Mosiah whe the report deh?
wha happen Mo? You get capture down a Tivoli or you a consult on the red light district whe mi brethren want fi set up mek you miss training after you were on your way there.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Lawks man!
The squad was split into two, defenders and attackers. Simoes took the attackers thru some shooting practice - low crosses from both wings, high crosses, run ons, etc.
Roen Nelson was the most impressive of the lot in my opinion. His headers were a notch above everyone else's. Reminded me of my daCosta Cup years. The practice should shatter some beliefs while confirming others -
1. Maestro uses his right foot much better than many right-footed players use their left. Mi tiyad fi say it.
2. Overall, our shooting was poor. True, every now and again, we got some wikkid shots, but the majority, even from people we expect better, like Maestro and Cousins, was either hit badly (no technique) or not accurately (went wide or over).
3. Heading technique is even worse than our shooting, in my view. Roen was excellent, no use mentioning anyone else.
Practice ended promptly after an hour and a half.
Simoes was more involved and animated than I thought he would have been. He supplied many of the crosses for the players, and they were quite well struck. He emphasised finishing the drill with a shot and did not hesitate to let some players, like Maestro, know when they messed up or were not trying hard enuff (couldn't tell exactly what he was saying because of the distance).
He applauded Roen on some fine shots. Others too received compliments when they did well, but the bad shots far outnumbered the good.
I understand that McCallum's hand is broken so don't look for him on the field for Waterhouse or Jamaica any time soon.
Did not watch much of the drills with the defenders. Will give you more after this evening's at the stadium.
Thank you man, than you.
Good to see someone actually telling us the bad things in practise as they only tell us who look good etc.
It seems like a serious practise a gwaan.
Big up mi big time brethren, if you get close shout out Obrien White name loud fi mi.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
For a long time I've been saying that Roen Nelson has been marginalised by the some of our national coaches (and that Rudolph Speid article) who are of the mindset that if a striker is not flashy and a brucky-boo he is not good enough to play for Jamaica. Seetdehnow! The Prof comes in and gives the youth his props. I hope he makes good use of his opportunities!"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
Yes. Lamey...had stage fright and couldn't perform at the international level.
Wolde...let's see...Wolde had talent...oodles of it...and was a top-class college player but failed miserably (and inexplicably) in the Jamaican jersey. I was really disappointed given that I expected so much from a youth coming out of the Jumpy Harris stable."The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
But that's the point I'm making Mo. Many Jamaicans consider a striker "not good" if he lacks the flair & frill to beat 2 or 3 players before scoring!"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
Originally posted by Farmah View PostWolde...let's see...Wolde had talent...oodles of it...and was a top-class college player but failed miserably (and inexplicably) in the Jamaican jersey. I was really disappointed given that I expected so much from a youth coming out of the Jumpy Harris stable."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Oooohhhh!! Is dat weigh him dung!"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
True. When he scored 4 goals the other day for Portmore, as simple as they were, I'm not sure other strikers would have had the anticipation to judge the flight of the ball as he did as it skimmed the defender's head (2 occasions), or the composure to put them in the back of the net. He did nothing more really, and his outside the box game certainly didn't hurt the team either.