• A Blades fan on Shelton

Shelton 8
    I expect there will be some that don’t agree with this score. However he is the only United player that makes things happen. He made his goal single handedly. He keeps on making the wrong decisions, but he could have had a hat-trick. His pace frightens defenders. He is most effective playing as a forward in a 4-4-2, and least effective playing on the wing in a 4-3-3. Very frustrating, but United need him otherwise we are a very ordinary side.

speed is ah ting weh ebry defendah fear. An when yuh have some ability/skill wid it mek it dat more effective. Time ah di mastah, Robson soon haffi join di club kah him ago si di light. Is one ting plain fi si, di yout get ah likkle chance an a show waan likkle supmn. Di yout ago mek mistake yes, kah him young. Experience teaches wisdam ebry time.

I agree with the writer - Shelton makes the wrong decisions more often than I would like to see, but his speed makes up for it most of the time. He makes ball control mistakes many times, but his speed makes up for it. As the quickest player in the world on a football pitch, his potential remains frightening!

As the quickest player in the world on a football pitch, his potential remains frightening!
        i agree with the statement... i have yet to see a quicker player anywhere in all the leagues i watch...

Karl, however, disagrees.

Sigh

I guess even Tappa was quicker. "Over ground", might I add!

Yuh mean "speed across ground" or time to react?

Fi Karl, none f our players should make the Reggae Boyz (except Tappa) as all are too slow across ground.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

And just to pour some more water on Karl's "speed across ground" argument, Maestro will not win any 60m dashes any time soon, yet he dribbles faster than most! Easily! Once he gets going with the ball - memba! Now, if you going to send a long ball down the wing for him to run onto with Claude Davis down his back - memba!

Karl, however, disagrees.

Sigh

I guess even Tappa was quicker. "Over ground", might I add!
                mmmm?
                I'll list some quicker over ground - lata!

...and, his speed does not make up for the many anti-TEAM moves he makes!

Too many are still failing to understand that when the ball is given away the higher the level of play of the opposition/the nearer to the TOP OF THE WORLD...the more often you and your TEAM is punished for the mistakes.

Somehow we seem to be locked into looking at our REGGAE BOYZ (TEAM) as best to be compared with Cuba, Costa Rica, the USA and Mexico rather than with England, Spain, Portugal, Argentina, France, Brazil and Germany...and considering the levels of play of these latter teams - TOP OF THE WORLD TEAMs - as that to aspire!

If our other players are even as good as say our best opponents in CONCACAF...a bounce of the ball ( mis-control and or making the wrong decision as often as does a Shelton in a match) will most likely lead to not making it to World Cup 2010.

We admire Shelton's speed and thirst for goals...but, we need him to improve his technical ability 10-fold and his decision making 100-fold! What is the point of his (anti-TEAM) giving the ball away so often? What is the point of making it difficult for his TEAM to benefit from his speed and thirst for goal more often during matches?
                Last edited by Karl; February 4, 2008, 11:17 AM.

ah bwoy

Fi Karl, none f our players should make the Reggae Boyz (except Tappa) as all are too slow across ground.
                    Don't misrepresent on me!
                    Not nice!

My overriding aim for our team is "best combination of players". Just the "best" - If they are all very quick...so be it! If they are all slow...so be it! Just give us best TEAM!

...now when I discuss what I wish for as players that is another matter...but we all know - "if wishes were..."!

Aside: Wish - Fast as lightening in good intelligent thinking, reaction time and speed across ground with TOP OF THE WORLD technical ability!

ah bwoy
                      Take it you do not wish him to improve? Currently, in your mind, he is the greatest player in the world? Right?

Well to everyone has own idea on what makes a good player! In my mind Shelton has potential! As someone said potential says he has not done it yet! i.e. he is not good yet!

May be the best we have? ...and that would be saying a lot about the standard of our Reggae Boyz

Advice to Luton - Study how Adebayor links with TEAMmates...his supporting runs (movement) and the number of times he gets the ball in good goalscoring positions!

Look at Rooney, Tevez and Ronaldo and take your eyes away from the on ball play and unto their off-ball play. Look at how they link with TEAMmates and the number of times they receive the ball in good goalscoring positions!

How often in matches they play "one-twos"?

Copy those guys movement and 'link-up' with teammates and he will score a bag.

To improve his technical play - he has to do a lot of lonely drills with the ball until the feel of the ball, judging flight, velocity/speed of the ball become 2nd nature! It will improve 'control' and passing ability!
                      Last edited by Karl; February 4, 2008, 11:40 AM.

Every player can improve, even the world's best.

Even the lack of ability to control the ball is team now

YES! ...not working on it as often as you should is not appreciating the part it plays in "good TEAM work"...

...and not doing the best you potentially...playing up to full potential... often as you can in a match/consistently in a match is anti-TEAM/ is disrespecting teammates.

You owe it to your TEAM to be the best you can be - always! You owe it to your TEAMmates to be the best you can be - always! We are human and will fall short at times - but we must make the effort at all times!

TEAM!

Just look at it - If TEAM wins! You win!
                          A star in/on a losing team never gets as far as a member of a winning TEAM!

TEAM!
                          TEAM ABOVE ALL ELSE! TEAM!
                          Last edited by Karl; February 4, 2008, 11:53 AM.

Shelton 8
                            I expect there will be some that don’t agree with this score. However he is the only United player that makes things happen. He made his goal single handedly. He keeps on making the wrong decisions, but he could have had a hat-trick. His pace frightens defenders. He is most effective playing as a forward in a 4-4-2, and least effective playing on the wing in a 4-3-3. Very frustrating, but United need him otherwise we are a very ordinary side.
                            How many more chances he would have had or how many more goals he would have scored if he had made many more right decisions? Would his team have won? ...won by 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5...?????

who tell you the man nuh work at it?

I guess TEAM have no weakness, a pure strong link.

How you rate Anelka? Cause all now him can't head a ball fi save his life so him Anti team.