• Chelsea signs Anelka for £15m

Chelsea clinch £15m Anelka deal

Anelka joined Bolton in a £8m move from Fenerbahce

Chelsea will complete a £15m deal to sign Bolton's French striker Nicolas Anelka on Friday.
    BBC Sport understands that only formalities remain and the 28-year-old will sign in time to figure in Saturday's game against Spurs.
    Bolton have confirmed terms have been agreed and Anelka will sign a four-and-a-half year contract at Stamford Bridge.
    Bolton had earlier rejected a £12m offer from Chelsea for Anelka.
    Chelsea are without Didier Drogba and Salomon Kalou, who are away at the Africa Cup of Nations, while Andriy Shevchenko has an ankle injury.
    Shevchenko and Claudio Pizzaro, their other senior forward, have scored five Premier League goals between them this season.
    606: DEBATE
    Only time will tell as to whether Anelka will have the desired impact, but I'm delighted with the signing

OC

Bolton boss Gary Megson said: "I have spoken about the situation with Nic and we agreed there is not a massive amount he or I can do.
    "It is just as to whether the clubs can reach an agreement. I am still hopeful they can't and he stays here. But that remains to be seen.
    "However, the deal has to suit all the parties - the selling club, the buying club and the person involved."
    Anelka, who has scored 11 goals in 22 games this term, has been linked with a move to Stamford Bridge despite signing a new four-year deal with Bolton last August.
    He has made no secret of his desire to play in the Champions League and is still eligible for this season's competition.
    Anelka joined Bolton in 2006 from Turkish club Fenerbahce for a club record £8m.
    He has also played for Arsenal, Liverpool and Manchester City in the Premier League and won the Champions League while at Real Madrid.

Great pick-up for Chelsea and a big loss for Bolton. However, Bolton made some money off this deal and it's going to be interesting to see who they bring in to fill the gap. Jason Roberts maybe looking for a new home and he would not be a bad addition at the right price. I cannot think of any top flight striker who may be unsettled and looking for a new start. Jermaine Defoe has been told that he can leave Spurs but, he has made it clear that he wants to stay at White Hart Lane. The top strikers in the championship seem contempt with their present squads and vice versa. I believe the likes of Kevin phillips and James Beattie have had their hooray in the Prem and would not add anything to Bolton's survival fight. Fuller should stay at Stoke and try to take them up and Watford won't be letting King go on the cheap. So, where does Bolton go from here?

down?

kevin Phillips nuh bout 50 now? Last time me see him him coulda only manage 15 minutes a game in the Prem. A mean him still have a tiny punch but you think him can manage the ruff and tumble?

That's what I am saying above, at least I think that's what I am saying. The likes of Phillips and Beattie would not help Bolton's cause IMO even though they are on fire in the Championship. I honestly cannot think of any top flight player (striker) in England who may be unsettled at their present club and could come into Bolton and fill the void left by Anelka immediately. As stated before, Defoe wants to stay at Spurs and outside of him I cannot think of anyone else. Maybe, Dean Ashton but he stays on the trainers table so that would be a big gamble. Bolton best bet is bringing in some role players, i.e. Jason Roberts, who are proven fighters. They could scour Europe for a striker but the English Prem is notorious for the amount of time it takes a foriegn players(especially strikers) to settle in. Gamma assessment maybe harsh but true, unfortunately for Bolton supporters and Bibi.

Bolton will be relegated, unless they can sign a quality striker. None of their other strikers have done anything this season, and Diouf is on his way to the African Nations Cup.

liverpool not selling crouch again?

Yeh, dem ago sell him to Real Madrid mek we use him as the flag pole cause him nuh have nuh use pon the football field again.

That would be a great acquisition if they could pull it off but, I don't see Crouch living Liverpool for Bolton. Still Bolton style of play would do well with a Peter Crouch.