• H'View machine crush Sporting 3-0

H'View machine crush Sporting 3-0
    Livingston Scott, Observer staff reporter
    Thursday, January 03, 2008

Champions Harbour View outclassed Sporting Central 3-0 at Brancourt yesterday to start the year on a winning note, as the CPPL resumed after the holiday break.

Goals from Richard Edwards (15th), Fabian Taylor (68th) and Kavin Bryan (84th) gave the visitors a resounding victory in one of their best performances of the season.

"I think the surface had a lot to do with it; we love the passing game and this surface is good for us. We did well, especially to score three goals; it's the first in a long while... and we didn't give up any," said winning coach Lenworth Hyde.

Harbour View, especially through Jermaine Hue, controlled the game from the opening whistle and were finding acres of room, so it was no surprise when Edwards rose above the Sporting defence to head home Lovell Palmer's left-side cross.

Looking a cut above their opponents, Harbour View rang rings around their opponents and came close to adding to their tally through Palmer, Hue and Bryan.

The introduction of Cornell Learmond early in the second half gave the home team some thrust going forward, and he had a great chance to score, but put his shot wide on the hour.

Harbour View made it 2-0 when Sporting's goalkeeper Leighton Murray found Lance Laing's free-kick too hot to handle and Taylor was on hand to stab home the rebound.
    And as the vistors toyed with the home team in the final minutes, Keith Kelly released Byran, who rounded Murray before scoring Harbour View's third goal.

Sporting Central's coach Kevin Williams conceded that his team was outplayed.

"Harbour View was a better team in all departments today. We didn't do as well as we should, but they looked as if they were on their training ground," he said.

Sporting Central - Leighton Murray, Dushane Ashman, Carlton Aikens, Marlon Allen (Shaun Francis 46th), Romaine Barnes, Jevaughn Watson, Dwayne Ford, Sean Coleman, Karl Wiggan, Hughan Gray (Cornell Learmond 49th), Greg Gardener (Oneke Ford 56th).
    Subs not used: T Smith; I Palmer; V Gardener; W Ricketts.

Harbour View - Dwayne Miller, Clifton Waugh, Christopher Harvey, Kevin Wooley, Lance Laing, Donald Stewart (Oneil Smith 77th), Richard Edwards (Loxley Thomas 85th), Lovel Palmer, Jermaine Hue (Keith Kelly 80th), Kavin Bryan, Fabian Taylor.

Booked: Stewart 17th, Edwards 68th.

Subs not used: L Wright; R Thomas; G Simpson.

Referee: Ricardo Salesman

Assistants: A Williams, D Washington

Fourth Official: D Royal

Match Commissary: T Gordon

Great to see HV doing well as always. Even better to see Jermaine get his swagger back. We need the dead ball specialist.

A couple questions:

1. How do you feel about the match up with DC United in the Concacaf Cup?

2. Also what are your thoughts on the new champions league style competition for the region starting in August and the benifits to teams like HV?

3. With MLS new foreign player rule, allowing 8 foreign players regardless of age, do you think we'll see a considerable increase in Jamaican talent making their way to the states? - T.K.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
      Great to see HV doing well as always. Even better to see Jermaine get his swagger back. We need the dead ball specialist.
      Yes, he has been getting some individual big-ups in the paper again recently. Not sure it will do any good re the national team, however.

A couple questions:

1. How do you feel about the match up with DC United in the Concacaf Cup?
      The Caribbean Champs always seem to do better than I expect, so anything is possible. Hopefully, HVFC will be on form when they meet because they seem to have gone thru some tuff times recently. Let's hope they don't play in freezing temps this time around. The first match is in Jamaica so that's good.

2. Also what are your thoughts on the new champions league style competition for the region starting in August and the benifits to teams like HV?
      I hope the costs aren't prohibitive. Not sure it would work still because of the fan support for some of our teams, incl. those in North America.

3. With MLS new foreign player rule, allowing 8 foreign players regardless of age, do you think we'll see a considerable increase in Jamaican talent making their way to the states? - T.K.
      I have always said there are a lot of players in our leagues that could at least warm the bench in the MLS. 25 Adus? Yes! So, I welcome that revised rule.

Dat a story? pszeeeeht!! (kiss teeeet) Si di real story yah:

Boys' Town strike sinks Arnett
        published: Thursday | January 3, 2008

Audley Boyd, Assistant Sport Editor

ARNETT [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]GARDENS[/COLOR][/COLOR] fell into the Premier League's relegation zone for the first time in years after losing 1-0 to Boys' Town in a Trench Town derby both teams felt they had to win.
        Oneil McDonald netted the all-important goal at the 56th minute and they fought hard to maintain that advantage in a scrappy affair.
        The goal came from a one-kick [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]counter[/COLOR][/COLOR] after Boys' Town goalie Philmore Crumbie plucked a corner kick out of the air. He launched a kick that bounced straight over the head of Arnett's central defenders, leaving McDonald to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]sprint[/COLOR][/COLOR] away unchallenged before lashing a shot past Arnett custodian Julian McLeish.
        Second yellow card
        Arnett were reduced to 10 players soon after the goal, at the 63rd minute when Fabian Smith, cautioned as early as the fifth minute for a tackle in Boys' Town's half, picked up a second yellow for another dangerous challenge.
        "We wanted to win and keep Arnett behind us. It was very important. We came into the game wanting to win and keep them behind us," said Boys' Town coach Andrew Price.
        Max Straw of Arnett noted the same reason for pulling a midfielder early in the second half. He said: "Before it started I said I had to win this game. We just couldn't afford to draw. Boys' Town were ahead of us and we just had to get ahead of them."
        Core players
        Arnett were without their established core players.
        Kevin Wilson and Leon Strickland, who have combined for at least 90 per cent of the team's goals this season, along with Cornel Chin-Sue, Gerald Neil and Jerry Walters, watched from the stands. Another striker, Marcelino Blackburn, is headed for Harbour View, while Strickland and Kwame Richardson, who hasn't featured this season, are headed for Waterhouse.
        Boys' Town 1
        Oneil McDonald 56th Arnett Gardens 0
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Yes, he has been getting some individual big-ups in the paper again recently. Not sure it will do any good re the national team, however.

The Caribbean Champs always seem to do better than I expect, so anything is possible. Hopefully, HVFC will be on form when they meet because they seem to have gone thru some tuff times recently. Let's hope they don't play in freezing temps this time around. The first match is in Jamaica so that's good.

I hope the costs aren't prohibitive. Not sure it would work still because of the fan support for some of our teams, incl. those in North America.

I have always said there are a lot of players in our leagues that could at least warm the bench in the MLS. 25 Adus? Yes! So, I welcome that revised rule.
          I don't see how it could not do any good for the national team. In this day and age every team needs a dead ball specialist. 1/3rd of a team's goals comes from the dead ball. Without a Jermaine Hue we would for all intent and purposes be sacrificing at minimum a 3rd of all of our goal scoring opportunities. (not to mention the goals he creates from the open field)

Yeah HV played well against DC in the freezing temps last time. If they play the game at the Maryland Soccer Plex again it will always be cold up there. As well it is ALWAYS windy at the Maryland Soccer Plex so HV should be prepared not only to be bundled up but also to play some ugly football to grind out a result. If it is at RFK, which is unlikely, the wind won't be an issue.

You speak about fan support for the new look champions league style competition in August......what was the stadium crowd like when HV hosted DC last time? I personally am really excited for the new format. I think it could really give our players serious exposure to professional clubs. Also our NPL clubs could make real good contacts in the US and Mexico for friendlies or for selling players to. I pray it becomes a prestigous event for our region. The Concacaf cup was nice but it lacked the sizzle you get from a big competition. By allowing more teams making it similar to what we are accustomed to seeing in Europe and Sa we could be onto something major here.

Yeah man I think MLS new foreign player rule will be great for Jamaican players. Teams can now by their 2-3 central american players to fill seats, their 1 DP to sell tv time, and will be looking for inexpensive players for the other spots. You can get more quality for your dollar going with a Jamaican player. As well Jamaican players if they are succesful in MLS are easier to sell overseas than a central american player. I think it could really turn out to be great for our footballers. - T.K.

You speak about fan support for the new look champions league style competition in August......what was the stadium crowd like when HV hosted DC last time? I personally am really excited for the new format. I think it could really give our players serious exposure to professional clubs. Also our NPL clubs could make real good contacts in the US and Mexico for friendlies or for selling players to. I pray it becomes a prestigous event for our region. The Concacaf cup was nice but it lacked the sizzle you get from a big competition. By allowing more teams making it similar to what we are accustomed to seeing in Europe and Sa we could be onto something major here.
            Exposure is always a good thing, so the new format would be great. I just hope it works financially, because if it doesn't, it will be history.

Jah know, mi side a suffer from the Ruxie View Syndrome. Win summ'n and then start flop. I cant believe dem a fall into that trap. Dem better get them ting sort out yaah star.

Yes, that's a good way to put it. Erm, please dress up dat name sah, bout Ruxie View!

The other thing is Cousins is looking quite ordinary of late. Is it because of Austin's presence? Austin, by the way, is looking very good and should make a strong case for himself in Simoes' team.

And that was no goal that Tivoli scored against PMU. It should have been a foul against the scorer. The referees are sinking to some lows never before ventured by sports officials.