• Simoes to place special emphasis on youth

Monday, January 07, 2008

Simoes to place special emphasis on youth

Technical Director of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), Professor Rene Simoes (right), addresses the media at a press conference in the VIP Lounge on arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport on Saturday. Looking on is JFF President, Captain Horace Burrell. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Newly appointed technical director of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), Brazilian Rene Simoes, says he will be paying special attention to the development of youth football during his three-year contract.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...240&category=1

Watch the Captain looking like the evil mastermind behind the plan.

"looking like"?!!!

With all due respect Mr. Simoes........MI NUH BUSINESS 'BOUT NO RHATID YOUTH.........Just qualify the senior men for the WC and done. It would be a crime to make this current player pool go to waste. - T.K.

Tk what age group girls are you coaching right now?

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            Tk what age group girls are you coaching right now?
            U18 - T.K.

are you doing anything special for scholarship bound players? do you do showcases

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                are you doing anything special for scholarship bound players? do you do showcases
                No I don't do anything special for the scholarship bound players. If they are good enough and have the grades the schools will find them as long as we are in the showcases.

We have been doing showcases for the last two years. Every single one of our players have been through ODP so alot of their recruiting happened through those events. This is the most talented group I have ever coached.

As for the showcases this fall we did the wags tournament, raleigh shootout, bethesda, and disney. The majority of the kids had already decided on schools they would be attending during the summer. Everyone had it figured out by labor day. We currently have 3 who are freshmen in college already (Maryland, Boston U, and Eastern Kentucky).

Everyone else is committed or graduating next year in 2009. Those who are going to be freshmen in college this fall will go to Wake Forest, George Mason, Liberty University, Boston College, University of Florida, Marshall University, Florida State, 2 to the University of Pittsburgh, and Penn State. I believe I named them all. - T.K.