• Musings From Richie Langley

Favourite Movie Star
    Samuel L. Jackson

What's Playing On your Car Stereo
    JayZ

Favourite Club
    It's got to be Liverpool but only because of John Barnes.

What Car Do you drive
    Mercedes CLK

Favourite Meal
    My own cooking. I just learned how to cook chicken curry (sic) using my Gran's recipe. I can't tell you the secret ingredients or I'd have to kill you.

How Did You Get Into Football
    My Dad coached youth teams and took me to the park from I was a toddler. I was spotted by a scout from QPR when I was around 9 or 10. I was at that time playing sweeper for my school team. The scout contacted my Dad and I was signed to the QPR youth team.

Did You Play Any Other Sport
    Oh yes I played cricket in school and was a very good batsman at the #3 and #4 spots.

Most Disappointing Moment
    I was included in an England U16 squad with Michael Owen and Stephen Gerrard but then had to miss the tour due to injury.

Were You Always Good At Football
    No. I was actually cut from the QPR youth squad but my Dad and an Assistant Coach begged them to give me another chance. I'll always be grateful to that coach for sticking up for me and begging QPR to take me back

Favourite Holiday Destination
    Jamaica

So How Did You End Up Playing For Jamaica
    The president of the JFF called me. My Dad and all the relatives on his side are from Jamaica so everyone was thrilled.

International Debut
    Jamaica vs Nigeria in London. My Mum and Dad were in the stands and I felt very proud wearing the Jamaican shirt.

A Scary Football Moment
    When I lined up in the tunnel for the Jamaica vs Brazil game and looked over and saw the likes of Ze Roberto, Rivaldo and Roberto Carlos. But later when I intercepted pass from Rivaldo I began feeling that these guys were human and I could play with them.

A Scary Career-Threatening Football Injury
    When I damaged the cruciate ligament in my knee. The player who did it was Luis Saha but I hold no grudge against him because it was not intentional.

Who Would You Most like To Meet
    Nelson Mandela to ask him how he coped been locked up for so long. Recently met my hero John Barnes and was very thrilled.

Who Would You Like To Play You In A Lifestory
    Will Smith

What's Your Wish For The Future
    To help Jamaica qualify for the 2010 World Cup

Your Fantasy 11
    Peter Schmeikel (goal)
    Liliam Thuram; Franz Beckenbauer; Tony Adams; Roberto Carlos (defenders)
    Zinedine Zidane; Edgar Davids; John Barnes (middle)
    Rivaldo; Ronaldo; Diego Maradona (forwards)
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Mek him gwey.. him bawn yah suh ??

nice to see he still wants to be in the player pool. I always thought he played well for us. ONe more midfielder.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
        nice to see he still wants to be in the player pool. I always thought he played well for us. ONe more midfielder.
        A thinker!
        ...but, oooooh so slow across ground! That makes him not ideal for us if the TOP OF THE WORLD is where we would like to go!

Karl, until we can find others with the speed you think our players should have, maybe players like Langley will have to do.

I think he is a fairly decent player. Remember there are a lot of very good players who can be considered world class that speed is not their strength.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Karl you never seems to amaze.
            How fast is Zindane?
            Is Zindane world class:

Karl, I too like a speedy baller. But there have been many very good "slow" ballers who have contributed immensely to their team's case. I'm sure I don't have to name names.

Sometimes in war/stratagem - and that is what it is when one team confronts another - the turtle can outdo the hare by skillful maneuvering and anticipation of moves. Even Sun Tzu (in the Art Of War) alluded to this when he said that:

"whoever is first in the field and awaits the coming of the enemy, will be fresh for the fight; whoever is second in the field and has to hasten to battle will arrive exhausted."

Personally I think Langley can contribute to the ReggaeBoyz. And as Tilla pointed out until we can find enough players for a midfield pool, then Langley will have to do.

As long as he can figure in The Prof's plans he should be called into camp.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Karl, until we can find others with the speed you think our players should have, maybe players like Langley will have to do.

I think he is a fairly decent player. Remember there are a lot of very good players who can be considered world class that speed is not their strength.
                Most of those are PAST PLAYERS!
                The game was much slower then!

The slow players of today - e.g. Arsenal's: Flamini, Fabregas and Sendoros...are by our standards e.g. Fuller and Shelton, are quick. (...and unfortunately for us, their technical ability and tactical know-how puts Langley's to shame).

...a Langley is miiiiiiiiiillllllleeeeeeeeeeees slower! So slow in today's game -he will hardly see the ball during any top quality game. Passes made to him that it will be seem by the spectators as reasonable passes will be 'cut out' by the faster opponents he shall be facing.

...btw - nice to see you using rthe exact same argument I used when defending "Tappa" - if he is the best we have then...." .
                ...and, I agree if Langley is the best we have then...
                ...but, I hope he is not among the best we have, come 2008 and onwards.

btw- Those who saw Pepe's display and think he can stand for one moment with say our weaker CONCACAF opponents like Cuba and Haiti are in land. Even balls coming directly to Pepe those quicker players will get to before him! Pepe was creeping in the matches against Guatemala we all just saw!!!

Shavar is also a liability! Forget the apparent ease on the ball he showed...on every chase to a ball where he had a big lead he arrived at the ball only just in the nick of time. Quick passing and turning that will be required against Cuba, Haiti, Mexico, USA will leave him for dead if we were seeing his best speed.

I really think he could go a wee bit faster...but, not fast enough to make any difference to what I saw. I am 62 and I think I would give him a good run! Imagine that... TOP OF THE WORLD forgetaboutit!!!!

Please we are looking towards a FIRST RATE TEAM Reggae Boyz!
                Not a - "well they were not too bad TEAM"!

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                  Karl, I too like a speedy baller. But there have been many very good "slow" ballers who have contributed immensely to their team's case. I'm sure I don't have to name names.

Sometimes in war/stratagem - and that is what it is when one team confronts another - the turtle can outdo the hare by skillful maneuvering and anticipation of moves. Even Sun Tzu (in the Art Of War) alluded to this when he said that:

"whoever is first in the field and awaits the coming of the enemy, will be fresh for the fight; whoever is second in the field and has to hasten to battle will arrive exhausted."

Personally I think Langley can contribute to the ReggaeBoyz. And as Tilla pointed out until we can find enough players for a midfield pool, then Langley will have to do.

As long as he can figure in The Prof's plans he should be called into camp.
                  See reply to Tilla!
                  ...and, we shall see!

How fast was Tappa!?

But Ronaldinho is a slow baller in the present-day game. How does he cope?

Shavar belongs with the ReggaeBoyz. His perceived lack of speed is a deception. I've seen him win foot races with speedy ballers in the MLS.

which team Langley is playing for now?

Dread, Langley is at Luton but he is on the IR list. He is rehabbing an injured knee and says he should back to full fitness by February. He thinks he could make a go at it right now because he feels good; however, he has decided to follow the doctor's order and go through the full length of therapy. He is looking forward to first team play at Luton and helping the ReggaeBoyz in the World Cup Qualifying.

He is accessible and will answer any queries you have. Contact him at:
                          langley@icons.com

What the HELL are you talking about ?

Slow in what way ?????

How fast was Tappa!?
                              ...and, what was the level of Tappa's technical and tactical ability?