Obrien White

• Obrien White

it is real sad how even after the awards the man has achieved nothing is still in the Jamaican press.

It shows the kind of press we have. If that is not justified news then what is?

he is been in all three of the toronto main stream papers. I heard one idiot on soccer central saying how he should play for Canada.

You would think Sickko could do an article on the man to get him under Simoes' radar. But then, maybe they consider him foreigner too.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

As I alluded to in a thread some days ago, this has been going on forever. We have had our fair share of Jamaican players who have done well on the college scene in the USA but the players were never thought of highly enough to be given mention on the Jamaican sports pages. Maybe it's because Jamaica is still finding it hard to associate football/soccer with the USA and thus is unable to ascribe much credence and importance to any (male) player who excels in the game on the American college circuit.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

But Brethren when I was in college I got a write up, and I was nowhere close to Obrien White, Kinglsey Chin or any one a dem player deh. Granted I did ok at playing ball and was no dunce but them man deh achieve far more than I ever did and deserve it.

If it is even to cut and paste like them normally do.

....which would be in very silly of the Jamaican sports pages Farmah--since the US is clearly ahead in football/soccer compared to Jamaica.

Good thing the Cap'n is back. He thinks outside the box.

I dont think they do because as far as I know (an credit to boxhill) he is the only youth who migrated and they send plane fair for to come back and compete. I was thinking to myself that they must have been high on him with all that talent that they send for him in Canada to come back for the respective training camps and competitions. So we should actually give them some credit especially Mr. Downwell as most of the youth who migrate them to drop up of the program

this is responding to Farmer

ok hyou a call out Sickko. Sickko please do an article..

Yes mi a call him out and all a di one dem who take a preps offa the site too.

You know mi nah stop till them give the youth some dues.

You know when mi stand up fi something mi stand, memba Damani, P Crouch and Portland ball?

Ture Sickko a gwan like dem nuh rate the youth.. Ironically how thigs work, if you remember back when we made a small link there is another youth who was in the same showcase with Obrien that the university scouts rated higher that Obrien but the youth decided he wanted to go the pro route and all now have been to Europe and back and has not advance his career. Its funny how things work as Obrien will get an education and will still go pro. A lot of our players should use him as an example.

http://www.thestar.com/Sports/article/293362

ho-KAY!!!!

he's clearly not jamaican...that is why no mention was made of him in the jamaican media!!!

It look lakka seh mi haffi goh call di Captain.
                            Canada ready to claim him, we need to act now!
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

No disrepect but if it was Akeem who won these awards it would be big in the papers.

The Youth stay in school instead of going pro? Them ask why the Jamaican males nah go a college? When the Jamaican male do outstanding work like this, it is not in the paper but as them ketch certain player wid a stick a weed or poor corntail have his problem guess what?