• MLS turns down Preston's offer for Twellman

Preston offer for Twellman rejected

MLS has turned down Preston North End's transfer bid of more than $2 million for New England striker Taylor Twellman. Both Preston North End chairman Derek Shaw and Revolution director of soccer Mike Burns Friday confirmed to ESPN.com that negotiations have ended.

But Twellman hopes to parlay the offer into a new contract which would raise his earning above the current $395,000 annual salary.

"Something's got to give," Twellman said. "They made me sign a contract for the minimum salary [in '02] and I've jumped through every hoop with a smile on my face. They said I hadn't scored for the national team, and now I've scored six goals, then they said I never received an international offer of any magnitude, and now I have that offer. Now, they can either re-sign me and make a long-term commitment to me, or they can make money off my sale and I'll be gone. They can't withhold me from making three times as much money as I make here."

(continue)

Why is the MLS killing these players future?

first it was Shalarie Josephs and now Twellman. This is a horrible move by the MLS.

Well, I can see Twellman's frustration. The timing is horrible, too. And it's not a bad offer that Preston is making. Problem is that he is the face of the team, and the must Revs feel that he could not be replaced very easily. So to them it's not worth it.

And at the end of the day Twellman signed a contract. He can only complain so much.

As for Shalrie Joseph, Celtic was offering peanuts for one of the best players in the league. It was a cynical attempt at lowballing the league, and MLS was right to tell them to go and stuff it.

you can gwaan talk. Shalrie was given pennies by New England and even when he contributed the Revs failed to make the man contract even equivalent to other players on the their team. They simple held the youth hostage. A just because him a nuh badman fi stop play and demand a trade. As for Taylor the man is not a young 20 year old and is looking to put some topping on his career with a big money trade that is well deserved.

Both players have contribed great to New England and they should realise that it is not good to kill people's career like that. Why didn't the MLS hold Freddie Adu?

This is not good for football and not good for the players.

Shalrie was given pennies by New England and even when he contributed the Revs failed to make the man contract even equivalent to other players on the their team.
          Wrong.

When he started he was on a low salary, which is normal for any player going to MLS out of college.

Now the only player on the team with a higher salary is Twellman.

LINK

Revolution hold firm on Twellman

Taylor Twellman admits he could not have envisioned 2007 playing out the way it did, in what could be best described as a dream scenario.

From emerging as a U.S. national team regular and playing a part in the U.S. team's Gold Cup victory, to enjoying another all-star season in MLS, to finally drawing serious interest from a European club that wishes to acquire his services -- it was almost everything Twellman could have asked for.

Almost.

(continue)