What is it about goal keeping and black players ?

• What is it about goal keeping and black players ?

I thought about this last night as I watched some Liverfool highlights and saw that their second string goalie is black, I wondered why is it that we have dominated and had some of the greatest players ever in every other position but we are yet to have a great or some great goalie's.

Is it the glamour that comes with other positions on the field ? Is it that we just don't like the position ?

We have Dida, James and Shaka to name a few but none of them have ever been # 1 in the world. What is it with us and goal keeping.

don't forget bernard lama......

goalie's are generally either suicidal maniacs or kamikaze warriors....by analogy ...how many black professional snowboarders or professional white water rapid canoeists yuh know?

Why do you think the problem is with us? Could it be with the way they see us. Athletic kid may not want to play goal so you have less of a pool. I coach youth soccer and only 1 out of 10 team in my league has a black goalie. It was not too long ago that they use to take the kid who could not run or had skills and say you go stand in the goal. Now we are seeing ( and we are encouraging) more athletic kids in goal but again when you are 9 or 10 its really up to what the kid gravitates to and want to do. They are good African goalkeepers but again you wont seem them on mass as they are also good European gks.

Goal keeping is not a glamor position, and the most athletic kids are more likely to be interested in attacking positions on the field.