Who think dem know football?

Not talking about goal kick. If the goalie puts down the ball it is live. We agree on that. But the goalie certainly does not have to be closer to his goal than the attacker.

And, the offside rule talks about goal line, not just goal, when it comes to judging offside. The goal is not important!

If the goalie puts down the ball it is live. We agree on that. But the goalie certainly does not have to be closer to his goal than the attacker.

And, the offside rule talks about goal line, not just goal, when it comes to judging offside. The goal is not important!
      I think these 4 things - 'ball live' (?); the conditions under which off-side is 'called'; the conditions under which a player in an off-side position is not 'called' off-side; ...finally - the specific relationships between/with ball, attackers/defenders and goal-line that would make a player be considered to be in an off-side position.

The FIFA wording of the law on Off-Side...and, the interactive explanation on 'the how of off-side' should clear up the matter for him.

uh.. the defending players must be closer to is own goal than the attacker when the ball is passed. I dont understand why you all changing the question. Aren't both of you referees? OK wait til someone pass the ball back and karl make the wrong call. Can imagine him running don ocalata with some Honduran chasing him.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
          uh.. the defending players must be closer to is own goal than the attacker when the ball is passed. I dont understand why you all changing the question. Aren't both of you referees? OK wait til someone pass the ball back and karl make the wrong call. Can imagine him running don ocalata with some Honduran chasing him.
          Have not refed for at least 16 years...outside of an RBSC Picnic match! ...and, have no intention of ever refereeing again!

...and why do you insist on saying...intimating that when a defender passes the ball back the attack nearer to the defender's goal-line than the ball and two defenders is off-side?

You are so wrong it is not funny! I hope, in such a circumstance, you have not led the charge on a ref who rightly allowed play to go on ?

so now you are telling me that a player who is closer to the attacking goal when the ball is passed is NOT off-side. Why do I bother...

Originally posted by OJ View Post
              so now you are telling me that a player who is closer to the attacking goal when the ball is passed is NOT off-side. Why do I bother...
              That depends on who does the passing! If the ball is passed to the attacking player by a defender the attacker is not off-side!

How many times must I say the above?!

ok agree to disagree, I am not even sure why I debate because I am sure of the answer..

Outside Agent

If the ball touches an outside agent while in play (a dog, for instance), what action should the referee take?[/QUOTE]

Answer: It's only an infraction if that outside agent is Deputy Dog. In that case the player must be detained pending charges.

Selah

If the ball touches an outside agent while in play (a dog, for instance), what action should the referee take?

Based on the goal Shelton scored on Sunday I guess its up to the ref. However, dropball.
                    Lazie, an agent is defined as a living thing for football purposes. Hence, the ref was correct with the balloon.

Really? Not sure about that definition. If another ball was errantly thrown on the field by a ball boy, what would the ref had done?

I wonder what he means by a living thing?

All I know is - any...mi seh, any outside agent that comes in contact with the ball...

...as per law demands - i) The ref stops play! ii) See to the removal of the *outside agent if that is possible...and iii) on removal of the outside agent resume play by dropping the ball!

*outside agent cannot be removed - e.g. piece of satilite (hey one due to fall ~ shortly! ) suspend (abandon) play.

I wonder what he means by a living thing?

All I know is - any...mi seh, any outside agent that comes in contact with the ball...

...as per law demands - i) The ref stops play! ii) See to the removal of the *outside agent if that is possible...and iii) on removal of the outside agent resume play by dropping the ball!

*outside agent cannot be removed - e.g. piece of satilite (hey one due to fall ~ shortly! ) suspend (abandon) play.
                          Comes in contact with the ball?!?! Not sure that's what you want to say. No contact has to be made!

You are correct!