• Keane scotches Jones talk

Friday 21 Dec 2007

Grab yourself a free bet - open an account at William Hill today!
    Sunderland boss Roy Keane has scotched reports linking striker Kenwyne Jones with a January transfer to Chelsea .

The Trinidad & Tobago international has found the net five times in 14 appearances since joining the Black Cats for £5million from Southampton in the summer.

KENWYNE JONES

But Keane has no intention of allowing the 23-year-old to leave the Stadium of Light whether the reported interest turns out to have foundation or not.

"Kenwyne Jones is going nowhere," he said when questioned on the striker's future.

Meanwhile, Keane has revealed that he is still monitoring a number of potential targets he hopes to sign when the transfer window reopens next month.

However, the rookie boss is adamant he will only sign a player if the price is right.

"It's a silly time at the moment, we've been linked with about 20 names in the last couple of weeks," he told the club's official website.

"We will not be pressured into anything. People try to push you into things and you just have to say no. January is the hardest time to try to buy players.

"Demand is greater than supply - there is a lack of quality out there. The ones who might be available want silly money, you have to be careful.

"We need strength in depth, especially after the injuries we've had, but I won't be bringing players in for the sake of it, if it doesn't happen we will just get on with it."

4thegame.com ™ Copyright ©
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I have said it here before. Jones is potentially a good striker. He might be a good addition to a Chelsea squad.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Keane better mind him stop playing pon him as he did to Southampton.