Is Lack of Skilled players England's demise?

• Is Lack of Skilled players England's demise?

MyYute pointed out how villified Glen Hoddle and Li Tissier were because of their propensity to display flair over mechanics on the field. I think it's not a case of not having skillful players (afterall they have Joe Cole, Wayne Rooney & SWP) but instead a case of not encouraging players to show what the good Lord gave them. Here's a story below from the The New York Times.

[Oh...just to divert a little : West Indies bowled out for 408. C/Paul 104.]
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    Sun Has Set on English Soccer

By Jack Bell
    Tags: England, Euro 2008, Fox Soccer Channel, MLS, TV, United States
    Ross Parker and Harry Par-Davies. Hugh Charles and Vera Lynn.
    No, they were not famous soccer players. They were the writers, lyricist and most popular singer of the 1940 song “There’ll Always Be an England.”
    In international soccer, there will always be an England, but it simply will not be a global power in what is no longer England’s game, but the world’s game.

Since crashing at home against Croatia and failing to qualify for next summer’s European Championships, England has been plunged into despair. Steve McClaren lost his job as the coach of the national team; officials of the English Football Association have begun a global search for a new gaffer, as the Brits call the major domo on the bench; and the powers that be launched a gut-wrenching evaluation of what has gone wrong in the birthplace of the game.

What has gone wrong? It’s the players, stupid. For all the articles written and all the words spoken about coaches from Alf Ramsey to Sven Goran Eriksson, the fact is the coach does not play in the games. England, compared to Brazil, Italy, Argentina, even Croatia, lacks skilled and creative players.

Where else in the world could a 30-something David Beckham be considered for national team duty? Why, in merry olde England, where crosses from the flanks are still seen as the most direct route to scoring a goal. Where else are skillful dribblers and nippy little magicians ridiculed as ball hogs? Where else is the term “work rate” really just a substitute for pointless running? And where in European soccer are there fewer Brazilians playing in the what the English like to call the best league in the world? Then again, how many English players have succeeded in Italy, Spain or Germany the past 10-15 years?

In my mind, there was nothing quite as absurd as when the Peruvian Nolberto Solano, playing for Newcastle, scored a scintillating goal using the outside of his right foot to tuck a shot from 18 yards inside the far post. A British television commentator said: “A great goal, but of course he should have used his left foot.” Huh? What? Are you kidding me?
    According to a study by the Center for Economic and Business Research, England’s failure to qualify will cost about $2 billion in lost revenue from TV advertising, travel expenditures and money lost by betting companies (but saved by bettors) — not to mention a loss of prestige that has an incalculable value.

On this side of the Atlantic, the blind devotion to English soccer marches on unabated.

When will Americans realize that there is little today to emulate in the English game? When will Americans realize that a British accent is no guarantee a coach knows what he’s doing? When will we stop importing British players to M.L.S.?

The Fox Soccer Channel, an otherwise invaluable resource for live Premier League, Serie A and other leagues from around the world (not to mention Major League Soccer matches) compounds this problem. FSC, part of Rupert Murdoch’s media empire, seems forever locked in an embrace of the British flag, obviously because Murdoch’s Sky Sports has the domestic rights to E.P.L. games.

So what do we get over here? Endless highlights of the English game, replete with announcers with English or Scottish accents, speaking in what they claim are soccer terms — pitch, kit, football, gaffer, brace, tapping up — but are really creeping Britishism.

For all its value, which is not to be underestimated or denigrated, FSC should be more, much more, to the game in North America. It is oh-so-easy to push a couple of buttons and dump highlights on viewers, that’s fine. Why can’t FSC ween itself from all things England and do a better job covering the sport in the United States?

For example, on the night after last week’s M.L.S. Cup, FSC’s nightly report led with more than 20 minutes of recap of Euro 2008 games — from two days earlier — and then teased the games two days hence before they got to a cursory recap of the domestic championship.

Wouldn’t a “60 Minutes” type show focusing on soccer in the United States (and Canada too, since the nightly highlight show emanates from Winnipeg, Manitoba) be a welcome addition? Come on, stick a crowbar in your pocket, spend some money and do a bit more, something original, something non-English.

The on-air personalities at FSC were as crestfallen over England’s elimination as the thousands of fans who trudged home from Wembley last Wednesday after the Croatia game. But FSC’s viewership is hardly composed exclusively of expatriates.

England most certainly gave the game to the world. But the game and the world have changed and England is not the power it once was. Of course, we have a language in common, but the lesson for the game in the United States, which has begun to emerge in exciting ways, is that we need to look beyond England before being seduced by those charming accents.
    Last edited by Farmah; December 27, 2007, 09:22 AM.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

England players are largely EPL first team rejects(SWP, Brown,,Defoe Crouch,etc), and the few that we expect to start, we also expect to again underachieve(Lampard, Gerrard..).
    It raises serious questions as to the quality of the pool of players available.
    England managers should encourage their players to play elsewhere.

Blessed

Skillful? Then you say
      Joe cole, Rooney and Swp. Boss don't confuse speed (with sudden stops and turns) with skill.

Blessed Love Rockman.

It raises serious questions as to the quality of the pool of players available.
        Yes, but the answer is within the population itself. The law of averages will dictate that in a country of that many millions of people there ought to be at least 50 good players of worthy talent. The fact is, as MyYute alluded to in another post, England put industrious players on a pedestal while stifling the talented ones. They call them ball-hogs and basically leave them off first teams as a means of punishment; thereby, discouraging a honing of skills.

You're spot on when you pointed out the following:
        England managers should encourage their players to play elsewhere.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Please tell me Jawge, that you're not saying that running at full speed with the ball, then stopping and turning are not part of the developmental skills you teach your little ones.

Well if that's all the skill you have, then
            it's small wonder why england is having so much trouble. Even after teaching my mid how to dribble and hold ball in tight spaces, I said you need more tricks to carry in your back (I also said it will take time, just doesn't come overnight).

Running and pushing the ball has its use but experienced defenders will close you down. Won't be the same for scrimmage street baller who has been groomed by a professional coach.

Please read my post again and pay attenton to the word "p a r t."

i was referring to this
                statement: think it's not a case of not having skillful players (afterall they have Joe Cole, Wayne Rooney & SWP) but instead a case of not encouraging players to show what the good Lord gave them.

I don't know if you did an edit and took out "part" but I didn't see it. No problem still, not here to fuss nor fight. If you say they skillful, so be it.

And there again you have it: "...a case of not encouraging players to show..." You responded to one post and now cite another! Come now Jawge do better than that.

Anyway Jawge, you're preaching to the choir! I believe in all the tools when a player comes forth with all the skills. But most of England's players will lack development in some areas while quite adept in others. You know why? The academies at the clubs. That is what they do but then it all comes down to what is termed English Ball. There is a big reason why Gazza was much more skillful than the vast majority of players coming out of England.

Skillful? Then you say
                    Joe cole, Rooney and Swp. Boss don't confuse speed (with sudden stops and turns) with skill.
                    England has skillfull players, the problem is they are discouraged from showing their creativity on the field. Don't get me wrong, they are not Brasil (well nobody else is), but they do have them.

Some good points, but one wonders if all this is not simply driven by the lack of attention paid to America's soccer. Certainly, dragging ourselves from the British game should not mean pulling up to watch Real Salt Lake battle the Red Bulls.

What England need to do is fire all the old school failed coaches inna them FA, who believe ina old school football to the death.

Stuart Pierce is a breath of fresh air. See what him a do wid the under 21? with players such as Walcott, Gabi etc.?

Look under McClaren there was no element of surprise at all in the game, you could read the game from a mile away.

Why was Gazza more skillful? Thanks.

Yes Dread I agree
                            England has skillfull players, the problem is they are discouraged from showing their creativity on the field. Don't get me wrong, they are not Brasil (well nobody else is), but they do have them.
                            Been there seen that! Plenty little youths (especially those of Caribbean; African and Arab [Yes Arab] descent) deh all parts of England displaying dribbling skill with the ball. The problem is that they are not seen as fitting the profile of what the clubs want in their academies. More emphasis and credit is placed on hustling, working hard and running non-stop. Now, I'm not saying that these are not attractive attributes but that - to me - is just a part of the package.

By the way, is it any wonder that three of England's most talented players (Hoddle, Le Tissier and Gascoigne) were not nurtured in the academies!

Jawge, Gazza honed his skills on the streets and parks. He was playing from about the age of four. He played with older kids and had to learn to hold his ball. Had he gone to an academy he would not have been allowed to develop his skills the way the streets and parks helped him.

Did you know that when he first sought to enter the club system - at around age 15 - three of the big clubs rejected him and told him that he was a ball-hog. The world would not have known the great Gazza if Newcastle(?) had not given him a chance.
                              Last edited by Farmah; December 27, 2007, 02:39 PM.