The issue if Kits

• The issue if Kits

It appears the JFF is at an impass in finding a sponsor for outfitting the Reggae Boyz. None of the major manufactures want to risk sponsoring a team that ranks 98th. This is simply not good business.

It amuses me to read how some feel that Addidas, Puma or Nike should just 'go ahead' a outfit the team. They fail to think through the business aspects of the sponsorship.

I think the good Cap'n Burrell should look at lesser known sponsors like: VICI, JOMA, High Five,KELME, XARA, Hummel...or kit manufacturers who are willing to take the risk. Jamaica making it to WC 2010 would do well for any of these lesser known brands.

I suggested Crimpson Dawn recently and some folks laughed me to scorn.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

EXactly my point Tilla.

IZ brand name a carry de swing.

puma makes a killing selling simulated jamaican football jerseys and putting the jamaican colors on shoes socks and shorts.....

it's not merely a question of begging them on there is a good business reason why puma, moreso than any other, could be enticed to outfit us...it is not as far fetched as some would believe

I think there is more to this story of the kit deal, or the NO kit deal.

Actually, there are a number of teams in world football today that are nowhere near as popular as th eReggaeboyz, nor are they highly ranked, yet still they wear kits from Puma and Adidas. For instance, I read somewhere recentlyh that Guatemala is currently being courted by Puma (or is it they are courting Puma)...they currently wear Adidas Kits. Now you tell me where is Guatemala ranked, and are they really a more popular team in world football/sports than Jamaica? Zambia are currently outfitted by Nike..Trinidad currently wears Adidas (yes, i know they have been to the last world cup)

At the end of the day I beleive the JFF is holding out for top dollars...Its not only about what the team wear, its more about the total package.
            Last edited by Reggae-Fan; January 28, 2008, 09:48 AM.
            President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

HL canada was ranked in the 100 when they had addidas. As a matter of fact IMG negotiated that deal for them as they were (might still be) the marketing agency for Canada. The jff needs to stop doing this them selves and get professionals that knows how to sell the ROI to business. I will say this the ranking of Jamaica has nothing with obtaining a sponsorship if they go about it the right way. It should not be the likelihood o winning or even qualifying but the ability to sell shirts and lift profile especially among culture and lifesytle. Do you think Nike sponsors Lebron James to 100 million out of high school becuse he is going to win a nba championship. No they do because he sell shoes and give them profile among thier target audience. Well we have to think the same way. Puma did a good job with the crossover marketing with track. Umbro is now doing the one love thing why not make it truly one love in the gold black and green.

sell the marketing right of the jff to IMG and you will get a kit deal and bobble head deal and whatever.

OJ, allow them to continue blaming others. It's always easier that way.

Karl would say - just do! (with a hundred more punctuation marks, of course!)

Here we go again.
                    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Funny how when Boxhill talk bout Sabotage you supported him 1000%.

Yes him better try get a decent contract, rating or no ratings but let us not fool ourselves because a high ratings could have been icing on the cake.

OJ James may not be sponsored because he is going to win Championship but because he was the highest rating high schooler to go in the NBA, maybe in its history. He was already hot comodity in high school.

Funny how when Boxhill talk bout Sabotage you supported him 1000%.

Yes him better try get a decent contract, rating or no ratings but let us not fool ourselves because a high ratings could have been icing on the cake.

OJ James may not be sponsored because he is going to win Championship but because he was the highest rating high schooler to go in the NBA, maybe in its history. He was already hot comodity in high school.
                        I am using the argument that sponsorhip has more to do with being popular than likelihood of true success in the sports world. It is not by coincidence that ECKO, ROOTS and PUMA all designed and sold millions in black green and gold. Do you recall the black green and gold adidas retro track top that was been sold for 400cdn.. What ranking, was that tied to? You will agree none the mere fact it sold was it was jamaican. We cannnot go to a negotiating session with Nike and use ranking or world cup appearances as bargaining chip. We have sell lifestyle and culture. Do you know just before the acquisition by Nike Umbro's priority was to get into urban marketing and to their apparel in Macys and the like? Do you realize lecoqsportif is more of a lifestyle where than a sports wear. There s so much we can do but we have to marry what we have to what we need. Where is Shatta when we need him.

While I like your thinking there is a some reality that set in. You see how Fulham tried to know down King's price by trying to say his knee was a worry?

The people trying to make a deal is going to also try to knock us down and use anything they can to take off dollars. That hit Burrell bigtime and may have even surprised him. Yes we have to sell the positive but don't think those companies coming in without doing there homework and knowing what to use to hit us down.

Hopefully something decent will work out.

yes and yuh si what happen to them? wigan happen to them!

I only hope we can win the next two games by at least 3-0 and get some St.Georges fan inna the stadium fi bfing up the vibes bigtime as Mo say a dem have the vibes.

With Simoes at the helm, Marley them offering some support(at least for one game) and good results the interest in the reggaeboyz stock can get better and maybe then we will be in a better position having them running to us rather than we go looking.