Originally posted by OJ View Post
    Karl you never seems to amaze.
    How fast is Zindane?
    Is Zindane world class:
    So Langley has the technical and tactical ability of Zidane?
    Great !

You may have noticed I spoke of Langley's speed across ground, his level of technical and tactical ability...and, all in the context of where we(? ...I) want our Reggae Boyz to be???? ...or, did you?

OK! let me go a little bit further I would willingly give up Langley if I had a player to fit in his position who thinks faster and makes better choices than he does...and, also is faster across ground, even if that player is slightly poorer technically - (notice I did not say less efficient technically as he is not even good technically as he does not carry out his tasks swiftly) - than he is!

The very first thing about this game, once an understanding of keeping possession is understood, is getting to the ball first! That getting to the ball first enables "the doing of all other things"!

It is simple really - If the opponent gets to ball first...the opponent is in control of what happens next! ...the game is all about "making the ball do as willed". Putting it into the back of the opponets net! Keeping it away from the opponent! All other skills - physical & mental - are used for those purposes only - i) keeping the ball away from opponents/keeping ball for TEAM and ii), putting the ball in the opponets goal!

Unfortunately if the opponent is always getting to the ball first and keeping it away from you and your teammates it means....

I am viewing Langley (The Langley I saw last!) and Claude Davis (The Claude Davis I am seeing in the EPL) among others as not where we (...I) would wish our Reggae Boyz to be!

I am also acknowledging that if they are the very best we have there is no choice...but, in having our third-rate performances!

...YES!
    We must strive to make that TEAM best it ever can be...but, the reality is it can only be a third rate TEAM if the performers are only third-rate.

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
      Dread, Langley is at Luton but he is on the IR list. He is rehabbing an injured knee and says he should back to full fitness by February. He thinks he could make a go at it right now because he feels good; however, he has decided to follow the doctor's order and go through the full length of therapy. He is looking forward to first team play at Luton and helping the ReggaeBoyz in the World Cup Qualifying.

He is accessible and will answer any queries you have. Contact him at:
      langley@icons.com
      Thanks Farmah.

I have seen Shavar shut down Beasley and Damani Ralph when they were on fire for the Chicago Fire. I was wondering why are we saying Shavar was slow.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Shavar is slow. Anyone can see that. However, he is good at reading plays and because of that it makes up for a lot of what he lacks in pace.

And no one was really disputing whether he was slow or if he was a speed ball. Shavar has shown that despite his deficiency, he can be a good defender against even some of the quickest attackers.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Maudib, re: "...him bawn yah suh??"

Please refer to article 2 (law of the blood) in The Jamaican Nationality Act, within The Jamaican Constitution. A quick glance will clear up any confusion you may have.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by Me View Post
                Shavar is slow. Anyone can see that. However, he is good at reading plays and because of that it makes up for a lot of what he lacks in pace.
                The problem with this is as we go further towards TOP OF THE WORLD the players you meet are faster, quicker thinkers, better tactically...and, they exploit every weakness.

Meeting a player slower than you are means TEAMmates passing the ball in a manner where you put the slower opponent into foot races against faster runners - Passing into space -wide, behind...etc...and 'out speeding' the slower man!

Look up Sarcasm in the dictionary.

Karl, again, find us the players who are better and then we can kick Shavar, Langley and Big Claude to the curb. As long as we are yet to identify those players you dream of, we can only work with what we have.

I say let us take it one step at a time. Let us get to the top of CONCACAF first, then we work on TOP OF THE WORLD.

Maudib you got me!! Respect Sah!
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Karl, again, find us the players who are better and then we can kick Shavar, Langley and Big Claude to the curb. As long as we are yet to identify those players you dream of, we can only work with what we have.

I say let us take it one step at a time. Let us get to the top of CONCACAF first, then we work on TOP OF THE WORLD.
                        Said nothing about "kick to the curb"!
                        ...but, the call for the finding of 'better players' is bang on! Who knows perhaps some of these guys will 'come awake' and by performances show selves to be 'better players'?

Good enuff to get two goals against Japan!

Langley nuh good. END OF STORY. PPL a talk like say him is a slow baller but him good. Wrong! Langley nuh good, Full Stop.

Lionpaw jamaica need micah hyde , langley to run the mid you cannot put cousins there him nuh ready

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                                Lionpaw jamaica need micah hyde , langley to run the mid you cannot put cousins there him nuh ready

Naminirt you are a Genious,I saw Micah hyde play against USA 2004 WCQ and he is capable to command di centre, cousins nuh ready yet(not to put him down).This is not like when simoes was training jamaica like a club team where he could equip the younger Bibi at the time in the centre.Naminirt a so mi knoo Trini know dem ball.respect.