• Any thoughts

Dada’ staying put

By Jermaine Wright

For one of Jamaica’s biggest up and coming young football prospects 2007 was a mix bag that tasted like honey in the middle with his Pan Am Games heroics but soured like a lemon towards the end, with the untimely loss of his coach and mentor David ‘Waga’ Hunt, who passed away in late October.

Former Jamaica College standout Kaemmar Daley soared to higher heights when he led the Under-20 Reggae Boyz to a historic silver medal at last year’s Pan American summer games in Rio de Jainero Brazil. The short, stocky forward’s stocks grew leaps and bounds as he soared above south America’s best in Argentina, Colombia and Mexico and ruled the goalscoring chart for the tournament with his four goals – a double in Jamaica’s 2 - 0 win over Argentina, as well as the lone goal in the 1-0 opener against Colombia and another in the win against Haiti while providing the assist on Ricardo Vernon’s goal in the controversial 1-2 loss to Ecuador in the gold medal match.

‘Dada’, as he is affectionately called, lived up to the local dub originally coined to hail the esteemed. Manning Cup followers would know that the little maestro was of totemic importance to the 2006 Walker Cup losing finalists (JC) and his presence on the pitch stroke fear into any opponent.

The quick, dynamic attacking midfield player often mesmerized opposing defenders, looking a man amongst boys at times during his six years of service for the ‘Dark Blues’.

However, ‘Dada’ stood out like a sore from an early age, playing youth football for Meadhaven United and later on the national Under-17 team or as his mother will tell you from he was in baby pampas kicking footballs relentlessly after watching the big boys play on the scrimmage field directly in front of their 100 Lane, off Red Hills Road address.

The two-footed striker/midfielder claims scoring goals is what tickles his fancy and not embarrassing defenders, which has become his trademark. And in the football worshipping country of Brazil, where natives proudly dance the samba to individual football brilliance, that golden ability from his repertoire of skills made Daley somewhat of a hot commodity, subsequent to the Pan Am Games.

Rumors
    A gold rush for talent is proverbial in football these days and the rumors swirled locally that a number of gold miners were hotly pursuing the 19-year-old from one of Jamaica’s most troubled inner-city communities.

However, Daley has been laying low since as there was never a real offer on the table according to him.

“Just talks. There hasn’t been anything concrete yet, nothing on paper. It would’ve mainly come from Brazil though because they were saying that they were impressed with how I played and that my style of play fitted the Brazilian league perfectly,” said Daley, who is uncertain of the exact clubs that relayed interest.

Also overseas universities and local clubs have expressed their eagerness to acquire his skills but Daley is apparently an adherent of the popular sayings “experience teaches wisdom” and “patience is a virtue” as he is contented on waiting on the right time to make the big move.

The quiet, unassuming Daley isn’t one for many words but was introspective in his answer as to the reason for turning down so many offers, as he doesn’t want to fall into the trap that so many of Jamaica’s brightest football prospects have in the past.

“I have researched, seen and heard of many footballers who go overseas and got lost in the system. I don’t want that for myself. I use my friend Dawayne Smith as positive example.

“I believe that I have to be in a similar position to which he was in before I can make that leap because I don’t want to suffer the embarrassment of coming back here and not accomplishing the goal,” Daley declared.
    Smith, another former Meadhaven standout played schoolboy football for Meadowbrook and Calabar High and was hailed as an outstanding student (had several CXC passes and left Calabar in Grade 13) as well as an outstanding defender, is now on a scholarship in the United States.
    The similar position Daley referred to was purely psychological, being aware of the intricacies and challenges that comes with striking the balance as a student athlete while overseas.
    As for that gaping gap between the coveted schoolboy football supremacy and senior ranks, Daley is of the view that a solid infrastructure is missing. One that would “provide the pivotal support system, guidance and motivation craved by young players.”

Hunt’s favourite
    There is where the bitter pill of losing a chief motivator in former national Under-17 and Meadhaven youth coach David Hunt becomes poignantly harder to swallow for Daley, because Hunt had the ability of providing the necessary guidance needed to propel his undeniable talent, into the professional field, where he ultimately aspires to be.
    “It has been really tough to deal with because whenever I had any kind of problem he was just a phone call away,” Daley said.

The coach was dubbed Santa Clause in jest by some, because of his unusual but patented white hair, but for a number of young footballers, he epitomised that, for his selfless, benevolent nature. His favorite elf, was reduced to tears when the sudden reality of Hunt’s permanent absence hit during the time for cheers (Christmas holidays).

“When I sat down and thought about him during the holidays tears came to my eyes, because I know that especially at this time, he would’ve given me a visit and probably give me a Christmas money.

“He did a lot for me. He was like a second father. He was that guidance and motivation that I needed, because he understood what came with a youngster living in the ghetto,” Daley said with his voice softening as his eyes drifted as if his mind briefly ran on his fallen coach.
    Life goes on
    Daley hasn’t fully overcome the shock of losing his mentor but knows that life goes on. He is prepared to place his trust in the one up above and although he didn’t declare it, seems hell bent on helping last year’s beaten finalists and this year’s Super League leaders Meadhaven over the final hurdle in Hunt’s honour.

No surprise there, as it would be uncanny for the laid back and modest Daley to declare a ‘Super League title/National Premier League promotion run for Hunt’ campaign but Daley subtly hinted a possible reason for turning down offers from some of the NPL’s most elite clubs.

“Meadhaven is home. We have a great bunch of players and coaches here and after coach (Hunt) dropped out I decided that I have to step up to the plate.”

Besides, that’s where he has been since age nine, scoring goals and winning youth championships home and abroad in numbers beyond his memory.

As for now, Daley is staying put and as according him, “further enhancing his head piece (mind)” (currently attending Quality Academics pursuing three additional CXCs to add to the four passes he got while at JC) and focusing on sharpening his football skills locally.

The current football climate seems to be a moving target with the emphasis now more on business and with so much talent to go around for talent hungry clubs. However Daley seems confident that with his immense talent, a good overseas offer will more than likely be on the table for him, as long as he stays away from trouble, a negative element that is prevalent where he resides.
    But the circumspect Daley is adamant to go around that obstacle, like how he effortlessly goes around his opposing defenders on the football pitch.

GO BACK

It's a coincidence that only a couple days ago Asassin and myself were discussing this youth. I understand his sentiments and loyalty to MeadHeaven, David Hunt and his team-mates at his community club; however, he has to seek the best possible avenue if he intends to make football be his career. He could end up playing close to ten years at MeadHeaven before seeing that team in Jamaica's top-flight football. That's the Fitzroy Anglin syndrome.

The best way, if he really wants to help his club, is to move out. He will get the constant visibility if he plays for one of the top 4 or top 5 clubs in the NPL. Then, he might be lucky enough to get an overseas contract; thereby, putting himself in a position to contribute to the further growth of MeadHeaven FC.

That said, it is not at all impossible for him to be pin-pointed by Rene Simoes - especially given that The Prof would've already seen him in the U-20 competion down in Brasil. But...his chances of bigger things would be vastly improved if he takes the next step.

Mo, I think this is a case where you could/should get ahold of this youth and give him some hard facts about the business of football. He was a Wagga Hunt project but now someone else needs to pick up the baton and help this youth see the path clearly.
    Last edited by Farmah; January 13, 2008, 01:20 PM.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

thanks for the feedback. So pro is his next avenue and not collegiate.. If its collegiate then they have to make sure he is ready also.

"Stood out like a sore"? A whe dem get dem writers and editors from?

Unuh now-a-days Jamaican journalists really take writing to another level.
          As mi good frien Collymore (former CC man, now deceased) would say, "such similies!"
          Last edited by Tilla; January 13, 2008, 03:11 PM.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Good arguments Farmah. The guy have to have the burning desire to do what is right for himself first. If he is an exceptional talent, he cannot want to hold himself back by thinking about the club where he started. He needs to know that even the Peles and Maradonas started with small clubs, but to further their career, they moved to the bigger clubs which brought them into the spotlight.

Mo, touch base wid this youth nuh?
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran