Question ; why do many jamaican people who play

• Question ; why do many jamaican people who play

footie insist that when someone says " my ball" that is a foul ?

I keep hearing this from many guys on the ball field and none can tell me why or show me that rule but so many insist on this. where did they get this from ?

the way to get around it is to say "scaly's ball" ... the argument was that in the heat of the game ....saying "my ball" can be misleading and someone could mistake it as coming from a member of the team.

that is how it was once explained to me....that is how the english "lads" tend to do it....

the way to get around it is to say "scaly's ball" ... the argument was that in the heat of the game ....saying "my ball" can be misleading and someone could mistake it as coming from a member of the team.

that is how it was once explained to me....that is how the english "lads" tend to do it....
      But it is not a REAL rule so why do they insist on this.

I get the logic though.

unfair advantage is the reasoning. i don't actually know if it is a REAL rule...let's see what the rules experts have to say...

I don't believe there is a rule as such. But one cannot call for the ball from the opponent in an attempt to fool him. But calling for it from your teammates should be perfectly fine.

Nuh true, Karl?

if one calls for the ball from an opponent in an attempt to fool him what, if anything, does the referee call?

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
              footie insist that when someone says " my ball" that is a foul ?

I keep hearing this from many guys on the ball field and none can tell me why or show me that rule but so many insist on this. where did they get this from ?
              True Scaly. I've seen refs call blow for it in D1 games. Another stupid rule that existed was that keepers couldn't bounce the ball. I recall being thrown in goal in a D2 game ... forgot there was a game and in trying to imitate Peter Shilton I bounced the ball before kicking it out ... the ref blew for it. When I asked if the rules in Jamaica different from those elsewhere, his response was, "Bwoy ... don't question me!!"

yuh supposed to roll di ball....

"steps" was the offence.

yuh supposed to roll di ball....

"steps" was the offence.
                  Yes, there was a 3 step rule .. aware of that ... I'm talking bouncing the ball b4 clearing it.

Next rule dem have is that if a man express himself in a fabricated manner ... its an offense. Why?

excess fabric...the only fabric allowed on the pitch is the uniform.

Its a matter of interpretation and culture. The rules allow a referee to determine if an action is unsporting. In fact a caution can be awarded for saying "my ball" if in the opinion of the referee, it was an unsporting actionm intended to decieve an opponent.

When you get games being played by players speaking different languages, this is not an issue.