• Warlord says national call-up justified

Warlord says national call-up justified

LeVaughn Flynn, Staff Reporter

White ... "There is a very soft side to the Warlord." - LeVaughn Flynn

"WAAARR," was the familiar cry echoing from the stands, signalling that Craig White is in the building. A few Arnett Gardens fans, White's Premier League club, journeyed on bicycles to see the hard-nosed defender in practise with the national team yesterday at the National Stadium.

White and 21 other local-based players are battling for nine spots to make it on the roster against Costa Rica next Wednesday in an international friendly at 'The Office'.

The Warlord, as he is known in football circles, is the sport's journeyman, having played with Constant Spring, Tivoli Gardens, Waterhouse, Maverley, and now Arnett Gardens - "Most of the garrison teams," as he puts it.

A father of two, White said he first played in the premier league in 1993 with Maverley, while a student at a Meadowbrook High.
    "I grew up in a housing scheme called Glendale, which is close to Maverley, suh a suh mi start play with them," recalled White.
    Now a national invitee, White is playing with the same zeal he has shown throughout his career and says anything is possible for the future.
    Finally!

StarSports: You're 31 now, how do you feel about getting your first national call-up at this stage?

Craig White: Justified. I've spent my whole life playing football in Jamaica. Win two champion-ships with Waterhouse (1997 & 2006) and mi si other players get pick and them team don't' even reach nowhere. It just feel justifiable to si people de si mi and regard mi work as good work.

SS: How realistic do you think your chance is of making the side?

CW: Football carries a lot of fortunes and misfortunes so you don't know who is going to get injured abroad and who going to twist them ankle locally. So at the end of day is just put out u all and try to impress the coaches. Just like how mi can get pick at the age of 31 mi can get pick in a starting 11 sooner or later, so mi still have hope and still believe.

SS: What grade would you give yourself out of 10 since training started Monday?

CW: Probably an eight or eight and a half. Mi nuh really want put a mark on mi ability right now but mi a go hard?

SS: How would you describe the training with Simoes so far, and how would you compare it to anything you've experienced before?

CW: Is an international feeling this. The pace is bung-bang, bung-bang (very fast). Being around and seeing the greatness he has produced for the nation, and throughout the whole Caribbean because they started following us (after 1998 World Cup qualification), it is good getting the teachings from him now.

SS: How did you get the name Warlord?

CW: Over Waterhouse, the fans gi mi that name.

SS: Do you have anything in common with the musical Warlord, Bounty Killer?

CW: Yeah man! Mi glad u ask deh question deh. Bounty Killer a di best. Dem couldn't give me a better name. Mi love Bounty Killer Alliance.

SS: Despite having the name Warlord, does that name accurately describe you?

CW: When everybody seh Warlord, them figure warmonger - but is just on the football field. Sometimes the aggression is there off the football field, but mi know how fi control it, enuh. There is a very soft side to Craig White.

SS: In 2006 when Waterhouse closed out the season strongly to win the National Premier League title, what was the secret to that success?

CW: The secret to that success was the togetherness of the players and the belief, enuh. Coach (Wayne) Fairclough did have a godliness 'bout him. Him always talk 'bout greatness and seh even we greater than him. Him kinda put wi above wi limit so we a think higher than how we normally think.

SS: Do you think a second call-up is in the offing?

CW: Mi nah stop work. Two days leave and mi always a go play and represent the game the right way so mi leave miself open up for more calls down the line.

Whew ... for a minute I thought it was Bounty.

Met him the other day. Would not have imagined that he would be so personable, having seen him cane-cut any and everyting in his path on the football field. I asked him why he didn't play as constructively with Arnett as he did while practising with the national squad. He said when you have a higher calibre of players then...and he didn't mind giving Arnett supporters what the wanted - the kind of warrior tackle and clean up that he is known for. Everybody likes to hear his name in the stands.

All the best too him!

WAAAAAAARRRRRRR!

That Bruk foot mentality that we have has to go , it is true what he stated ....he knows better , but im affi gi dem what dem want (john public) fe ear im name in the stands.

I remember an Ardenne player black prince (blacka) a defender running towards a J.C player Bull head and we all knew it was for one mission , Bruk im foot , the hit or clap was heard all over Sabina , the crowd screamed his name ....BLACKA ...PRINCEE ...Bullhead didnt go down he kept on jogging.Thats when he gained our respect , simply because Prince didnt bring him down.....grudgingly.

LOL cane cutter , bruk foot artist , warlord ..how immature we are.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

bull head...red yute name craig...sup'm or odda?

yup Craig Butler. He wasa crazy one himself. I remember seeing him dive to head a ball off an opponent's foot.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

yes..him head used to come and go! he was running some football camp in ja last summer i heard....

he was a good player, perhaps not as good as he thought he was but good nonetheless

This kind of approach on the national level will get you nothing but red cards!!!