• Is René Simoes the miracle man?

published: Thursday | January 17, 2008

René Simoes is well and truly here and has already started working. Now, I'm one of those persons who held the opinion that the revered coach should not have been here, especially since it was at the expense of a coach, I thought, wasn't given a fair run at the job.

Not long after arriving in the island, Simoes told Jamaica, there was more to work with here than was available to him during his 1998 campaign.
    I agree with him, I don't think he should have said it, though. Guess what? Now Simoes will be judged even more harshly because he has admitted to having it easier this time around.

Programme in context
    Before the public starts looking at it like that, though, let me put the national programme in context.

Simoes has six months to prepare for the start of the qualifiers. He had more time the last time out. He also has a team that has not played any serious football.

The Gold Cup was a big miss for the Jamaican team. I was watching replays of it just the other day and a team like Panama (who had no trouble getting by us last time) has improved by leaps and bounds and has benefited from playing in that competition.

The only upside to Jamaica's relative inactivity is the fact that, for the first time, the team is an unknown quantity.

The kind of pace and quality in the Jamaican attack is something that has not yet been seen and will take some getting used to.

When we play those teams that are used to our knocking the ball around at the back and slowing down the pace of the game to a comfortable level before we attack, they'll be in for a surprise.

The problem, though, is the fact that the team is an unknown quantity for Simoes as well. It will take some time for him to formulate a plan regarding just how best to use the assets of the team. This includes, which players to pick, which formation to use and the best ways for this team to adapt to playing against the different styles in the CONCACAF region.

This will take time, and so the six months that I speak of before the qualifiers begin is even shorter than you would imagine.

Bad change
    The number of practice games we have are still unsure and though Captain Horace Burrell, the Jamaica Football Federation president wants one for every FIFA date, the quality of opposition might not prepare us properly for the road ahead.

Jamaica will play against Costa Rica in February and this will give us a good idea regarding where we stand at this point.

After that, the programme needs to go into high gear and I am not sure if Simoes, or any other coach, would or could be ready to do that by next month.

The change in coach at such a belated stage was a bad idea. Simoes took us from the doldrums and, most certainly, improved our football but I think recalling him was a step back.

I am not saying this because I think Simoes isn't a good coach, but because he has been placed in a situation in which any coach might falter.

Just as I thought Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic wasn't given a fair run, I don't think Simoes is being given a fair one either and I wouldn't have taken the job if I were him.

The prognosis, I think, is that Jamaica's road to the World Cup is going nowhere fast, but the talent that this team has might be able to create another miracle.

If Simoes manages to take Jamaica to Africa, he would have elevated himself in Lord of the Rings' Gandalf-like proportions from 'Simoes the Grey' to 'Simoes the White' and create the stuff legends are made of.

Paul-Andre.Walker@gleanerjm.com
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Did Bora know his team? After been here for one year.

Interesting article!
      Good read!

Did Bora know his team? After been here for one year.
        Bora was never given the team...so, did he know the REGGAE BOYZ?
        NO! ...never met them!

If he has Jesus in him all things are possible.

Never underestimate who jesus is in or who believe in Jesus. Christ feed the multitudes with few loathes of bread....

Is there anything too hard for God to do?

a whole lot of nothing...

Originally posted by pHoQrY View Post
              a whole lot of nothing...
              What is?

the article is...he is not really saying anything, contributing nothing, and regurgitating obvious sentiments.

What is the purpose of this article really? How about doing something on our players in Sweden, young players in the USA, do some sort of research and come up with some argument of value to readers.

the article is...he is not really saying anything, contributing nothing, and regurgitating obvious sentiments.

What is the purpose of this article really? How about doing something on our players in Sweden, young players in the USA, do some sort of research and come up with some argument of value to readers.
                  Some of us found it a good read!
                  ...and, how about you doing this? ---> How about doing something on our players in Sweden, young players in the USA, do some sort of research and come up with some argument of value to readers?

--- am sure we would all be appreciative!

I am glad you enjoyed the article Karl, too monotonous for me however. In regards to your second statement, I bet you are a journalist with one of these papers too huh?

Can't stop you from betting!
                      ...but, yuh bet wrong!
                      I am not a journalist...unless you consider my articles and news reports for the RBSC worthy of being considered in the class of that presented by journalists? (wry )