• Simoes eyes Ricardo Cousins..

Taken from ovah suh.

Simoes eyes Under-20 skipper Cousins
    By Howard Walker Observer staff reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, January 09, 2008

National Under-20 captain Ricardo Cousins's dream of representing his country at the senior level may well become a reality after technical director Rene Simoes singled him out as one for the future.
    COUSINS... led Young Reggae Boyz to Pan-Am silver

Simoes, in addressing journalists on his arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport on Saturday, said he was impressed with Cousins at last year's Pan American Games in Brazil.

Said Simoes: "I saw one player, his name is Cousins. I saw on television he did great things in the Maracana Stadium. I was very impressed how a player can go to Maracana (one of the largest stadiums in the world) and play like that.

"This boy must have some quality. And I believe there are other ones here. We have to encourage them and say, 'hey show up, we are here to look at you'," added Simoes.

Cousin led the young Reggae Boyz to silver medal, losing 1-2 to Ecuador in the final after knocking off Haiti (4-0), Argentina (2-0), Colombia (1-0) and Mexico (5-4 on penalties).

Cousins, 20, in an earlier interview with the Observer, made his intentions clear in catching the eye of Simoes even before the technical director arrived in Jamaica.

The former Glenmuir student had just scored a peach of a freekick that enabled Portmore United to edge Tivoli Gardens 1-0 in the first end-of-round final.

Cousins said he has a plan - just continue to score - and hopes that his exploits on the field will woo the new technical director.
    Said Cousins then: "My thought and motivation is that Rene Simoes will be here, so I have to put myself in a position where he can look at me and give me a chance, so I am working on it.

"I am in great form now and I will continue to work hard," said Cousins, who has scored six goals in the last six games.

But little did he know that Simoes already had him under the radar, having caught the eye of the Brazilian as far back as six months ago.

he need to look at obrien also.

Well Prof., if yuh rate cousins den
      cousins yuh ah big balla. Wha yuh say lazie? heehee

Does he realise that Cousins plays for Portmore and not Portsmouth?

Well Prof., if yuh rate cousins den
          cousins yuh ah big balla. Wha yuh say lazie? heehee
          This is the same U20 that played in Mexico last year?

An established BRASILIAN INT'L coach
            respects the man's game. I don't care for details.

yes him need fi take a look pon Obrien.

A wonder if him have a email address?

An established BRASILIAN INT'L coach
                respects the man's game. I don't care for details.
                '
                ... you're not the only one.

Here we go again, Mo this is
                  modern football. The prof. see a likeness in cousins to Appiah and Essien (sp) mi done tell yuh say big coaches ah go stay far from yuh bwoy. Watch di role wha cousins ah go play fi yaad. Him ah go buss big time.

Do you realise the Hue might get touch ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I think the prof. pick di side off the
                      U20 he may just be searching for someone near to Tappa now and
                      that's it. Well if Obrien is near Tappa, him can watch him phone.

I think the prof. pick di side off the
                        U20 he may just be searching for someone near to Tappa now and
                        that's it. Well if Obrien is near Tappa, him can watch him phone.
                        See ... I'm obviously talking to smady whey nuh know ball. Some being a gladiss fi a change nuh?

The man is the leading scorer in any season for UCONN and is the College player of the year.

He can be a forward and attacking midfield and remember that this is the team that Akeem Priestly is on as well. He is good enough fi watch his phone, the only problem is will Simoes hear about him? As he will not be going to MLS this season.

JFF has not called Obrien in how long even though the have used Akeem.

This is the same U20 that played in Mexico last year?

no may be an under 17/18 team mixed not the under 20

I know that priestly is a talent;
                              let's see how the prof. sees him.