Re: William Moravek

• Re: William Moravek

I received your voicemail Mosiah (and there was another gentleman from Canada about Longwood). Please contact Jon Atkinson in regards to the footballing matters and recruits. His email is AtkinsonJd@longwood.edu Longwood had its best season in D1 this past fall losing in the conference Championship in sudden death penalty kicks. The school had good results with wins over Radford a tie against NC State a tightly contest match at South Carolina which was called due to storms....and for all you Howard folks...a win against Howard playing a man down for a full 87 minutes.

I am going to be continuing with the program in a part time role as my attention is switching to my boys. We have just come back from England where my oldest just played with Arsenal, Manchester United, Chelsea, Fulham, Bolton and Southampton. Needless to say, they were all very very impressed and as such will be moving back to England by the end of next year so he can play with Arsenal. He is a wicked ball handler, can do anything with the football dribbling and is very very fast. For all you track people out there he has run a 400 metres (with know one running with him..just by himself) in 92 seconds..and he is only just 5 1/2!

Good luck Sa.

Good to see the youth a progress. Good luck to you and family.

question. I have a two youngsters, the oldest is two year old. I know there are many programs out there and I will be giving them lessons as well but is there any "special program" to make them play and enjoy themselves that you used?

Keep encouraging them and making it fun...and putting them in positions, especially when they first start, to be successful..so they can gain a level of confidence to help culitvate their interest and love for the game.

My two boys only started about a year ago..and to see them now..you would think they had been playing ever since they could walk. My oldest has incredible technique. His level is such now..along with his confidence that when he went to England and played with Arsenal's U-7's and Manchester United's Elite 8's, he looked as if he had always been there. And to be fair the environment was quite daunting for someone who had never been there before with a ton of people watching. But he has been down to Washington DC alot with the inner city youth, he was around Longwood University players this past fall (which is the reason why I went there in the first so they could be around it), he went to Bremuda for a week and now the two week trip in England. So he has been exposed to aot of differnet peoples, culuteres...and of course my school programs..which has helped in his development.

On a different topic...Alot has been said about England's academies and thier failure to produce talent. I have found the top 2-4 clubs are very much progressive..especially more recently to many of the others. These clubs are all about individual development and letting players express themselves on the ball. In fact Arsenal and Manchester United had youth that played like some of the best professionals in terms of their technical ability and dribbling...unlike any other kids I had seen any where else. It was incredible in fact. However, some of the other clubs are a bit outdated I think and do not encourage these types of environments unfortunately.

Thanks.
        I am always around soccer and watching, I have bought them balls and so far they have been playing with them very good. I know it maybe another year or so before I actually teach them about the game. If they want to play I will give them all the support and oppurtunties to move ahead.

The good thing is they can travel to Jamaica and England as we have close family in both coutries. We will definately been spending time in the future.

also...we concentrate on technique..and more technique...

alot of dribbling...mainly dribbling..1v1, 1v2, 1v3 and on up even...with the ability to stike the ball with either foot..controlling the ball with either foot on the move...but tons of dribbling. Also we use primarily a size 1..sometimes size 2 footballs. I find the bumpiest dirt and rock filled field..and that is what we work on..and alot on the sand. If they can handle the footabll on these types of surfaces they can handle it on anything. And of course teaching them a work ethic that is synonymous with fun.

Best of luck to you..the good thing about the city youth in London with those clubs is it is very diverse as you know...and Arsenal in particular had alot of players of colour playing...and coaching...which is a healthy mix. Good luck!

Bill, please allow me to play the devil's advocate here. Football is a business and it all comes down to the dollar (or pound in Britain's case). In economic terms the big bosses want to spend less and earn more. So then, if a club can gain the Comparative Advantage (a case where it's cheaper for another country to produce the required goods) why should the business men who own these clubs go out and create academies when it costs them less to buy a Drogba from Africa rather than try to develop their own? And let's not forget that it's only a small percentage of the players in the academies really amount to being a good baller!!

NB: I believe in developing rather than buying.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I understand completely....the percentages are stacked against you either way..even if you are in continenal Europe. I know from a personal standpoint..we are not going over there with the illusion our boys will become professional footballers..or even get a scholarship in the USA (which many of the parents in the USA are like..and its ridiculous). All I know is that because of what I do for a living...I have recognised a gift..and I want to put them in the best possible environment I have access to for them to hopefull realise this potential. That potential may end up only playing high school football...or even in a couple years they may switch altogether and play the violin. In any case...the intent is to hopefully uncover what they have and expose them as well to develop as people socialy and academically.

I want to provide a balance...where I can have a major influence..but also have them with coaches that have the same view of the game as I...and like minded players who can test them. We have pockets of this in the USA...but it is so spread out everywhere that it makes it difficult.

Trust me...I know what Africa...and South America have to offer..and understand why the players are the way they are. I can only try and duplicate that as best I can.

But more to your comment...I just had a discussion with one of England's National coaches...and I said that England..and the USA were much to structured for the youth....over coaching etc. etc. and that you could go to Africa...and pick from the top national teams..and immediately put any one of those players in a top club in Europe..and they will be able to provide something special unlike any of the kids they have developed. The top clubs are recognising this now and changing..because they are seeing the financial benefits as well. Arsenal's 16's will be the first group to thru since the inception of the academy programs. Most of which have stayed with teh club and 5 of them are with the national teams. I suppose time will tell just how effective they will be should they become full time professionals. Good points though

We have a lot of family in Birmingham and that is where we normally go. Aston Villa had a good academy.

Bill I don't think if a kidcontinue to play until the end of high school through a decent academy program, he could get a college scholarship if he needs it and try hard enough. It may not be a D1 school in the worst case but there are many colleges who are looking for a decent player.

True...but I am not thinking about any of that now...as they are so young...even though they are wicked lolol....by the way he can do any of the stuff like Ronaldinho...like the snake..in the air as well..and inside out in the air...but in combinations with other moves...unbelievable really...best of luck to you and your boy!

Bill, sounds like you are creating a
                        Brasilian Do you have any videos?

WoW that is incredible, doing that kinda stuff.
                          Wish you luck, keep us up to date.

One thing for sure my boys them have energy so we will see.

I had some of my my staff this some summer...one who had played for Athletico Madrid...and another who had played some internationals for Peru...and they were simply amazed...they were trying desperately to let me allow them to put him on youtube. My guys from the English academies had said they had never seen anyone like him over there at that age.

When he went to Arsenal..the coach came to me after and said..could he come over now? I started laughing...and he said that he was in the top 2-3 players they had in those younger age groups now if he went over. And with the development centres you have to be invited in..so they are kids that are scouted and brought in. The scout said when we move over all the clubs would be after him including them.

I'll try and get something in the near future to post.

oh yeah...and if the old school England coaches can keep their hands of the young youths I saw...look out. Because they were better than any youth players I had seen anywhere...magical with the ball. That seems the direction England are going now in light of all the stuff thats been going on with their senior players..and thats coming from one of their national coaches I spoke with that said as much.