Bennett ‘happy’ with Angolan club deal

“People can say anything. Football is business. I am doing this for my family and me. I am now 27 years old and I must look for the best deal for myself,” he said.
    Hard to argue with that.

Especially in a career field where being in your early 30s is considered "old" and one ugly tackle can end it all.

Hey, whether he's comfortable or not, in his view that was the best deal for him. He is a pioneer, that could turn out to be beneficial to other Jamaican youths. Now you may say to yourself, just like TK, other posters and initially myself, how can going to Africa be beneficial. Well that's because of our perception of Africa. The potential of Africa as an untapped economical force is fast becoming a reality. Just ask the Chinese who have the surplus cash to spend....and are doing so. The Chinese are virtually recolonizing Africa right now and in another 5 - 10 years you'll see the results. (You can do your own research). We already know that Africa has an unlimited abundance of talented players. Not all of those well-known African players came through Europe's academies. The environment was there for them to be discovered. It's that same environment that "potentially" our own Jamaican players can tap into in the future to better themselves.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well him must be a gem fi the African club.

Taking his age in consideration Portugal d2 is not fi him. A young Latapy and Leonson Lewis could have made it and maybe a young Bennett but no true professional club is looking to buy a 28 year old striker so, he has to go for the money. Plus

Him can promote two reggae show over deh fi suppliment the income.
        Good

Actually, to the untrained eyes, the move looked a bit suspect...initially...simply because Angolas is not known to produce good football or footballers (when compared to the liokes of Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroun etc). On second look, the fact that the man is earning more money from the deal than he has ever made at another club, it makes perfect sense to me...Its obvious that Teafore is looking at this from a business persepctive and not from a purely football persepctive (he'll be 30 by the time this contract is over after all). Regardless, I think he will be ok in the end...but at the same time, something tells me it will be a tad bit more difficult for him to compete for a spot on the national team.
          President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
            Actually, to the untrained eyes, the move looked a bit suspect...initially...simply because Angolas is not known to produce good football or footballers (when compared to the liokes of Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroun etc). On second look, the fact that the man is earning more money from the deal than he has ever made at another club, it makes perfect sense to me...Its obvious that Teafore is looking at this from a business persepctive and not from a purely football persepctive (he'll be 30 by the time this contract is over after all). Regardless, I think he will be ok in the end...but at the same time, something tells me it will be a tad bit more difficult for him to compete for a spot on the national team.

I wonder if we (Reggae Boyz) could defeat Angola?

An excellent move for Teofore Bennett. He's right...it's all about bringing home the dough and taking care of family. I too did not know much about Angola but I've read some facts since Sickko reported that Bennett signed with the Angolan club. Ras Shatta also had some very interesting articles about Angola posted in one of the other forums.

Big Respect and nuff Blessings to Teofore on his contract in Angola.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Well, we have defeated the likes of Nigeria in the past....so its not inconcievable to believe we could beat them. If we are to go off it purely on rankings(which we all know doesnt mean much), we should clobbering them at least 2-0..they are way down at position 175 I think.
                President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                  Actually, to the untrained eyes, the move looked a bit suspect...initially...simply because Angolas is not known to produce good football or footballers (when compared to the liokes of Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroun etc).
                  And you are not saying that Jamaica is "known to produce good football or footballers" now, are you?

Sometimes wi need to listen to ourselves.

Now you may say to yourself, just like TK, other posters and initially myself, how can going to Africa be beneficial. Well that's because of our perception of Africa.
                    That's what it's all about.

And unfortunately, we will only begin to respect Africa when it fullfills the promise of becoming an economic force. That's a pity.

We beat a Nigeria Under 23 team or one with mostly young players and Kanu, I doubt we could compete with a full strength Nigeria team, even with our best players...

Hopefully, we will see Angola again in the African Nations Cup. Didn't get enuff of them in the last WC. We will then be able to say if they can play football or not. I bet they will beat us everytime!

Who seh anything bout "uncivilised"? He seems a bit sensitive. No problem with him playing his football in Africa however we were told of a "big" deal and moving to an Angolan club just doesn't qualify as a "big" deal. I notice the $1 million US transfer fee was left out of this story

well is a big deal to him.....and according to him it was the best deal on the table...if it is better than what he had, then it's a big deal!!

I think many were teasing Sickko and not necessarily laughing at Bennett.

well is a big deal to him.....and according to him it was the best deal on the table...if it is better than what he had, then it's a big deal!!
                                I suppose you're right. Ghana, Morrocco, Egypt would have satisfied the "big" deal pronouncements for me but hey if it was the best deal on the table then by all means take it. So can anyone confirm the $1 million US transfer fee?