric about last night's game.