So that's why the Africian championship is not on TV

• So that's why the Africian championship is not on TV

Gats to understand that the decision makers of CAF and lots of TV network (FSC incl.), failed to come to an agreement on broadcastibng the games in America an parts or Europe.

Hear that CAF management were unreasonable in their requirements. So they lost out on all (most) international TV coverage.

~~sigh~~groan~~

Hear any different Tilla?... Scaly?

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by HL; January 27, 2008, 07:53 PM.

Gats to understand that the decision makers of CAF and lots of TV network (FSC incl.), failed to come to an agreement on broadcastibng the games in America an parts or Europe.

Hear that CAF management were unreasonable in their requirements. So they lost out on all (most) international TV coverage.

~~sigh~~groan~~

Hear any different Tilla?... Scaly?

Thanks in advance.
    .. ummm .. and to think a South African coworker claimed it was racism why it wasn't being televised in the USA ...

So Aimiuwu nuh know wha him a sey

African Cup of Nations: ESPN and Fox Soccer Channel
      By: Ehimwenma E. Aimiuwu

Despite the fact that Africans make up some of the best player on the world stage in Europe and across the world, American soccer and sports stations, such as ESPN and Fox Soccer Channel, still refuse to give the African Nations Cup the respect it deserves. We watch European league games, they show European qualifying games of different age levels, we see some South American soccer, we have seen games played in Asia, the Women’s World Cup is regular, but never the African Nation Cup – African World Cup. Samuel Eto’o of Cameroon is Barcelona’s (Spain) main striker and was their highest goal scorer within the past two years. So was Didre Drogba of Ivory Coast for Chelsea (England). The French league has Sylva one of the best goalies from Senegal, and Taiwo, the over-lapping defender from Nigeria. In fact, the best teams in England and Spain are made up of Africans even though some have foreign citizenship. Chelsea of England has Drogba, Kalou, Essien, Mikel, while Barcelona of Spain has Eto’o, Abidal, Toure just to mention a few.
      We watch African players every weekend in their European teams but have never had the joy in the USA to watch them in the African Nations Cup, despite numerous unanswered e-mails. Many have to drive across city and state line just to watch a game on some satellite. ESPN and Fox Soccer Channel should not give the excuse of low ratings because soccer audience do not discriminate when it come to soccer. It is true that African has never hosted nor won the World Cup, but Nigeria has beaten Spain (1998), Senegal had beaten France (2002), and Cameroon has beaten Argentina (1990). There is no excuse not to show the African Nations Cup. We have the payers and have the teams. We have reached the quarter finals twice in the past five World Cups since the beginning of proper representation for Africa. So what is the problem? ESPN and Fox Soccer Channel have got no excuse or choice but to live up to their expectation. We know that American media is not interested in African music and culture, but must that extend to the beautiful game of global soccer?

Define unreasonable. How much did they want? From previous reports the powers that be that Run African football are somewhat like their black brothers in Jamaica.

However without the FACTS we can't come to any conclusion as we don't know what these broadcasters offered and how much CAF demanded.

At the end of the day CAF could have easily gone with the internet and made billions instead of still looking at the obsolete Network television stations like Fox etc.

times are changing and we have to move with the times

We still waiting on the white man to treat us fairly when we don't even treat ourselves fairly.

When one door is closed many more is open. You can easily sell $1.99 pay per view to cell phones and through the internet so why the fixation on fox and espn.

The world has changed

And why would fox and espn want to show a positive side of Africa when we can't afford to show Black Americans anything but the wild side of Africa.

Just think
          Have anyone ever seen a positive show about AFrica on tv? As far as we know its still the dark continent.

Even "enlightened" Jamaicans had no clue that the prophecy in the bible about the last being first was now taking place and that Africa was rising(dem really did a good job on us mentally)

So people scoffed at Teofore Bennet now unnu expect FOX of all people to open the eyes of the world to the potential of AFrica when the USA and Europe busy a try recolonize the continent.

A wah unnu really deh pon?

Please tell me who unnu suppliers are because that stuff is real good.

respect