Football Academy attracts review committee

Sometimes we have to view our situation and make the decision on what is good for us, not what the French, Dutch and those other financially well-off nations do. For sure we would like to have the training center away from the madening crowd. But does it make long term financial sense? I think not, especially for a struggling federation.

If they intend to keep the academy in Munro and build the national training center, I am all for that. If one is to be built, I say go for the NTC and build it closer to one of the population centers where if you have an emergency, you can get people quickly to hospitals etc.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

If one is to be built, I say go for the NTC and build it closer to one of the population centers where if you have an emergency, you can get people quickly to hospitals etc.
      That's the main consideration?! What kinds of hospital services will be required quickly?

Establishing a committee "to review "all aspects" of the academy seems to be a good move by the Captain. But when one of the committee members is the St. Elizabeth FA president, then this might just be for show. He played his hand a week before the last election, berating every single aspect of the academy, even though it appears he has never stepped foot over there. Plus, he's a dunce!

And where did we get this idea that the academy at Munro Villas "can only operate as a training camp for youngsters"?!? Why couldn't it do more? Kingston and Portmore are not Jamaica. There is no advantage in training an administrator in Portmore over Mocho, Clarendon. Unless of course you are concerned about safety.

Anyway, I will let the committee do it's thing. If Burrell is not for this academy, then I hope it is moved, because it wouldn't stand a chance.

Has anyone ever considered security costs if the academy is placed in the Kingston area? Get your calculator out, Karl!

"Anyway, I will let the committee do it's thing."

Good to see, last week I think some of us on the forum that that Burrell was just a dictator. Burrell might not like the whole idea but as a leader he may have to go with it and support it bigtime.

Another thing is even though people have an opinion, with the right type of influence it can be change. Now is the time to put the pressure on Burrell. Last week the way how we were talking I thought the Academy was on a truck already.

It might still be on that truck! Don't watch the words, sass!

And there is nothing to force Burrell to support it. There a hundred ways the academy could be marginalised and starved until it eventually dies.

Mo if it succeed a Burrell a go get the credit. That is enough for the man with the big roladex.

Where yuh get this quote from? If it is not a quote and only your opinion, why is it in quotes?
                Originally Posted by Karl
                Boxhill's concept appeared to be " the school for advanced education" for young footballers!

Reading is over-rated!
                The above quote clearly says, it is my opinion!

...and, I would like to know where our national team could comfortably train?! On the Munro College grounds? ...and, then drive or fly down to the National Stadium to get a feel for/familarize selves on the match grounds?

...and, I am sure it is in your opinion less taxing and less expensive than traveling from St. Andrew, Kingston or St. Catherine?

Blinded by petty biases...even though you are claiming you would like the best for our national teams and our football? ~ sigh! ~

Apparently, wiritng is over-rated! You don't use quotes unless you are quoting something. And you don't stretch the facts either! Did anyone state that it would be ""the school for advanced education" for young footballers"?!?

"Comfortably train"?!? At GC Foster compared to the Malvern Hills?!?!

Petty biases?!? Say hello to your sis-in-law for me, Karl!

...and if it doesn't..."I told you so!" Boxhill would be blamed.

Boxhill get his blame already. He had four years and it nuh done, not even contract fi the field or fields signed yet.

We have gone past that.

I am saying if the academy is chosen and Burrell does not agree with the wishes of the majority or the c'tee, then Boxhill can not be blamed if Burrell sabotages the academy in order to eventually kill it and relocate it. See if you can understand that.

Apparently, wiritng is over-rated! You don't use quotes unless you are quoting something. And you don't stretch the facts either! Did anyone state that it would be ""the school for advanced education" for young footballers"?!?
                          Go back and read what I wrote?

"Comfortably train"?!? At GC Foster compared to the Malvern Hills?!?!

Petty biases?!? Say hello to your sis-in-law for me, Karl!
                          You must have noticed that my preference is GC Foster...but, I have since Burrell took over been careful to include my comfort with it being sited 'near' to the JFF's headquarters, the National Stadium and the Kingston, St Andrew and St. Catherine areas.

As I said, reading is over-rated!
                          Last edited by Karl; December 25, 2007, 03:45 PM.

how can he be blamed. Mi nuh believe inna the sabotage thing, I believe you get ahead despite sabotage. A Burrell time now and him have fi take the blame. If it happen under Boxhill time then a fi him fault but him time DONE Now.

I didn't expect you to undertand what I am saying.

Again, how is Mrs. Kong doing?