hey...i can still see my feet ....so .....
O'Brian White Wins M.A.C. Hermann Trophy
you think the man a like Karl who play the ball and a fi get a runner like inna cricket?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yuh see why I can't stand this search for UB40s. The really good players will be right under our noses but we ignore them because we believe that even Conference football is better than anything in the western hemisphere.
As you say, the man has already shown some commitment to us, more than even Daryl Vaz, and not even Nodley has done an article on him, to place him firmly in the minds of our coaches and our fans. Not saying that the JFF would be totally forgetful about his past or ignorant of his last season, but let's give him his due. Even Nosworthy had an article written the other day!
sigh
or even Gordon Williams I think the name is who give us a diet on Shawn Fraser and Andy Williams. I think he is in Florida.
Something nuh right bout this.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Sass, we have had some notables in the past. Big Congrats to O'Brien White and may he continue to do well.
Yes in the past we have had some good players on the college circuit. In the latter half of the 80's we had Nick and Chris Ziadie, Kingsley Chin, Robin Fraser and Peter Isaacs.
In 1989 Peter Isaccs was Ist Team All-American and was a finalist for the Herman Trophy.
Robin Fraser was an All-American in 1987 & 1988, and was also a finalist for the Herman Trophy. He eventually went on to play in the MLS and for the USA.
Chris Ziadie won some awards at Columbia and as an Ivy League player of the year for 2 years.
But the best of them was Dr Kingsley Chin. He was multiple player of year in the Ivy League. Won rookie honours and in 1987 won overall as the American College Player Of The Year. We are talking about a player who was at the top of his game for every year that he was at Columbia University, winning some kind of player of the year award for every season.
Yet, the Jamaican media did not care enough to laud them over the sports pages. Peter Isaacs did get a little mention, partly because he was a national player prior to coming to college in the USA. And of course, Peter did play in the biggest game of the NCAA - the finals for Howard U against Indiana.
I hope the Jamaican media will see to it that Obrien White gets his due accolades in the sports pages, so that The Prof can be apprised of his emergence. We don't want him to play for the USA. But a continued shun will do that to you. It did that to Robin Fraser, and you people don't know how close Granny Marshall came to giving in.Last edited by Farmah; January 12, 2008, 11:21 AM."The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
Originally posted by Farmah View Post...you people don't know how close Granny Marshall came to giving in."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
To a lesser extent he did. Granny Sr and one of my brother were good friends and race horse enthusiasts while Granny lived in S Fla. While he preferred that Marshall played for Jamaica, it really wouldn't have made a difference if his son had opted for the USA. Reason is that Granny Sr felt that, inspite of his remarkable skills while playing in Jamaica, he was bypassed a few times when he should've been selected. He felt that the colour card worked against him...I don't want to go into too much details here. Tyrone's mother, Yvonne I think her name is, was the one who was hell-bent on the younger Granny lacing up his boots for Jamaica. Time was creeping away from him at 26 y/o when Lazaroni came calling and played him in that match against Romania. Up to that point, Granny had got some offers to join the USA camp but had held out."The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
I have to give him a call. Have fi go pon the other side of town.
I will give Mark a visit soon.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Farmah View PostTo a lesser extent he did. Granny Sr and one of my brother were good friends and race horse enthusiasts while Granny lived in S Fla. While he preferred that Marshall played for Jamaica, it really wouldn't have made a difference if his son had opted for the USA. Reason is that Granny Sr felt that, inspite of his remarkable skills while playing in Jamaica, he was bypassed a few times when he should've been selected. He felt that the colour card worked against him...I don't want to go into too much details here. Tyrone's mother, Yvonne I think her name is, was the one who was hell-bent on the younger Granny lacing up his boots for Jamaica. Time was creeping away from him at 26 y/o when Lazaroni came calling and played him in that match against Romania. Up to that point, Granny had got some offers to join the USA camp but had held out.
He was quick - reaction time and across ground...excelelnt technically...and, scored quite a few goals. He was good! ...very good! ...but, the 'gods' did not take to him."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."